We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King's Head
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
161
60
27
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
60
27
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubflat breadskittle alleyfour postersash windowsrump steakthe sticky toffee puddingroom was large and comfortablebeautiful villageroll top bathsunday roastcountry innan ironsingle roomshower gelmain roadstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed recently for one night and had a family dinner in the restaurant. Food was very well cooked and served even though we were late ordering - we were unlucky with a couple if the starters as they'd sold out before we ordered but that does illustrate good food, prepared daily and limited accordingly... Room was superb (Heathcote) and breakfast sets you is for the day. Wasn't aware that the ownership had changed since last visit (December) but can vouch for the restaurant experience as not having changed!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank JustinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Popped in for an early coffee and could not have been better looked after. What a lovely place, excellent coffee, a fantastic bacon sarnie, super staff. Hurrah! It was an impromptu visit but I most certainly will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We made our reservation about 3 weeks in advance, booking the hotel's only suite - "Formerly thought to be the groom's quarters, this suite...is accessed through a separate door...". It sounded charming, but unfortunately we never got to see it.

On arrival at about 6pm there seemed some confusion among staff. Eventually 'Claudio' was found and he said he wanted to check our room and disappeared; on his return he explained he wanted to make sure it had been valeted after the last guest and led us upstairs. It looked nice if not fitting the description of the room we'd reserved. However on opening the wardrobe we found it full of clothes and personal effects; there were toiletries in the bathroom and an iPad on the desk - clearly someone else was still occupying the room. Claudio was summonsed and he duly removed all the other guests effects explaining that he had moved to another room. My partner was concerned - what if the other guest came back for his stuff, did he still have a key? We were assured he did not have a key. My partner took a shower and was just getting into her bathrobe when a key turned in the lock and a man entered the room. It was the other guest who still had his key and didn't know he'd been moved! After assurances to the contrary about keys this was pretty shocking.

We then asked why we had not been given the room we'd booked Claudio shrugged and said the booking didn't specify a room. This was clearly not true as our copy of the bookings.com confirmation included full details of the room booked. So, he lied twice, about the keys and about the booking.

Later we pieced together what had happened. The former occupant of our room had asked if he could stay an extra period, bringing his wife and child and he'd been told, yes, it'll be alright, we'll sort something out while you're out today. He had then been assigned the suite we had booked (which has an extra bed as well as a siting room) and we had been given his room. Problem was, on his return he wasn't told that he'd been moved and in fact his belongings had not been moved. So he burst in on us embarrassingly.

We left Claudio in no doubt as to our feelings, but he continued to try to bluff his way out of his obviously incompetent handling of our booking. We are reasonable people and experienced travellers and understand that problems can arise. In this circumstance the hotel management should be open and honest in explaining the position. In this case we were lied to and misled. Claudio's only response was, "The hotel manager will be here in the morning".

Of course, the manager was not there when we checked out, so the young lady who looked after us at breakfast was left to resolve the situation. She was charming and helpful explaining the hotel had undergone a change of ownership and staff and things had settled down yet. In the event we did not pay for our accommodation, although I was happy to pay for dinner which was fine; the breakfast was also very good.

The King's Head is to be avoided until it sorts out the incompetent staff who, evidently, have little idea how to run an hotel.

Room Tip: The road is quite noisy, so try to get a room away from it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed for a night here recently and I can highly recommend it. It's a nice old pub but the real stand out is the food, which really is excellent. I had the chicken and ham pie which I think is the best pie I have ever eaten in my entire life !!

The room was large and comfortable, with the setting of the pub being very quiet. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly and the beer was pretty good as well, so all in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trousers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were made to feel very welcome in this country pub that served refined food and wonderful wine. The room was also very comfortable and stylish. The staff were really friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back. Fully recommend the King's Head, which moreover is dog-friendly. Audrey, Belgium.

Room Tip: Although the pub gives onto quite a busy road, the rooms are well insulated.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews