We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Ayton Lodge(East Ayton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Brindley(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Boston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Delmont Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
353
171
80
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
353
171
80
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housefunction roomnew ownersbridal suiteno mobile phone signalforge valleywonderful weddingdaughters weddingevening buffetwedding venuethe general managersunday lunchdalby forestpeace and quietthe north yorkshire moorsmr and mrsthis lovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My partner and i stayed in room 26 in the courtyard this room was cosy spotless and spacious
was close to the main house which is a lovely edwardian building set in wonderful grounds
i have mobility problems and am unable to walk any distance and though there are no lifts or disabled entrance for wheelchair users this is something that roger and pinky the new owners are to address asap please do take into consideration that this is a grade two listed building and as such roger and pinky have to get permission for all renovation works which takes time the food was excellent and the staff first class and could not do enough for us the thing that impressed me was that the new owners take the time to mingle with guests and are extremely interested in any comments you may have i would recommend this hotel to anyone but ask that you give the new owners the time they need to complete refurbishments and be patient the wait will be well worth it
david hughes and val binns date of stay 17th and 18th march

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_dadvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We take al comments seriously especially those that refer to disability access. As part of our improvement programme we will be installing wheel chair access to some of the courtyard rooms as well as allocate car parking space nearer the hotel for disable badge holders.

Our refurbishment is definitely being carried out in line with a Georgian building / hotel (sorry, not Edwardian..sic..) and we hope this will meet with our guests approval.

It is a slow process, and I do hope that guests will give us the time to make these changes. As the saying goes, Rome wasn't built in a day.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

turned from a 2 night stay .the hotel is a gem. we stayed in room 7 inthe main house what a delight furnished to a high standard.en siute lovely. flat screen t.v. sofa . very comfy bed. even extra radiator. this room has two windows overlooking the lake. various ducks ect. the food is served in lovely dining room is of a very high standard plenty of choice dinner menu changed daily . breakfast lots of variety served by very pleasant staff. we met roger brooks on our 1st. night he outlined his plans to restore this hotel .he has made good progress do not hesitate to book we will return .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and will return. Building a good solid loyalty base is half the battle, particularly in this difficult climate. We will continue with the works and improvements and I hope when you next stay with us you will be able to see those changes!
Exciting times ahead at the Grange......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just returned from a 2 night Travel Zoo stay at this lovely hotel. We arrived with our 2 dogs as the kennels had let us down at the last minute. However this did not pose a problem as we were quickly offered a courtyard room to accommodate the 4 of us. The room was nicely furnished and very warm with flat screen t.v, en suite bathroom comprising bath & shower.The main hotel itself has a wonderful lounge with open fire and chesterfield furniture. The dining room also has an open fire with beautiful chandeliers and soft lamps at different parts of the room. The food is excellent and beautifully presented by very helpful staff. The gardens are very pretty with the lake and river beyond. The hotel is under refurbishment from the new owner however from the work already carried out it will be re stored to it's former glory and it will be a pleasure to return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a very slight distance from the hotel but ideal if you have pets with you. we had a view from our window of the rear garden and woods beyond.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianneGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Went on a Travel Zoo deal (as did every other guest, it seemed) and from talking to people, there has been a change of ownership in the last year. This owner, Roger Brooks, points out that he is trying to restore the hotel to something like it used to be and there is plenty to say that he is working hard to do it. The rooms were clean but the heating sometimes seemed to have a life of its own. The food was good with the breakfast in particular being very good. One disappointment was that I had a pork dish as a hot main course on our first night and this was re-served as a cold starter the next with no effort at disguise. That was a little uninspiring. The grounds are beautiful and we walked in the woods above Hackness and alongside the River Derwent, enjoying the North Yorkshire countryside. There is still work to be done; the 'First Impressions' need improving - very difficult to turn into the drive from the road we came on (had to go past and turn round in a lay-by), cut trees and bushes left lying by the side of the drive, allowing cars to park at the front of the hotel resulted in a squeeze for any car wanting to drop off guests and luggage and an open fire in the Lounge in desperate need of banking up when we were waiting to check in on arrival. Get those things right and guests will feel very welcome and have an enjoyable stay here. Mr. Brooks deserves success for the work he is doing and what he is trying to achieve.

Room Tip: Room in the main hotel means you do not have to go outside when weather inclement
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PezzersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your points on the 'first impression' are duly noted and are fully appreciated. We had cut back a lot of bushes and tress to try and clear the line of sight for guests leaving the hotel and these were left on the embankment. Due to the awful weather this last week, the landscapers have been unable to move it, as the grounds are very saturated.
The fireplace will be replaced with a more efficient mull-fuel burner, this will be carried out during the planed refurbishment of the bar.
I have brought the comment on the food/starter the next day to the attention of the Head Chef, and I apologise for that, this should never be the case.
Unfortunately with the incremental weather guests choose to park at the front to avoid a walk from the main car-park. We are going to allocate some space to disable parking only as well as do a designated drop off / pick up spaces only t help alleviate some of the problems there.
Once again many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We have stayed at Hackness a couple of times before but were reluctant to return because of declining standards. Seeing it was under new ownership we took advantage of a Travelzoo offer and were delighted we had had a change of heart.
Changes may not be immediately apparent. The courtyard bedroom we stayed in was warm and clean but the decor is some what tired; the en suite had a shower and no bath we were happy with that.
The real change are in the main building. The lounge had a buzz missing in previous visits helped by the presence of the owner and his team of friendly staff. Improved soft lighting in the dining room has added an ambiance to this elegant room that was previously lacking.
But the main improvement is in the quality of the food.. A couple of dishes warrant special mention. Chicken is never our first choice when eating out but on our first night we both chose breast of chicken wrapped in ham on a bed of thinly sliced vegetables with a wild mushroom sauce. The dish was beautifully presented, the chicken was full of flavour and the wild mushroom sauce couldn't have been bettered. Next night, I had calamari as a starter that was very fresh, full of flavour and cooked to perfection. That is not to see that all dishes quite as good. For example a nicely presented prawn salad starter was disappointing the prawns small and lacking flavour. Also my wife's dessert of eton mess appeared to have been made of "bought in" meringue where the balance of meringue, to cream and fruit was very much in favour of the disappointing meringue. But in fairness, this is very much nitpicking as overall we enjoyed the food and thought our stay represented good value for money.
One further point, this is a relatively small country house hotel, so don't be surprised to find the reception unmanned mid afternoon. A hearty call and someone will soon be there to greet you although it would be helpful if there was a bell so assistance could be summoned more discreetly! In any event, we enjoyed our 2 nights and we hope to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Our room had a shower and no bath; if a bath is important to you, check when booking
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forestaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a response. It is an ongoing project to refurbish the hotel and I am so happy that you have seen enough changes (in the right direction!) to win you back. Being an independent owner, without the backing of a large group, the refurbishment and decoration needs to be carried out literally one day at a time fitting in around business needs and occupancies. We have set 18 months to have everything the way we would like it and I believe we are on progress to achieve that.
I have brought the comments of the eton mess desert to the attention of the Head Chef for his further action.
Once again thanks for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews