We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Have just returned from a long weekend stay. On the whole ok as we went out each day. Breakfast very expensive at £14.95 a head and sometimes only lukewarm. We found a Toby Calvery pub where eat as much as you want breakfast was £3.99. I did complain that there was no hot water. You could not have a bath and showers were lukewarm if you were lucky. Other guests were also complaining but nothing changed for the whole three nights we were there. No hot water which is unacceptable. There are cheaper hotels in area with breakfast included and hot water. This charges over £70 per night with no breakfast and no hot water. We booked for our wedding anniversary and will not be returning. A big disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for writing into Tripadvisor and I am sorry that your stay was not to your liking.
Regarding the hot water, I was made aware of this problem and it has since been rectified. With our new bio-mass system a problem arose with the temperature control unit and once this was brought to my attention was fixed as quickly as possible. As with any system, things can on occasion go wrong, as it did on this occasion. I have spoken to the General Manager that when such arises to let guests know as quickly as possible as well as to our system supplier. Again, I apologise for this fault.
As to our breakfast charge, we offer an a-la carte breakfast menu with a variety of choices and we believe it is fairly priced when compared with other Country House hotels and not against a Toby Carvery. The breakfast and dinner menu is published on our website showing clearly the prices we charge.
Once again thank you for comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was here for a short break for 2 nights.. The hotel is in beautiful grounds,and surrounded by idyllic countryside. The rooms are very nice, some are work in progress as the new owner is having a total revamp as explained whilst I was there.
The staff and manager where very helpful and polite, food was excellent with large portions.
I would highly recommend this place, it's peaceful , tranquil , ideal to get away from it all.

Would defiantly visit again

:)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Having booked this hotel as a romantic getaway, I wasnt disappointed. The hotel looks impressive and the staff are all very helpfull and polite. We booked an Executive courtyard room (31)which appears to have recently been refurbished. Room was really large with sofa and chaise lounge. The bed was a huge kingsize with lots of pillars and cushions....however, the mattress was so lumpy it made sleeping a real pain-literally!
The restaurant food was fantastic. Bit of a wait to get seated but worth the wait. We had scallops with chorizo and hazelnut butter then the duck and steak, followed by 'the best' lemon brulee, all washed down with a very good house red. The location is perfect for exploring the east coast, North Yorkshire moors or simply walking around the area. All in all I would recommend this hotel. Just make sure you check the matress before bedtime!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

So looking forward to our second visit to this hotel, basically from entering this hotel we found that standards had dropped drastically. Cleanliness certainly wasn't as good, litter on stairs on arrival was still there after our 3 night stay. In the dining room for breakfast we were swatting flies also in the evening, most annoying. Breakfast we found only one toaster working, insufficient staff to tell you where to go for what e.g. toast, cereals, fruit etc. Al a carte for evening meal very disappointing, food cold, under or overcooked. Plus terms of our arrangement concerning meals not given by Receptionist on arrival. When questioned the Receptionist on duty really was unsure, basically due I think to insufficient Management information.
The grounds at this hotel are lovely, but this time around we just couldn't get over the fact they had insufficient staff to run the hotel effectively. The staff on duty did their best, but it was a case of too much to do by too few people when there are o n l y 24 hours a day!
Put our point of view to Management but I feel they are not listening to their guests in order to give a better service, stereotype replies in the hope that they will appease - we'll sadly they won't.

Room Tip: Room in main house overlooking lake
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write into Tripadvisor your comments. You did in deed write direct to me and I replied that I would look into the matters that you raised in your somewhat very long and complaining letter to me. Unfortunately you have not given me sufficient time to investigate what you alleged and have decided to air your grievances instead on an open forum.
I have discussed your case with the Management and find that the main cause of upset centred around the fact we had changed from a Table-dhot menu to an A la Carte one. This change happened because we do listen to the points raised by guests (and not as you allege that we don't). Guests wanted greater variety on a daily basis and the freedom of choice to have one, two, three or even four courses and not be limited that a Table-dhot menu offers.
I appreciate that some guests don't like change and prefer how things they used to be, and I can see from some of your other reviews where establishments have made change that are clearly not to your liking that you then go on to slate them.
The above said, I went through point by point your concerns and I believe we have dealt with them where we felt they were justified. Your comments though on the flies, bearing in mind we are a Country House Hotel, surrounded by arable farm-land and in the middle of summer is in my opinion superfluous and reflects on the type of person you actually are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a friends wedding recently. What a fabulous experience! The room is beautiful and was excellently decorated. The staff were superb serving what can only be described as one of the best wedding meals I have ever had! The staff, led by Joe the manager, were efficient and professional. The party that followed was brilliant, the DJ, Nigel, did an excellent job. The best thing though was that the bar prices were reasonable so everyone managed to enjoy themselves without that feeling of being ripped off because they were attending a wedding and paying high prices. Stayed in a Courtyard room.. Clean, tidy, with a view into the Courtyard. Perfect for a one night stay to attend a wedding for. Next morning, quite busy in the restaurant for the breakfast, but we didn't mind, nor did others as the breakfast, like the meal before, was well cooked, warm albeit the fried bread was a little greasy. Overall, one of the best weddings I have experienced in Scarborough and will be a strong competitor to the other established venues near them.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank cherrieblossom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We'd stayed here a couple of years ago and the main attraction was the onsite pool. So imagine our disappointment on arrival to find it had been filled in it was now a function room. Didn't have much to do with the staff as we weren't eating there - the price for the breakfast was a total rip off - but they seemed ok. We had a ground floor courtyard room with a nice view of the grounds which was clean and a reasonable size. TV was good with loads of channels and bathroom had plenty of hot water. It should be noted that you can hear what people are saying in the room upstairs and if those people had been noisy or late night revelers it would have been a big problem. The big selling point of this hotel are the ground which are impressive and it was nice to be greeted every morning on the way to the car by a gaggle of ducks from the pond. There is ample parking. All in all a slightly overpriced hotel and we probably won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sedgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We closed the pool nearly two years ago to make way for a function suite to be built and our website and partner sites were all updated then reflecting this. This was because very few guests used the pool and the space is better utilised as a function room allowing for weddings and the like.

You comment that the breakfast is 'rip of'. We have an a la carte breakfast menu with food options starting from as low as £5.95 for scrambled eggs with toast on the side, continental breakfast at £8.95, kippers grilled with butter at £6.50 and so on. All our menus and prices are clearly laid out on our website.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope that you change your mind in the future to staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I found this delightful country house hotel via Travelzoo. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful. The new owner is working hard to present the house at it's best. We had two days of glorious sunshine and we enjoyed our room in the main house overlooking the croquet lawn and the hills beyond.

The staff were friendly and attentive, the hotel grounds and the location were stunning and the food was delicious. Whilst eating dinner we were able to watch a Kingfisher nearby sitting on a stump at the edge of the lake outside the window.

We slept well, ate well, walked around the village to the historic church of St Peter and travelled to Filey and Scarborough. We left fully rested and relaxed. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had room 3 in the main house and loved the view from our window.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueMillgateMasham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,892 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,579 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
917 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,260 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range: £59 - £936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing