We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“about the best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“about the best value for money”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had to travel to York and wanted a good hotel in the country around York so that the trip was not all about work. Hackness Grange more than delivered it exceeded. Value for money it beat Premier Inn in Ferndown (our previous stop) hands down. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and polite, Mr Roger Brooks, the owner, could not have done a better job as "mine host". I must say we were a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews but I doubt these people stayed at the same hotel as us. The grounds are great for a relaxing stroll and although I have trouble walking and negotiating stairs everything possible was done to look after me. I cannot thank the staff enough for their help and welcoming attitude WELL DONE

Room Tip: If you like to be away from the main hotel book a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan205800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    157
    75
    34
    21
See reviews for
108
304
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Last time I was at Hackness I spent Christmas there, overall was very satisfied at the time. I had the opportunity to meet the owner who took me through the proposed changes.
Recently I came across a deal so decided to return. To sum it up they really have delivered on their plans. It is clear all the money they are putting into refurbishment of the property as well as staff training is money well spent! Since I was last there they have a new manager, Joe I believe, who was very hospitable and clearly very professional. I have to say considering the deal I got on the stay, the service delivered was extraordinary.
I would highly recommend this place, especially considering the constant improvements they seem to be making. A very comfortable and welcoming place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the courtyard room again, nice homely atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25gebf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I left the Hackness Grange near Scarborough after a three day rest feeling rather disappointed. It`s an hotel with a posh name who expect "top dollar" but does not deliver on their part. Our room was on the ground floor over looking their courtyard. It was Bijou with two arm chairs two wicker bedside tables and a wicker dressing table with tea and coffee facilities. The bed was a modern metal bed with a five inch lumpy mattress (£100 from any bed shop) It was not the room for swinging a cat in or two people moving about at the same time. It did have a lovely bay window with a spectacular view of the countryside but sadly because of the passing foot and vehicle traffic we had to keep the curtains partially closed because when they heard a noise in the room they automatically looked in. It felt more like staff quarters. We were woken every morning by a noise outside our window " a man loading metal staging into a van, a garden tractor toing and froing which bleep when in reverse and a two stroke petrol engine revving up and down up and down.
There is a large lake very close to the hotel with no fish but plenty of ducks on it, I can imagine in the summer being eaten alive if you sat outside and having to sleep with the windows closed.
Starting in May 2014 they will be catering for wedding parties etc in there function room and where the function room is located if you are not a guest at the event I would imagine the hotel to be very noisy, And even worse if you are unfortunately in their courtyard accommodation area.
If you must stay there ask first if they have a function on during your stay.
The food was excellent as long as you don`t have a large appetite, there was plenty of choice. The first morning at breakfast while half way through our cereal the waitress was standing at the table with our full English going cold waiting for us to finish.
On the second morning there was no brown bread as they had run out the day before and if you were entitled to a bucks fizz with your breakfast and you never asked for it you never got it, It was never offered.
I feel they have a lot to learn about the hospitality business before they start expecting top dollar. Perhaps that`s why they are moving more into the function room idea.
I stop in many hotels with my job but this one was not one of my best stays there is better nearby.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. Not value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

An overnight stay on a Amazon Local deal and so glad we chose this hotel . A beautiful location not far from Scarborough and Whitby . Room we had was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated . The highlight was the included 3 course meal which we thought was excellent .decent portions and well presented . Highly recommend .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevos747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The staff were poorly trained, the courtyard room damp with mould visible. The breakfast offered only a very limited choice of items.
We had an evening meal on the first night but found somewhere much better on the second night and at half the cost.
The drinks are expensive.
NOT RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Don't accept a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank randomchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for writing in to trip advisor. I am sorry to read that you felt your deal was poor value for money. I was surprised you felt also that the staff were poorly trained. We have received many compliments on our staff hospitality and professionalism as reflected from other customers also on this website.

With regard to your comment that the breakfast offered is very limited. We have a buffet style that includes selection of fruit juice, tea, coffee, 5 different types of cereal, fruit salad, dried fruits, yoghurt, porridge as well as a choice for a cooked breakfast including eggs any style, bacon, sausages, beans, fresh mushrooms, fried tomato, fried bread and baked beans. We also offer smoked kippers, smoked haddock with poached eggs (for a small supplement) as well as eggs benedict with salmon.

Finally I appreciate that you may have found our drink prices slightly higher when compared to say a pub. Unfortunately with the rising cost from the suppliers, I have tried to absorb the last price increases as much as possible. That said, we have checked our prices against hotels of similar standard as ours and I believe we are at the correct level.

As I am not sure which room you stayed at in the Courtyard, it is difficult to pass comment on the mold. That said, I have spoken with housekeeping to check all the rooms and to ensure that any mold is reported up to be dealt with.

I would be interested to know some further details about your comments on the staff training and if you would like to contact the General Manager at the hotel, joe@hacknessgrangehotel.com he will be able to address any matters also that haven't been dealt with in this reply and also use the opportunity of your feedback to help improve the service for future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

the hotel was the perfect setting for a family wedding, the staff were superb yet unobtrusive and we loved our suite. it was a great place for two families to get to know each other in a really relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at hackness and was very pleased. Beautiful grounds and building. I had a comfortable stay and would visit again without a doubt. Staff were welcoming and polite. Food was also good with beautiful dessert.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,800 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
366 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing