We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came for drink stayed for lunch.. Fantastic!!!”
Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The King's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hursley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Came for drink stayed for lunch.. Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Popped into kings head today for drink on way from shopping! Was met by the wonderful owner who always makes you feel so welcome and at home... Almost everyone who came in he greeted personally... We decided to stop for lunch... So glad we did... We had the burger which was homemade and one of the best burgers I've ever had... Restaurant was busy, but didn't effect service which was fantastic...a real buzzy place to go with wonderful atmosphere .... Will def be back again soon...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbleshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    55
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
42
90
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my partner. I felt that the price I paid was a bit much for one night but wanted to make a special night for my partner's birthday. The room was gorgeous and very clean. It was obviously kept to a high standard and the lady who showed us to our room was very proud of it. We ate at the restaurant which was not too expensive, food was excellent and we were made to feel special by the team there. Breakfast in the morning again was great and there were no complaints. Lovely little place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped here as part of a surprise birthday weekend for my partner in 2012. We enjoyed a fantastic meal on the Friday evening - if you have space you should really try the deserts - Fab.

Enjoyed as part of a trip to the New Forest and Portsmouth this is well worth a visit.

We stopped in the four poster room, amazing. Rainforest shower we to die for.

Room Tip: Four Poster room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Great pub, recently refurbished. Service by Lorenzo and his staff is always fantastic. We live in Hursley so have to give it 5* for location. Food always great. If you're reading this review, you are clearly toying with eating and/or staying here .. Well do ! You won't be disappointed !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily23007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the location for one night, our room had a four poster bed, lovely chandelier and a roll top bath although we opted for the shower! The room was clean and comfortable although a little noisy from the pub downstairs till at least around midnight. We had three meals at the restaurant (breakfast, lunch, dinner) all very tasty, especially the steak sandwich and the chocolate torte! A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
666 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,158 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We visited the restaurant on a Friday night, when the King's Head offers a Fish Evening. I ordered cod steak on a smoked haddock rosti, with 6 clams and surrounded by a ring of samphire. This was a top-class dish, with each element perfectly cooked. I had never before realised that cod could taste so fresh and delicious. My wife began with a Caesar's salad, with parmisan shavings, bacon and chicken. This, too, rated a 10/10 score with the croutons perfect and the leaves very crisp. We ended by sharing a creme brulee. Again this was very good, with a thin topping tasting of slightly burnt sugar (as the dish's name implies) and a delicious creamy mixture underneath.

Impressed by this meal, we visited again the following Wednesday for lunch. At this time of year the pub offers a Hampshire Fare lunch, two courses for £12.75 (three for £15). I began with a pulled ham terrine, served with piccallili, dressed leaves, and several pieces of thin crispy toast. It was good. I continued with a whole fresh mackerel on the bone, with a mustard sauce, served on watercress with bacon pieces. Once again the fish could not have been fresher. It was a great dish. (Apparently the proprietor travels to Portsmouth to buy fresh fish on a regular basis.) My wife repeated her selection of Caesar's salad with ham and bacon, this time scoring it as only 7/10. The croutons were overlarge and rather hard; the leaves were OK but not so crisp as before. The dish was still fine by normal standards.

The service was fine on both occasions. I shall certainly be making further visits to try out some further fish dishes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crymych, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here on Thursday and Friday night as we were going to the Festival Of Speed at Goodwood by Chichester. The inn was easy to find using the sat nav and there is a good sized car park. The four poster room we booked (Edward VI) was lovely and the bathroom with its slipper bath and monsoon shower just what was wanted after a long drive.

We hadn't booked for dinner on the Thursday as we were unsure of our arrival time but the maitre d' fitted us in and how glad we were; the food was truly outstanding, the seared scallops with blood pudding and lemon jelly to die for and the calves liver was crisp on the outside but melting in the mouth. My husband was likewise delighted with his meal of smoked salmon on rye bread and steak with home fries The wine list was very nice and not too expensive. The bar was welcoming and well used by the locals with a very nice, inclusive atmosphere.

Breakfast was very good and all cooked to order with some of the best tea I've had in a hotel for a long time.

We were late returning to the hotel on the Friday, but again were able to be fitted in for dinner. The Kings Head does a "Fish Friday" with fresh oysters, crab and lobster all on the menu as well as dover sole, sea bass and cod. If you are in the know, you phone ahead and reserve your oysters and crab; we didn't know and so missed out but had some wonderful fresh spicy deep fried squid that was all that could be asked for.

The Kings Head is a little gem and we will be returning again.

Room Tip: The Edward VI room has a four poster bed and is large and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonysmum5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hursley
4.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Property: The King's Head
Address: Main Road, Hursley SO21 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hursley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hursley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome, fine home cooked fare and traditional rural hospitality await you ... The King's Head free house is a traditional Four Star Georgian coaching inn situated in the historic downland village of Hursley, just south of Winchester in Hampshire. We offer a warm welcome and traditional rural hospitality to rival all other inns and hotels in Winchester. The village of Hursley is most well known for its strong associations with the family of Oliver Cromwell; it is for this reason that it is believed The King's Head originally gained its name. Our aim is to provide a relaxed and cheerful environment for locals and visitors alike in which to enjoy locally sourced ales, fine wines, home-cooked food, or even a night or two in one of our carefully restored hotel rooms. 'There is nothing which has yet been contrived by man, by which so much happiness is produced as by a good tavern or Inn' Samuel Johnson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Hursley
The King's Head Hursley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing