We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Lovely setting and lovely house. We upgraded from a room in the grounds to the main house as we were told it was bigger and better. We should not have bothered. The whole room needs a overhaul. Tired, jaded and faded. A silly little television put on the wall behind one of the four poster supports, so only one of you can view it. Out of keeping lace curtains held up by string. Twirling voile round the top frame would look better. Needs completely redecorating. Putting a shelf on the wall above the trouser press for the tea tray would be better served, then you could have the table between the two chairs to put your drinks on. The bathroom was ok. There is a lounge next door with a lovely big tv on the wall that this bedroom should have. The food is average but the hotel is nice as well as the excellent staff. It is certainly not worth £127. We felt we were ripped off as we have stayed at better,cleaner more modern hotels that are cheaper and better value than this. In the 5 star Cedar Court Grand in York it is about £120 for opulence, great service, mod cons and great food. What else can I say? It is a shame as Hackness Grange could have a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your stay. We have redecorated and refurbished the room that you stayed in with period design wallpaper and furnishings to keep in with the mood of the hotel which we are keeing as traditional and not going down the modern boutique look. The TV is a 17 inch flat screen which was felt appropriate for comfortable viewing.
I understand that everyone has their own preference and liking to decoration and from the other many favourable comments we had for the room feel we have chosen correctly.
Whilst I don't like to compare with other hotels on such forums as this, but as you have done so, the price you paid was for dinner bed and breakfast for 2 people, Cedar Court seems to be somewhat higher than this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    157
    72
    33
    21
See reviews for
106
303
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Just returned from two nights at Hackness,my wife and i had a wonderful time,beautiful views,great food and some of the best staff in any hotel we have stayed,including Singapore and Vegas.We have been going to Hackness for ten years now and have promised ourselves that we will continue staying there while we still have breath,we met the new owner and from the meeting we could see the passion he has for the place,and of course Len the manager is a real gem,the garden room we stayed in had just been refurbished and the facilities are being updated presently.We wish we were back there now!

Room Tip: We love the garden rooms,peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Lovely setting, beautiful room overlooking the garden with a picturesque view, superb food and excellent helpful staff.Would highly recommend, have already re-booked for a return visit at the end of May.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 567Andrea567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My husband and I went for Sunday Lunch .. We booked for 1.00pm finally taken into the dinning room at 1.30pm.

The soup was luckwarm it seemed as though it had been sat on a hot plate. The main course was plenty full and the same with the sweet.

My husband ran his finger on the dado rail and it was covered in dust. May be the cleaner was having a off day !!!.


I did mention all of this to the receptionist but no apology and did not seem interested.

The cost of Sunday lunch is £15.00 each and this does not include coffee.

We will not be going back as we felt the service was far to slow you book for a certain time and do not expect to be kept waiting for 1/2 hour for your table. The whole set up seemed disorganized.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was told about your comments by my receptionists on the day, particularly about the fact that you ran your finger behind the radiator which was next to your table. Whilst I do apologise that you found some dust by doing that, we do endeavour to keep the restaurant clean and tidy though there is a certain amount of dust created when you have open log fires. Anyhow I have brought this particular area to the attention of the cleaning staff.

The hotel runs a system that guests arrive, we invite them into the lounge / bar, where more often than not they enjoy a drink, during which time the menu is given and you make your selection. As we are a country house establishment and not say a fast food restaurant we do want our guests not to feel rushed and once an order is given the meal is then freshly prepared and when ready the guest is invited into the restaurant. Perhaps you were expecting to be seated straight away in the restaurant, however we find this system works for the majority of our guests allowing them to enjoy the ambience of the hotel prior to their meal.

I have spoke with the chef regarding the temperature of the soups going out, he will monitor this. If you had informed the restaurant staff at the time they certainly would have replaced the bowl for you.

For the quality of the food, the ambience and service our price is fair and reasonable and I am sorry you feel that it was expensive and it is such a shame that you have decided not to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed in march, room was ok, bathroom could do with upgrade. It was a bit to far out of town for us and not much going on on an evening and bar prices are bit high, and there is not many places near by, not walking distance any way. Scarborough this time of year is not great, whitby was better. There must of been a pool but it is closed now which is a shame because we would have used it. Work is going on so they might be planning on building a new one. Public areas could do with decorating. Food was very good, just feel it was expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on our hotel. Not knowing which room you stayed in makes it difficult to comment on your view on the bathroom.
Your comment that public areas need decorating, whilst I do admit that some areas need doing and no doubt are already included in our refurbishment program, we have made significant improvements throughout the hotel already and are continuing to do so. We have owned the hotel for only 8 months and it will take time and as other tripadvisors have said, what we have done so far is certainly in the right direction.
The pool has been closed since September last year and is being turned into a function room.
I am very surprised you felt we were expensive, I keep a close eye on the tariffs and certainly we are level with other similar establishments.
Obviously being a country house hotel, amenities and entertainment is limited in the area, one of the main attractions for the majority of our guests who enjoy the peace and tranquility one would normally expect from a hotel in the countryside. That said, we are only 5 miles from Scarborough and there are also some lovely surrounding villages and walks.
I am so pleased that you at least liked the food in our restaurant and fully take on board that perhaps country house hotels are not for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just returned from a 2-night stay with friends of ours from Yorkshire. They were initially reluctant to stay here because they had stayed before and the place was somewhat "run down" but what a surprise they had! The hotel was under new ownership and a real effort was being made to re-vamp the whole of the hotel along with the beautiful gardens. Lots of work had already been completed and the owner shared his ideas and plans with us for the rest of the renovation with great enthusiasm and pride.
Rooms in the courtyard were very comfortable, breakfast very acceptable and the dinner menu was outstanding. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and made us feel very welcome indeed and helped turn it into a memorable weekend. The new management are certainly making the effort and I would recommend that you do too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay DBB for our friends 60th birthday. Stayed here a couple of years ago, and as stated you can see the start the new-owners have made to improve the hotel. The staff in the hotel are all very good, friendly,polite and always with a smile on their faces and always trying to please a real credit to the place.

Stayed in courtyard rooms 22 and 24, no complaints about either, 22 was smaller but had great views over the surrounding countryside, 24 was a lot bigger and had a double and a single bed in it. Yes the place is old but both rooms were clean.

The food in the restaurant could not be faulted, breakfast was great, nice to have it served to the table rather than the horrible buffet style, the evening meal was first class, the quality was excellent, portions just right.
The lady and gentleman who looked after the restaurant in the morning and evening ( April 6/7) were wonderful nothing was to much trouble for them, changes to the menu for us where possible where carried out with a cheerful " yes madam no problem".
Keep up the good work, will return in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huggy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing