We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at Hackness Grange”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas at Hackness Grange”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, arriving Christmas eve and departing Boxing day --wished we had stayed another night. Had a wonderful relaxing stress free Xmas break, food and service excellent. Staff professional, friendly and accomodating. Wonderful setting and we were blessed with sunshine so were able to take a walk around the village before the fabulous Christmas lunch.

Room Tip: Main House rooms are lovely but the rooms in the courtyard take dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    155
    71
    33
    21
See reviews for
102
301
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were treated very well and the place is in a beautiful spot. Would love to go back in the summer to play a game of tennis and golf.
The only problem we had was that the shower tray filled up almost to the top, we mentioned it but nothing was done while we were there.

Room Tip: Number 3 was ours and it over looked the back garden and golf area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
[Beverley]
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I had booked for the New Years Eve celebrations at Hackness Grange Hotel. We had a fabulous time! Canapes and champagne were served at 7.30pm in the bar, with music in the background and very pleasant helpful staff making sure everyone was happy. We were then directed into the dining room with its roaring log fire, for our 5 course meal, and again we were served by lovely staff. After the meal it was time to hit the dance floor - we danced until 1.30am, Everyone had a great night, very friendly and lots of fun. We had a room in the courtyard which was very clean and warm, though a bit more lighting on the courtyard would have been helpful. Breakfast/brunch was served later than usual which was nice, a relaxing start to the New Year. Sadly it started to rain so we couldn't walk around the beautiful grounds but we will be back in the spring. Thank you all for making our New Year so special.!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyfromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having read all the good reviews I feel we must have arrived when all the staff were tired out after Christmas. We had booked 2 rooms on a deal with Travelzoo. Parking facilities were excellent in well looked after grounds, with closer access for disabled guests. We were in the courtyard which was fine, but on arrival we were given our keys and that was it! My guests were both 85, and one is blind, so some help to find our rooms or carry our luggage would have been welcome, there was a young man and one I presume to be the manager on reception. The lighting on the route to the courtyard was poorly lit, with an uneven surface which again made it difficult for older people. The room temperature was tepid as was the hot water, but the rooms were very comfortable and very clean, with plenty of extra bedding if you needed it. Dinner was included that night and was average with limited choice and small portions. Breakfast on both days was good with plenty of cereals and toast to compliment a good full breakfast. The pre dinner canapés and Bucks Fizz, that were to supplement our meals, and included in the deal, did not appear! The decoration inside was tasteful and full of "old world" charm with good quality furnishings, a great deal of effort had gone into making the place festive. However, the staff, in general, were ambivalent bordering on disinterested - especially reception and management. Luckily we went in to settle our final account, as opposed to just letting them charge it, we found they were going to charge us for two night's meals for four people (approx £200) even though one night's was included and we ate out the other night! A shame really, a little more effort and attention to detail could have made this memorable and have resulted in a much better rating here

Room Tip: We stayed in the courtyard, maybe the rooms in the main house were better and would avoid the access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in the main house early December. Staff went out of their way on all aspects of our stay, even setting up dining tables next the log fire and Christmas tree. Food was excellent for both the evening meal and breakfast. Had a lovely trip to Scarborough and Whitby, a beautiful part of the country. I will defiantly stay at this hotel again. Mandy

Room Tip: For the small extra charge to stay in the main house was well worth it with views over the stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just had a 2night,3day stay at the hotel and was very pleased. Breakfast was very good and the dinner menu most enjoyable. A choice of 5starters,mains and dessert and different each evening. Excellent choice of vegetables and satisfactory portions.Waitress service was also excellent. Our room was in the courtyard and was nice and large. There was some work going on during the day, a new function room I believe, but it did not impact on our visit. Lovely lounge and bar area with a roaring log fire. I think it will be worth re-visiting in spring when the pitch and putt, tennis and croquet facilities will be available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have just returned home after spending 1 night at this hotel. The hotel is in lovely grounds and the area is ideal being close to Scarborough and also lots of stunning countryside. We booked dinner and breakfast which were both lovely although breakfast could have been a little hotter.
We were not impressed with room 12 as although comfortable the bathroom and toilet were down 2 steps which was ok in the light but very dangerous in the dark, also after going to the toilet you had to walk along a short corridor to the bathroom to wash hands which I believe is a hygiene problem. We also overlooked a skip so view not too good. The furnishings in the hotel were of good quality and we liked the atmosphere although not many guest staying whilst we were there. Most of the staff were lovely especially the bar staff and waitress. when I told the receptionist on checkout my concerns about the steps and toilet/bathroom issues she was not really bothered. I would not let this put me off returning but I would request a different room as friends we went with had room 3 which they thought was lovely so it was just unfortunate we got this particular one. Some work is being carried out around the hotel but this did not interfere with our stay. Had we been staying more than one night I would probably have requested a change of room. After reading other reviews of this hotel many said it was cold which it was in some areas but not uncomfortably so.
Free wi fi was available in bar area but this was hit and miss although this did not bother us. the TV's in the rooms are very small but adequate for the amount of time we stayed in the room. No phone signal is available in the area but that is no fault of the hotel and did not bother us although it maybe would to some.

Room Tip: check reviews before going and request the better ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0rkshirechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing