We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
1 review
“room for improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed in march, room was ok, bathroom could do with upgrade. It was a bit to far out of town for us and not much going on on an evening and bar prices are bit high, and there is not many places near by, not walking distance any way. Scarborough this time of year is not great, whitby was better. There must of been a pool but it is closed now which is a shame because we would have used it. Work is going on so they might be planning on building a new one. Public areas could do with decorating. Food was very good, just feel it was expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on our hotel. Not knowing which room you stayed in makes it difficult to comment on your view on the bathroom.
Your comment that public areas need decorating, whilst I do admit that some areas need doing and no doubt are already included in our refurbishment program, we have made significant improvements throughout the hotel already and are continuing to do so. We have owned the hotel for only 8 months and it will take time and as other tripadvisors have said, what we have done so far is certainly in the right direction.
The pool has been closed since September last year and is being turned into a function room.
I am very surprised you felt we were expensive, I keep a close eye on the tariffs and certainly we are level with other similar establishments.
Obviously being a country house hotel, amenities and entertainment is limited in the area, one of the main attractions for the majority of our guests who enjoy the peace and tranquility one would normally expect from a hotel in the countryside. That said, we are only 5 miles from Scarborough and there are also some lovely surrounding villages and walks.
I am so pleased that you at least liked the food in our restaurant and fully take on board that perhaps country house hotels are not for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    155
    71
    33
    21
See reviews for
102
301
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just returned from a 2-night stay with friends of ours from Yorkshire. They were initially reluctant to stay here because they had stayed before and the place was somewhat "run down" but what a surprise they had! The hotel was under new ownership and a real effort was being made to re-vamp the whole of the hotel along with the beautiful gardens. Lots of work had already been completed and the owner shared his ideas and plans with us for the rest of the renovation with great enthusiasm and pride.
Rooms in the courtyard were very comfortable, breakfast very acceptable and the dinner menu was outstanding. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and made us feel very welcome indeed and helped turn it into a memorable weekend. The new management are certainly making the effort and I would recommend that you do too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay DBB for our friends 60th birthday. Stayed here a couple of years ago, and as stated you can see the start the new-owners have made to improve the hotel. The staff in the hotel are all very good, friendly,polite and always with a smile on their faces and always trying to please a real credit to the place.

Stayed in courtyard rooms 22 and 24, no complaints about either, 22 was smaller but had great views over the surrounding countryside, 24 was a lot bigger and had a double and a single bed in it. Yes the place is old but both rooms were clean.

The food in the restaurant could not be faulted, breakfast was great, nice to have it served to the table rather than the horrible buffet style, the evening meal was first class, the quality was excellent, portions just right.
The lady and gentleman who looked after the restaurant in the morning and evening ( April 6/7) were wonderful nothing was to much trouble for them, changes to the menu for us where possible where carried out with a cheerful " yes madam no problem".
Keep up the good work, will return in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huggy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband and I both have March birthdays, so decided to have a break to celebrate. We hoped for a reasonably comfortable stay but what a surprise we had. The courtyard room was delightful and snug. The meals(including bucks fizz for breakfasr) were wonderful . The dinner menu gave a wide choice and we did not find that this compromised the quality. The food would have graced any London restaurant. The pace of life slowed dowm as we relaxed in the welcomimg surroundings which are very comfortable and promise to be even more so as the new owner slowly develops this lovely hotel with the sensitvity it deserves.Thank you to all the staff for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
A great review, many thanks for your kind words and so happy you were pleasantly surprised. The team do try their best to make guests stay as happy and memorable as possible. I have passed you comments also to the Head Chef, he is well chuffed!
Hopefully we will see you both again sooner rather than waiting until next years birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

booked in here for two nights dinner bed and breakfast, we were shown to our room by the new owner. Pleasant quiet room, we were told that all the rooms are going to be updated soon. Pleasant relaxing bar with open fire. The dining room retains its old world charm. The food was very good well presented, and as described on the menu. Aparently the indoor pool is due to be turned into a function room, also to be made available for dinner dances, as not many Scarborough hotels offer this. We will be back to se the referb.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are cheaper but no covered walkway if it is raining
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Alas yes, for Courtyard rooms there is no covered walkway. Planning authority rejected ours, and others before us, for such! That said, they are lovely rooms nonetheless....
Thanks for your comments, much appreciated.
Yes, we are turning the pool into a function room.....dinner dances, murder mystery events, wedding parties...here we come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham City, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

As highlighted by other reviewers this hotel has been under new management since July 2012. Therefore I would ignore any reviews prior to that date as any findings cannot be attributed to the current management. Instead I would suggest the most recent reviews should be the greatest consideration as developmenst to the hotel are ongoing.

In that regard my wife and I have just returned from a very peaceful and comfortable Easter break at the Hackness Grange. We stayed two nights on a DBB basis and had a main house room.

The Hotel is a comparatively small Country House and has all the fittings and furnishings associated with such a building. Lovely high ceilings; ornate decor; open fires in the bar and dining room; large windows looking onto the lake and grounds and overall has the feel of a grand 'high life' in another age. It is a lovely hotel set in its own grounds and surrounded by the peace and quiet of the edge of the North Yorks Moors. Ideal for walking!

Our room (Room No 9) was both spacious and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room was equipped with everything you need such as armchairs and table; flat screen TV ( albeit a fairly small one); tea/coffee making facilities; trouser press and hair dryer. The bathroom was a little dated but was clean. As with some old bathrooms the huge bonus was a deep bath and as there was ample very hot water available, a long soak in the bath was perfect after a days walking.

The heating in the room for us was also fine - although you are not in control of your own heating. I am led to understand this is a matter that is to be included in future developments. However, despite the cold outside we were very comfortable throughout the night.

The staff - led by Mr. Len Foster, the General Manger - were all very courteous; professional; helpful and willing to assist in making your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you - we appreciated your efforts.

The food was very good indeed. Every meal we had - that is two breakfasts and two dinners and one Sunday lunch - was thoroughly enjoyed. The menu choice was absolutely fine in its variety and the quality fo the food could not be faulted.
Little touches such as the provision of chocolate eggs ( it was Easter) were another sign of the attention to detail. The dining room itself is well laid out and decorated with chandaliers; large fireplace etc. It was good to see the effort of the guests dress appropriately for such a setting e.g. men wearing jackets.

The bar prices are a little high but this is something you expect in a hotel of this calibre and standing. The bar area is almost in two halves. One has the bar itself and one has a lovely open coal and log burning fire as its centre piece around which you can make yourself comfortable on the Chesterfield furniture. It is a nice area for a pre-dinner drink and a post dinner chat with other guests.

There is a second lounge area upstairs in the main building which has a large flat screen TV and equipped with an assortment of games. Also with regards to past times, the hotel offers free use of a tennis court and a 9 hole pitch and putt course. The maintenance of the latter is fairly poor - perhaps it will improve in the spring/summer weather - and therefore its use is for those - such as ourselves - who just enjoy hitting a few golf balls around without talking it too seriously. A little work on the greens and the inclusion of flag poles on the greens however, could make this past time much more welcoming. The staff at the hotel also are willing to offer 'local knowledge' and can provide advice on local walks.

Car parking is readily available and indeed we managed to park our car outside of main reception despite numbers being limited here although the main car park is only a matter of 20 yards from the entrance.

Although I can only comment on our main house room - which as I have said was very good; spacious and comfortable - other guests we talked to, also spoke well of the courtyard rooms. The walk from these rooms to the main house is very short - indeed across a courtyard!

We did not meet the new owner Mr. Brooks but other staff members updated us on the plans he has to develop the hotel further. We wish him well with his plans and perhaps we will meet him in the future as we are returning.

We enjoyed our stay so much that before we left the hotel we decided to book another stay. We will be returning for another two night DBB stay in October 2013.

If you want peacefulness coupled with comfort, accompanied by very good food provided by very efficient and respectful service; in beautiful countryside then you will be hard pressed to better the Hackness Grange Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Wow, many thanks for what can only be described as a well written and thorough report. And a very fair one at that!
We are striving to make give back the reputation The Grange deserves and it will take me time and a lot of effort and money to do so. That said, when I read reports such as your I realise that it is all worth it.
I d hope that I have the pleasure to meet you the next time you stay with us, which I hope wont be too long on the future, but long enough for you to see some changes.....which I assure everyone are happening every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

My partner and i stayed in room 26 in the courtyard this room was cosy spotless and spacious
was close to the main house which is a lovely edwardian building set in wonderful grounds
i have mobility problems and am unable to walk any distance and though there are no lifts or disabled entrance for wheelchair users this is something that roger and pinky the new owners are to address asap please do take into consideration that this is a grade two listed building and as such roger and pinky have to get permission for all renovation works which takes time the food was excellent and the staff first class and could not do enough for us the thing that impressed me was that the new owners take the time to mingle with guests and are extremely interested in any comments you may have i would recommend this hotel to anyone but ask that you give the new owners the time they need to complete refurbishments and be patient the wait will be well worth it
david hughes and val binns date of stay 17th and 18th march

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_dadvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We take al comments seriously especially those that refer to disability access. As part of our improvement programme we will be installing wheel chair access to some of the courtyard rooms as well as allocate car parking space nearer the hotel for disable badge holders.

Our refurbishment is definitely being carried out in line with a Georgian building / hotel (sorry, not Edwardian..sic..) and we hope this will meet with our guests approval.

It is a slow process, and I do hope that guests will give us the time to make these changes. As the saying goes, Rome wasn't built in a day.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing