We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tranquil Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Tranquil Break”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

On arrival, found we had been upgraded to room 4 in the main house. A very comfortable room with views over the lake. Had an excellent evening meal with a full English Breakfast. Slept well, beds comfortable. A tranquil and peaceful hotel in countryside close to the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors yet only a short drive from Scarborough. A very pleasant evening stroll around the grounds and lake with attendant wildlife. Facilities for tennis, croquet and mini golf. Exactly what my wife and I wanted.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    157
    75
    34
    21
See reviews for
108
304
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you want a peaceful, well run hotel then this is the place. For a modest sum we upgraded to a good sized room overlooking the lake. Very clean, comfortable with competent staff. Enjoyed our breakfasts and 2 restaurant meals. Took advantage of an Amazon voucher which gave us a very good deal. Lovely scenery to travel through close to the hotel which itself has some 13 acres of garden. Owner and wife very evident which was good to see.

Room Tip: Worth considering an upgrade for a larger room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loe838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Really enjoyed our two night break. The hotel is a real gem and worth our extremely long drive to get there - in a beautiful setting the hotel and grounds have huge potential. We would have liked a small fridge in the room and some future plans for fitness facilities would be good. Perhaps when the conference/wedding areas are done there could be room for a small leisure centre or spa treatment rooms? We certainly relaxed at this super hotel, staff, service and atmosphere were just great. We will definitely return! Good luck to Roger and his family with the alterations and building work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkielas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Ideally located in a beautiful valley which feels remote from the stresses of everyday life yet is actually only a few minutes drive from Scarborough. We enjoyed peace, quiet, good food and friendly service all for a very reasonable price through an Amazon voucher. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Room 3 was very comfortable with a view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemimawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you like your hotels with a touch of faded splendour in a beautiful location this is for you..
Our two night stay in a courtyard room (22)was very pleasant. However the room was very small with only just enough room to squeeze past the Queen sized bed into the bathroom. Here only one set of towels was provided..
The evening meal was very good but choice of desserts was rather lack lustre. Breakfast was poor. If you don't want a full English then its just tinned grapefruit and cereal. Where are the croissants,yoghurts,fruit etc which are standard fayre at other hotels charging similar rates?

I understand that the hotel is to have a new function room replacing the abandoned swimming pool but I think it would be better to upgrade the main rooms and spend money on the grounds. Flower beds full of weeds do not make an attractive venue.
The staff however are the redeeming feature - they all work very hard with a smile on their faces at all times and the service they provide is great!
All in all - could do better would sum it up.

Room Tip: Room 22 is very small avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMarple41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lovely hotel, good food, attentive staff and good value deals. The new owners have done a lot in the last 12m and are planning many more improvements. Plan to return again in the future. Ideal for couples wanting a quiet break in beautiful location and only 5 miles to Scarborough for those wanting more excitement

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerrynMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for a number of years and have recently returned from our second visit this year. It is great to see the enthusiasm and commitment that the new owners have for injecting new life into this wonderful building. This hotel has a very special atmosphere and much of this is due to the professional yet warm and friendly attitude of all staff. Our last stay was in a courtyard room and yes, this room was a little tired. However in a recent communication from the owners it is great to hear that a number of courtyard rooms are now being refurbished, and this is only one of a number of improvements which are taking place. We have always found the food excellent. Both breakfast and dinner are first class, high quality and offer varied choice. Hackness Grange is in an idyllic location. We are about to book for our third visit this year. We strongly recommend that you just go and see for yourselves. If during your stay you have any views, positive or negative then seek out the owners and you will find them very receptive and welcoming of your comments.

Room Tip: Room 22 has an excellent outlook and has now been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,798 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
366 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing