We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
548suzy1
Chesterfield, United Kingdom

Fantastic stay

Review of Hackness Grange
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2024
How lucky were we, we had the best room in the hotel, the Bridal Suite. It was fantastic.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Lovely gardens, and close to Whitby and Scarborough.
The dining room looks tired and tables not very attractive.
The good was ok but service was great.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£125
  • Agoda.com
    £125
  • Vio.com
    £125
  • eDreams
    £125
2.3 miles from Hackness Grange
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£240
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £240
  • Vio.com
    £240
  • Agoda.com
    £240
2.6 miles from Hackness Grange
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£308
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £273
  • Expedia.com
    £308
  • Skyscanner.com
    £274
3.0 miles from Hackness Grange
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£146
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
3.6 miles from Hackness Grange
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
nice bedroom
Booking.com
£170
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £147
  • Agoda.com
    £133
  • Expedia.com
    £170
3.9 miles from Hackness Grange
Free Wifi
Free parking
ZenHotels.com
£573
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.5 miles from Hackness Grange
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.6 miles from Hackness Grange
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.7 miles from Hackness Grange
Free Wifi
Free parking
4.6 miles from Hackness Grange
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hackness
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
481
199
86
48
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
481
199
86
48
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Booking in was a delight, ten minutes banter with Christine and Peter set the tone. Plenty of parking spaces, We had a lovely clean room in the courtyard, great shower! Ample breakfast ,Thanks Jules and Lorraine. Main meals adequate, thanks to Charlotte and Peter and all the staff at Hackness for coping with my strange request!.Would definitely return to this lovely old building. no wonder it is a wedding location, I suspect it is beautiful in the summer.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024

Well I'm still here on night two of two . Fabulous beginning with the most sincere friendly welcome . The food is excellent and v important to me hot food served on hot plates , by professional but very warm and friendly staff. The setting fabulous, the decor, and the carpets high quality. I'll come again. Harry

Room tip: Just go to chill and , walk the east Yorkshire cliffs nearby
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Y1413ORharryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2024

There was a mix up with the booking due to booking.com as there was a wedding taking place. Despite this the hotel staff provided us with a really nice room and lovely breakfast away from the wedding guests. Which we thoroughly enjoyed. All of the staff were very friendly and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome.It was a lovely setting whilst eating breakfast. The beds were very clean and comfortable and we both slept really well.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

We took advantage of a Travelzoo deal for two nights with two friends. Lovely building and location, but it went down from there ! It was obvious that we’d got a discounted deal. Afternoon tea was very basic and the menu likewise - just three choices of main course : Chicken Supreme (always over cooked) Cottage Pie ( with undercooked potato top ) and bream. Breakfast was cereal and fried English, no choice. It was such a let down when booking what we expected to be a country house hotel. Our friends room was infested with flies (see many Google reviews) staff just dismissed our complaint, the toilet didn’t flush as the handle was broken, staff just dismissed once again. Staff like Faulty Towers, just not as funny as Basil. One visit was enough !

Room tip: Sells its self now as a wedding venue - maybe mass catering/dance floor/stunning location suits it ? Quality hotel it is not !
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Just had a 2 night stay using the Travelzoo voucher 2 nights stay with a afternoon tea on arrival 3 course dinner on both nights and full breakfast on both mornings What a fantastic deal staff were brilliant and so friendly the hotel is stunning and grand Hospitality was fantastic and a special mention to Jules the reception manageress she looked after us from booking to looking after us whilst we were there she was brilliant Lovely stay would love to come back again it was amazing

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews