We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - stay here”
Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The King's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hursley B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing - stay here”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This is like a secret find, its so good, we were really impressed with the quality, value, breakfast, room. oh and the food for dinner was spectacular!
i'd highly recommend this place, but please look after it, its a real gem.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    55
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
42
91
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

From the moment we arrived at this bustling village pub we recieved a friendly infomal welcome, enjoyed great food and supped on some splendid local ales. The Hotel is close enough to Winchester to benefit from it's attractions and eateries, but to be honest the food here was such high quality, there was no need to go anwywhere else.
The room was well appointed and had a high quality feel without loosing any of its rustic charm. The breakfast was first rate and plentiful.
Altogether a fine place to eat, drink and sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This gorgeous bulilding in a beautiful village has been fantastically restored to give a really tastefully decorated pub restaurant with rooms upstairs. An offer of carrying our bags upstairs was made on our arrival - a service which seems to be rarely offered in the UK - even in 4 star hotels. It is full of character - the bedrooms are beautifully appointed with original fireplaces and nice bathrooms. The soft furnishings are really beautiful too. The dinner was excellent (as was the breakfast) and the full restaurant was testimony to its quality.Although we waited a time to be served the staff gave profuse apologies more than once (which seems rare in my experience) so we didn't mind. Altogether a lovely experience at a good price and very close to Winchester.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is a lovely Hotel with great decor, staff and food. The rooms are nice and well furnished. The wifi is hit and miss downstairs.

The downside for me was twofold:
1. The room was unimaginably hot (No 5) and nosiy with the kitchen freezer motor kicking in every 20 mins all night long.
2. The room was definately haunted. I am a sceptic here but my experience raises questions... On putting the tea tray on my bed off the table so as to work in my room no sooner had I turned round to write email than all the cups jumped onto the bed. I put this down to the matress sinking under weight of the tray. The second experience not so easily accounted for; I remember trying to fall asleep at around 1.30 and being woken by a feeling of deep despair (which is not me). All of a sudden the TV came on (very loud) which I put down to rolling on the remote. When I searched for it I saw it on the bedside table.........
Figure it out for yourselves!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank directorman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hursley
1.7 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
472 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,050 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,719 reviews
5.2 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Property: The King's Head
Address: Main Road, Hursley SO21 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hursley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hursley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome, fine home cooked fare and traditional rural hospitality await you ... The King's Head free house is a traditional Four Star Georgian coaching inn situated in the historic downland village of Hursley, just south of Winchester in Hampshire. We offer a warm welcome and traditional rural hospitality to rival all other inns and hotels in Winchester. The village of Hursley is most well known for its strong associations with the family of Oliver Cromwell; it is for this reason that it is believed The King's Head originally gained its name. Our aim is to provide a relaxed and cheerful environment for locals and visitors alike in which to enjoy locally sourced ales, fine wines, home-cooked food, or even a night or two in one of our carefully restored hotel rooms. 'There is nothing which has yet been contrived by man, by which so much happiness is produced as by a good tavern or Inn' Samuel Johnson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Hursley
The King's Head Hursley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing