We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch at the Kings Head”
Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The King's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hursley B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch at the Kings Head”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Although there were no tables available, they squeezed into some uncomfortable seats near the bar, the service was rapid (they were very busy) and the food was good (excellent side selection of vegetables and carrots that tasted of carrots), I had asked for my meat rare and was duly obliged, pudding was good too...wine was disappointing, but beer selection very good - overall I would give this another go after having booked a table in their restaurant

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    55
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
42
91
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed in the the 'Spitfire Suite' for 2 nights & hardly slept. This room is located above the kitchen and you are constantly shaken by the slamming of the cold room door which is adjacent to the room. Note that the kitchen opens from 7:30 am to midnight so you get the jist....
I could even hear an almighty argument in the kitchen, almost word for word, through the walls of my room.
The room is shabby; several light bulbs not working; carpet seen better days & the paint is peeling off the walls in the bathroom. Impossible to shower properly (you have to crouch down in the bath holding the shower head) . The heat in the bathromm is unbearable: the radiator is on full blast & impossible to turn off.
The pictures of the suite on their site are deceptive, it's much smaller than appears & there are stairs everywhere, it's very higglety pigglety.
On the upside: the room has its own seperate entrance via the carpark.
The pub itself is quite charming and the setting is wonderful.
The food was very good but overpriced and ridiculously small portions.
All in all quite dissappointing. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: The above review only concerns the Spitfire suite I can only hope the other rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludwig123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful relaxing place to stay. Room was amazing (de blois) really homely subtle tasteful decor superb attention to detail fantastic bathroom with walk free standing bath with lions feet and superb walking shower. Evening meal and breakfast very good all staff friend helpful nothing too much trouble. Very close to Winchester you must stay here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equilibre72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the De Blois room which despite being over the dining room was quiet. Beds very comfy,room spacious as was bathroom - nice fluffy towels! We ate on one night and despite being very busy the food was delicious and the service was good. All the staff were very helpful and made our stay special. The only criticism we would have would be that when we booked the room we were not advised that we should book a table if we wanted dinner. This is a very popular spot to eat and we could not book a table on the night as the restaurant was full.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We dined here on Monday 2 December and had a thoroughly nice evening. We were a party of 7 taking time out from work to relax and eat well which we did. The festive menu had enough choice to please all of us. We had a range of starters: soup, goats cheese, smoked salmon, ham terrine and all were well presented and more importantly very tasty. Our mains: traditional turkey, lamb rump and fish were all beautifully presented and cooked well. If I had been having fish then I might not have enjoyed the vegetables as sprouts and delicate fish are not a match made in heaven! Our desserts: cheese (always forget to mention I can't tolerate Stilton) , chocolate torte and bakewell tarts were again all very good. We were all driving so stuck to water and soft drinks. The bill was very reasonable and all in all a good evening with attentive staff aside from actually trying to pay when they all seemed to disappear...not uncommon wherever you go it seems.

Personally I like this pub and we go there often for drinks and the odd meal but most of our party live out of the area so it was nice to see how much they liked the ambiance too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Enjoyable lunch, the food was very good and the staff were very attentive especially the manager . The restaurant and the pub were very busy with families and couples alike but we didn't have to wait long for our food. The atmosphere was relaxed and the decor is modern.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We chose the Kings Head by chance as a place to meet friends roughly halfway between our homes. We had booked a room and were warmly welcomed by name on arrival. The bar and dining room are both tastefully decorated with a country-house feel, the food was excellent and the staff were friendly. This is the first time I have ever been motivated to write an on-line review. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hursley
1.7 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
472 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,050 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,718 reviews
5.2 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Property: The King's Head
Address: Main Road, Hursley SO21 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hursley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hursley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome, fine home cooked fare and traditional rural hospitality await you ... The King's Head free house is a traditional Four Star Georgian coaching inn situated in the historic downland village of Hursley, just south of Winchester in Hampshire. We offer a warm welcome and traditional rural hospitality to rival all other inns and hotels in Winchester. The village of Hursley is most well known for its strong associations with the family of Oliver Cromwell; it is for this reason that it is believed The King's Head originally gained its name. Our aim is to provide a relaxed and cheerful environment for locals and visitors alike in which to enjoy locally sourced ales, fine wines, home-cooked food, or even a night or two in one of our carefully restored hotel rooms. 'There is nothing which has yet been contrived by man, by which so much happiness is produced as by a good tavern or Inn' Samuel Johnson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Hursley
The King's Head Hursley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing