We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Hawthorn,Co.Durham
Level Contributor
276 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived on Mothers Day and the restaurant was packed out with Mums diners.Looked very good but when they left it was a quiet evening with very few diners. There was a roaring fire in the lounge and Sean set up tables to make an intimate atmosphere and a fabulous meal. A nice touch for our anniversary stay The food for the whole stay was delicious.
The room was large and well furnished in keeping with its age, the dark carpet was ok but the room would have benefitted with a light carpet. The bed was very comfortable (slept sooo well) with lovely white bedlinen .
The hotel is undergoing redevelopement at the moment and that was not a problem at all. A new function room and Orangery is well on its way and should be brilliant when complete in a few weeks.
The hotel is a beautiful Georgian building with extensive grounds with 'pitch and put' ,tennis courts and lake with ducks
The hotel has only been in the new owners hands for 17 months and are working to make it even better and are investing a huge amount into the project.
The staff were all very good and could not do more for the guests in fact they do make your stay, thanks to Sean,Grace and David assistant chef well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    153
    68
    32
    20
See reviews for
99
294
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redworth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the start to the finish a perfect weekend. The hotel is lovely - our room was great, very clean, with everything we could need. The hotel is in beautiful surroundings and every one of the staff was so friendly and obliging making the atmosphere in the hotel lovely, very relaxed. The food is all cooked fresh and was excellent. Thanks to everyone at the hotel! To think I almost cancelled because I saw the old photos on trip advisor!!!!! How wrong they are! New owner doing a brilliant job. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in main house and there was no noise at all at night. Courtyard rooms have just been refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0bbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from a fantastic stay at Hackness Grange. From the moment of arrival to checking out our weekend break was superb. The hotel staff were, without exception, courteous, friendly, helpful and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble it seemed. There were two young waitresses in the dining room who were on a six months secondment to the hotel, to learn about the English hotel business and to practice their English. They were particularly pleasant and clearly seemed to enjoy their work, which was a pleasure to see. The barman and receptionist were both friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.

Our room (12) was in the main building and was comfortable, clean and well equipped.
We had a lovely breakfast each morning, the usual cereals, fruit and yoghurt and English breakfast cooked to order, the poached eggs were lovely.

On Saturday evening we enjoyed a three course dinner and found the menu to be varied and can honestly say, there wasn't anything on it that we didn't like, so difficult to choose.

The hotel is currently under refurbishment, however this did not impact our stay in any way. They are currently constructing a function suite to hold weddings etc. Hackness Grange would be a splendid spot for a wedding and the grounds would make a lovely backdrop for the photos.

The interior of the hotel was traditional, the bar having lots of comfy leather chesterfield sofas, the dining room was very attractive with its open fire and views out to the garden.

The location of the hotel was perfect. Just a few miles from Scarborough with all it's activities, but closer to the hotel in neighbouring villages were lovely tea rooms and pubs. We had a lovely walk of about 6 miles along the River Derwent, up to Broxa and back to the hotel. The hotel have a selection of walks which they are happy to print off for you.

In conclusion, lovely hotel, great staff and super location, we will be back...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Me and my wife have just had a very nice stay in this little gem.
Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and given a tour of the hotel.
The room was perfect for us and had fantastic views of the grounds.
In the evening we spent some time in the bar where we met the owner who is working wonders with the place. The food was very nice both at dinner and breakfast. Next time I will book a week!

Room Tip: Two days isn't long enough to enjoy everything about this hotel and its surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl_1986541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster u.k.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had a break 17/18th March. Stayed in the main house. Bedroom and bathroom good, the house is lovely. The dinning room and lounge very comfortable. The breakfast all cooked fresh to order and very tasty local produce. The 3 course evening meal was also very good, all fresh.

Staff helpful and friendly, would return there, very enjoyable, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a lovely stay and the staff were very courteous and friendly. The host was attentive and the food was good. The setting is stunning.The big open fires in the bar and dining room really add to the experience. Big comfy chesterfield sofas to relax in with a gin and tonic, perfect.We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked on the Travelzoo deal -mid-week- and when we arrived staff on Reception clearly had an 'attitude' towards people on a discounted deal. There were initial problems with our room, eg the TV fell off it's holder and the toilet didn't flush properly, but these were addressed with a change of room. There was a dirth of information in the hotel about local facilities, a book containing phone numbers only, and no helpful tips on places to eat in the vicinity. Staff, largely, were disinterested in us. We had to ask every time for the 'extras' which were advertised as part of the Travelzoo deal, eg the bucks fizz at breakfast and canapes pre evening meal. The food was mediocre, and largely cold. No internet connection as advertised, and we were struggling to send & receive texts from mobile phones. No pubs in the area, driving is essential. We struggled to find somewhere else to eat, and drove and drove and drove in the dark looking for somewhere-no help from the Hackness Grange staff re where to head for- and the closest place we could find was 4 miles away in a village. A fish restaurant which was actually very nice. We would not recommend this hotel-particularly if you are on a discounted deal in the week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulandLynn187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, General Manager at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to trip advisor and I would like to address some of your comments:

I have reminded the Duty Managers to remind their staff to offer canapés / Bucks fizz to the guests.

During the morning you asked for and were given information on local walks in the area and we also have an area set aside by the second staircase where there are many leaflets on tourist attractions etc. If you had asked staff on reception they would have pointed you in the right direction.

Regarding your comments on the food, I am surprised as other guests on the day had been very complimentary. Perhaps if this had been brought to the attention to the Duty manager at the time, another meal would have been offered as opposed to leaving it until check out and then asking for your bottle of wine to be "waived" as you weren't happy with the food.

There is internet in the hotel main building though being an old building with thick walls sometimes the signal 'changes' and rooms loose the signal. However the signal is strong in the lounge area. Unfortunately it is outside the purview of the hotel to assist with your own mobile phone connections to send / receive texts.

Most of the staff we employ are local to the area and would have been more than happy to guide you to other eating establishments particularly as there are some very nice restaurants a short drive away which I am happy to read that you found one.

Finally I was surprised that you felt that staff had an "attitude' towards you because you were on a travel zoo deal. The majority of comments that we receive on our staff and hospitality are very good.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write in and we are sorry that you were a "bit disappointed' with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
7.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing