We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly getaway haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly getaway haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Now under new ownership, this is third time we have visited. As ever the service was superb and the room immaculately clean. Shame pool now closed but small sacrifice if the future of this lovely country house hotel is to be assured.

Slightly "shabby" feel to some of the non-main house rooms which are due to be refurbished.
Food has always been excellent value and extremely tasty. Grounds are lovely with lake and also the brook running along the boundary.
Easy access to great walks and so many coastal attractions - lovely to return to the tranquility of this little gem of a country house hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    155
    71
    33
    21
See reviews for
102
301
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carsington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed for one night last week in room 12 with my husband and we were joined that night for dinner by my mother and sister. The main rooms in the hotel were freezing and we had to sit wearing our over coats. The dinner was ok but nothing special and the bedroom ok, small and not very well decorated or equipped. The phones in the room didn't work and as there is no mobile signal it was slightly inconvenient. The staff were friendly and very helpful, but we found the hotel unacceptably cold (apart from the bedroom) and our stay very expensive for what we experienced. This used to be a lovely hotel and the new owner Roger clearly has a great deal to do to bring it up to standard. Whilst he is doing this i.e putting in a proper heating system for the main reception rooms I don't think it's fair to charge the prices we ended up paying. The location and surrounding countryside are lovely and peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Hackness Grange has prided itself on its food and clearly, as can be seen from the many positive comments on this site and others, the majority of our guests are very pleased with it. I appreciate however that on occasion some guests may not like the selection or style.
I am surprised that you found your room was "not well equipped". We have all our rooms equipped to a 3 star rated hotel standard that includes items such as hairdryer, trouser press, tea/coffee making facilities, room phone, toiletries, flat screen TV, etc.
Regarding the room phone, I actually spoke with you about this when you said you couldn't get the phone to work and I explained that we had installed a brand new BT system, and by your own admission you admitted that perhaps you hadn't used it correctly. You didn't come back to the team or myself and said it wasn't working still. Anyhow I have personally checked the room and found the phone working.
I am aware of the problems regarding the central heating system and whilst we have placed additional radiators in the bedrooms we do have lit fires in the restaurant and bar. As you quite rightly pointed out the main central heating as part of our on-going refurbishment program is being replaced in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay, this being our 5th visit (staying both before and after Roger has taken over). Again we were not disappointed. The food is excellent and the staff cannot do enough for you. The hotel had started to look a bit dated before the new ownership but the changes being made are a huge improvement. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44Kaz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

What a lovely stay yet again. We had room 9 this time & what a beautiful room it is. We have stayed a few times prior to Roger taking over & it was always an enjoyable stay, but we have seen some of the changes hes made & it really is turning into something special. The food is outstanding, the staff always make you so welcome & the decor of the hotel fits in with the tranquil setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HevnStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

My elderly Mother stayed at the hotel recently and has totally fallen in love with its calm an tranquil setting. The hotel decor is in keeping with the period of the building and the huge warm fires and chesterfield sofas in the public areas were fantastic and very homely.We sampled the afternoon tea and it was outstanding and very generous.I look forward to returning an sampling the evening menu and their well stocked bar.Rodger the owner is charming and went out of his way to make my Mother feel like a million dollars her smile was more than worth it nothing was too much trouble.Ok there was no phone reception but that in itself is a blessing especially if you want to escape for a short while and relax. This would make an ideal spa location.I look forward to returning very soon and wish Mr and Mrs Brooks Best Wishes an Success with their new business venture

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write in. I am so pleased that your mum enjoys her trips out to see us. It is always a pleasure to look after her and we all look forward to seeing her and the family again soon!
Kind regards
Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hackness Grange. We both enjoyed a lovely relaxed weekend being superbly looked after by the excellent staff and the manager of this beautiful hotel. The food was beautifully presented in a wonderful dinning room. We couldn't have asked for anything more.
The bedroom was spotless, warm and a very cosy bed. Would definitely like to try a lake view room on our next visit. Which hopefully we won't have to wait too long for.
Good luck for the future to the new owners of this impressive hotel, set in the most wonderful grounds.
The peace and quiet was most welcome, and great not to have a mobile signal. After all that's what a proper weekend away should be. Peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 870cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed with my husband after seeing it last year while staying at a different hotel and it looked ok and pictures looked good. However we left feeling very disappointed, the hotel is dated, the room was ok but cold. Theres no phone signal so had to speak to family while we where out or try and find some signal in the grounds, but that is hard in the dark. The hotel seems to be getting done up and thats maybe why hardly anybody was staying. We also felt although the staff where fine there wasnt enough of them. We have stayed at a few hotels in and around scarborough other the years and considering the price we payed for things feel they could do more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 244bluesun244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you feel dissapointed about your stay. Unfortunately not knowing who you are / when or which room you stayed in makes it very difficult to make any sort of informed reply on your comments.

I am unable to do anything about phone signals. This needs to be brought to the attention of your own network provider to boost their signals to rural areas. We do have telephones in the rooms which you could have used.

We have had very adverse weather conditions this year, and being a period Georgian building it is difficult to battle the elements. We keep a 'stock' of portable oil radiators and blankets should guests feel cold.

You say "hardly anyone staying" followed by saying there were not enough staff. It is difficult to comment on this as yes, there are occassions when there are few people in. This can be due to many reasons, from including the weather, time of year, local events and the like. We will however keep on the appropriate number of staff for the number of guests that we have in house to ensure the guests are looked after.
.
Finally, you comment that the hotel is dated. We have carried out the refurbishment of the hotel in period Georgian furniture and have not chosen to go the route of modern/boutique. The majority of our guests prefer we keep to the traditional feel of a country house hotel. I do understand however that it is not to everyone's taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing