We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay in Silpho”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful open plan kitchen living dining space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful open plan kitchen living dining space
Breaday Gill from the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Beautiful open plan kitchen living dining space
Breaday Gill from the courtyard
One of the neighbours!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hackness, Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Naomi M
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in Silpho”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip away with our 9 month old daughter and it was excellent. The accommodation was fantastic, open plan living which was great for our little one to move around and for us to relax at the same time. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could want, and everything down to the crockery was good quality. The bedrooms are spacious and have everything you will need. The bathrooms are even more impressive, beautifully decorated and again very spacious.
The cottage is perfectly situated for days out in North Yorkshire. We had fabulous weather throughout thus enabling us to enjoy the delights of what the North Yorkshire seaside have to offer.
Silpho is in the middle of nowhere which adds to the beauty of the cottage in my opinion.
During our stay we reported a minor fault (more to inform the owners rather than to complain about it) and this was resolved that same day. Fantastic service.
Overall a brilliant stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living. How spacious everything is in all the rooms. The quality of everything.
Liked least: The duvet was too thick and I often woke up sweating but we did stay in August.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A luxurious barn conversion in a heavenly setting”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Breaday Gill provided my family with the ideal holiday location.The barn was set in a very quiet hamlet on the edge of farmland with sheep across the lane and breathtaking views across the moors. The accommodation was spacious and provided everything you could need including a welcome pack with some very fresh eggs from the farm chickens.We were visiting family in Scarborough and we were within easy driving distance of the town and the "bright lights".Chris and Lorna were excellent hosts and we would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We were delighted to welcome you as our guests and that you enjoyed your stay with us at Breaday Gill. We enjoyed meeting you all and hope you will visit again soon.
Best wishes
Chris, Lorna & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nibs1974
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A tasteful retreat in the Yorkshire Moors”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here the first weekend in May for a family reunion and we were all very impressed, so much so that we stayed in all day Saturday and had even more family over for dinner. Everything you require to make food as if you were at home. Lorna's attention to detail impressed us no end.
We took a nice stroll through some farm land and around a quarry which wasn't to far away.
On the Sunday we had a super lunch at the Ox Pastures before heading home to rainy Cheshire .
We would be sure to stay here again & will certainly be booking for next year.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes
Lorna & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winny1981
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were taking our 8 week old son to the seaside for the first time & had been desperately searching to find somewhere to stay. Luckily for us, we found Breaday Gill & were impressed by the photos, the description of the barn & the great reviews - we were not disappointed!

The photos online really don't do the barn justice, everything is so pretty! The barn is also extremely well equipped & everything you could possibly need is on-hand.

We received a lovely warm welcome from Lorna & although we didn't need to call on her during our visit, it was nice to know that we could do if we had any issues or queries.

We love Scarborough & it was nice to be close, but was also nice to be staying in such a quiet & picturesque location.

We cannot recommend Breaday Gill enough & we're looking forward to our inevitable return. Many thanks Lorna & Chris :)

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and found that Breaday Gill exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Lorna & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini_cj
East Calder, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Breaday Gill for 2 nights with my mum and sister, and we were all absolutely delighted with the stylish, yet extremely comfortable and cosy accommodation. Lorna and Chris, the owners, were genuinely warm and welcoming, and really had thought of everything (the kitchen was particularly well equipped). We'd arranged for a two-course, home-cooked meal to be ready for us on arrival, and this was excellent too.

Highly recommended - we'd love to return.

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal987
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a 2 night stay with family and it was perfect. A beautifully transformed steading with everything you could possibly need tucked away in stylish drawers and cupboards. The hosts were incredibly accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Didn't want to leave!

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marica C
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Breaday Gill for a week in September and we could not have had a more positive experience. The property has a superb location and the cottage is beautiful. From the wonderful design to the fine detail of the accessories, nothing has been left to chance. The hosts, Lorna and Chris, are marvelous - always there to help but never intrusive. At Breaday Gill Lorna and Chris have managed to put it all together in a unique way. We cannot recommend it enough and look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We truly enjoyed welcoming you as our guests at Breaday Gill and look forward to seeing you all at Silpho again soon.

With our best wishes

Lorna & Chris
Stylish Stays
Luxury Holidays
Yorkshire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.