We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 days of being really looked after!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“3 days of being really looked after!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night break at Hackness Grange. We wanted a quiet location, away from it all - we certainly got it! The food was plentiful, lots of choice & beautifully cooked & presented. The rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms could do with updating, but all very clean & useable. The staff were very helpful & friendly. When renovations are finished, this will be a truly beautiful hotel. I'm just afraid we wouldn't be able to afford to stay there then!
Just one negative, which is really something they can't do much about? No mobile phone signal - WiFi ok though.

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms have steps into room & bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    153
    69
    32
    20
See reviews for
100
295
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

For those looking for peace and quiet whilst on the doorstep of bustling seaside towns of Scarborough and Whitby, this hotel is perfect.
Service was excellant, food presentation and quality was first class and it was overall an excellent break to chill out and relax.
Management and staff were particularly friendly

Room Tip: The main house is worth the extra, due to size of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from the Hackness Grange Hotel and I would like to say: what a fantastic couple of days we have had!
We arrived early to check-in but were still showed directly to our room in the courtyard, we were very pleasantly surprised to find a very comfortable family accommodation with splendid views.
Food and service was outstanding and the staff was warm and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel and I can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I read with interest the revues for this hotel before we went, especially the poor ones. I must say it seemed as though we may have dropped a clanger.
However this proved to be wrong. On arrival the reception staff were very polite and cheerful.
The rooms allocated were 18 and 20 as we had friends with us. Both rooms were in the Courtyard which was a little way behind the main building. These rooms were on the first floor and would be a bit inconvenient for older people but the General Manager met us and actually carried our overnight cases himself. Room 20 is smaller than 18 but was acceptable.

The deal was for Dinner Bed and Breakfast, dinner was very good although there was only two steaks left but no probs the chicken was ok. Service in the bar was very good both members of staff were quiet but polite.
The night Porter was very informative and his enthusiasm for the Hotel shone through.
Breakfast just as good which was served with Bucks Fiz as part of the deal.
The rooms had been recently refurbished to quiet a good standard. If something isn't done however with the room door and wardrobe doors the new carpet will wear out pretty soon.

The refurbish work is continuing but didn't effect us over the weekend, cant comment about midweek.

Worth a second visit

Room Tip: Probably request a ground floor room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syddor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was staggered to read the review by Fify S of a lunchtime event since I organised a lunchtime event at Hackness Grange which took place on the 15th May 2014 for 62 persons and without exception everybody said how much they had enjoyed the occasion. This is the second time I have brought a large group of our members to a luncheon at Hackness Grange which has the feel of a stately home and due to popular demand we very much hope to go back again in September.

We had our meal in the recently opened Function Room which has been beautifully decorated and looks out across the lake and large gardens. The food was excellent with good portions,the staff were very efficient and friendly, and the overall event good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had booked the Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, as the final part of a road trip that had taken us from home in Wiltshire, to Cumbria and Edinburgh, prior to our arrival in Yorkshire. The arrival is impressive, but although the new owners have commenced work bringing the house back to its former glory, they still have work to do. Our initially allocated room was unsuitable, due to it being on different levels, with steps. We were sorted out with another room without steps, but this felt very small in comparison to other rooms we had stayed in on the trip. However, the bed was comfortable, giving a good night's sleep. The staff were friendly, but for me, the stay was let down by the food, which was okay, but not spectacular, but in all fairness, we had had some excellent fayre on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshirewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I read with interest the wedding review below having recently attended a lunchtime event, it reads like a sales pitch, as do the last few!
As a guest to an afternoon meal, our experience was the opposite. The function room is adequate as you would expect from a country hotel environment, in that location and paying those prices. Recent work has been carried out in a disparate nature as parts of the building is very tired and match the staff’s enthusiasm.
Indeed service at the tables was amateurish, food presentation and quality was particularly bad. So much so, members of our party took photographs of their plates to show their friends! My experience won’t be repeated as I won’t be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fify S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write in to trip advisor. I have emailed you direct to ask for details of your lunch and copies of the photos so that I could look at them and so discuss with Chef, particularly as the comments go against the general view of our food and our new function room. Regrettably your reply to me that you "do not wish to discuss it further" does not allow me to fairly reply to your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing