We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed on business for one night. The hotel is nice enough but did seem cold, this was commented on by the receptionist as to why the restaurant and bar doors were closed. If it is cold, then turn the heating up? I stayed in the court yard but suspect the Main hotel is the better bet. Room was clean and tidy but in need of an update and I could clearly he an adjacent rooms tv.
There is no mobile phone signal in the hotel or courtyard. The free wifi was great but only extends to the bar area, it could not be received in the courtyard and I am told also in the rooms in the main hotel.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here last month on an 'Amazon Local' offer which turned out to be great value. Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a large room overlooking the lake which was clean, comfortable and had all that was needed provided. Excellent food in the restaurant at night with a good choice and generous portions. Let down at breakfast by the sausage quality but this problem has already ben addressed (pleased to receive a reply direct about this when I'd mentioned it on the comments card). Nice grounds for a short stroll in the evening air and will be better when the extension part is completed. Would return to see these improvements and stay again.

Room Tip: A room in the main building is worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayB1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have just enjoyed a couple of nights in this great country house hotel - early December. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and wished we could have stayed on to see the Christmas decorations. Comfortable and friendly with excellent food - what else do you need ? Well perhaps the stunning Yorkshire countryside and nearby Scarborough and Whitby completed it for us !

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house in case the weather wasn't good. No lift so 1st floor is easiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed at this lovely Manor Hotel for 2 nights.Located several miles from the coast and within the North York Moors with River Derwent nearby.
Set in extensive grounds with lakeside view.
Nice clean, spacious room, booked with an evening meal and free bottle of wine first night and 2 nights B&B.
I was a little nervous about menu as I have recently been diagnosed with coeliac disease.i.e. must be gluten free.
The owner has family members with coeliac and the quality and range of options on menu was fantastic.The chef was brilliant and could not have improved upon the choices provided.Puts most large restaurant chains to shame!
The food for so good on the first night, we booked the second night also(which is not usual for us)
Thoroughly enjoyed the whole stay, very relaxing and peaceful mid week with great customer service and friendly staff.
We will be returning hopefully sometime soon

Room Tip: Choose room in main building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billy086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A 19th century hotel in the North Dales if Yorkshire, in the tiny village of Hackness. With rooms in the main house and an annexe. We were placed in the annexe. Our room was of a reasonable size with a separate bathroom. Although the rooms could do with updating, my iPad was the same size as the flat screen tv in the room. I must admit the shower was excellent probably the best I have encountered. However getting hot water to the sink in the bathroom took an absolute age and wasn't hot.
Wifi facilities were only available in the house, and shock horror no signal for mobile phones.
We had an evening meal with friends in the restaurant, the menu was multiple choice on each course. I had a prawn terrine starter, salmon main course and a sponge was sweet. Unfortunately the prawns had no taste, the salmon was over cooked but the sponge was great. Others in our party had steak, chicken etc and all were happy, perhaps it was just my choice. Next to the restaurant is a bar with leather seats and settees, they could do with replacing.
The position of the hotel to Scarborough (5 miles), and Whitby (18 miles) was excellent, plus access to the Dales themselves. The hotel has its own grounds with pond, tennis courts, and putting course, I am certain in summer the place will look excellent.
I don't know whether I would visit again because so many other hotels operate in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Vintind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

On arrival we were greeted by the owner, we checked in and taken to ower room in the court yard.We were absolutely amazed the size and decoration were breath takeing.The room was spotless and cosy, the evening meal was to die for.The t-bone steak was cooked to perfecton
as was the rest of the meal the staff were very abliging could not fault my stay at all and i booked to go back before christmas just to sample the christmas dinner

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HevnStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here with 4 friends last week for a two night break. We had all been given a free upgrade to an executive room which we thought was nice. The rooms where all very clean as was all of the hotel.
Staff was very friendly and most of the time the owner was on hand checking to see if everything was alright.
We only have an evening meal here one night but the food on offer was very good. Breakfast was cereals plus full English which again was very nice.
This would be where the only downside would come in, which is that the toasters where too slow which ended with a queue of people waiting for toast.

Would we go again - yes we would!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gy_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,624 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
946 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range: £57 - £953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing