We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana!”
Review of Basecamp Pyrenees

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arles-sur-Tech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Basecamp Pyrenees
Antibes, France
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nirvana!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Remote and exclusive, Can Rigall nestles high in the Pyrenees removed from clamour and chaos.
In this tastefully restored farmstead, the welcome is warm with every attention given to us upon arrival and throughout our stay. Dinner was served on the terrace where we feasted on fabulous food, gazing upon the majestic mountains. Coffee was in in the lounge in front of a roaring log fire with a backdrop of candle light. The rooms are very individual; all free of flat screens and other technology interfering with the ether. A stunning lace to walk, paint, write or just do nothing and absorb the energy of the location.

Room Tip: The suite at the front of the property is STUNNING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We cannot recommend the Can Rigall eco-hotel highly enough: a beautifully converted and hugely atmospheric old farmstead perched high up a 6km track to the south of Arles-sur-Tech, with gorgeous views straight across to the Canigou massif. It has fine walks from its door, including the Pilo de Belmaig ridge and is a good base for wider exploration. Superb food and charming service and support.

A particular joy is the Pilo de Belmaig ridge, which we walked from Can Rigall . Its grand circuit (our term not theirs) climbs through beautiful and varied forests, passing long-overgrown ruined houses and collapsing terraces, relics of the tough lives of the inhabitants of former times, to meet the GR10 on a col in the ridge. Thence it is a 45min climb up the ever lovelier high ridge to the Pilo de Belmaig, a rocky summit with uninterrupted all-round views. Eat a picnic here. Then it is on along the narrow and really rather thrilling high ridge to another peak, which is wooded so affords less in the way of views. You then drop back down on excellent forest tracks to Can Rigall. Around 4 ½ hrs.

This walk will be have its own page on walkopedia.net in due course.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

As a complete surprise me and my girlfriend enjoyed a weekend in Can Rigall and surroundings. This was an absolute delight which I still enjoy 2 weeks after our return. The base camps "young" history is already a great story. The old farm has been restored in an excellent way with a sincere idea behind it respecting mind and nature. In combination with its location high up in the mountains, you'll get the views, air and peace on top. A huge variety of hiking tracks and the changing landscapes depending on altitude keeps you constantly amazed. When arriving back to base you'll be treated with a warm welcome of the hosts and guests sharing daily experiences. After freshing up you can expect a great dinner from the friendliest chef and hostess. I enjoyed every bite and with the local wines you'll be stunned. All this makes you sleep like a baby in the beautiful rooms and comfortable beds. Overall an amazing stay giving the energy needed. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stopped here for 3 nights at the beginning of September and were so blown away that we rearranged our driving tour of the Pyrenees to make sure we could return to Can Rigall for another 3 nights at the end of our trip.

The drive up to the house is very long and the road can be a bit scary the first time you do it (especially the drive over the bridge) but for the adventurous its an exciting start to your stay. There are plans for a new bridge to be built so hopefully this won't take too long.

Once you've reached Can Rigall you can be sure of excellent views, wonderful rooms, a friendly warm welcome and food that is consistently at a high standard! Harun the chef is informative about his meals and ingredients, everything is locally sourced (including the wine) and where it is possible to use their own home grown produce then they do. Letty is the perfect hostess and makes sure your glass stays full and that if they is anything you need (and they can get it for you) then its sorted.

We loved staying at Can Rigall, we felt that the hotel was more a home from home and were encouraged to relax and enjoy the whole property. This even meant joining the staff in the kitchen for drinks after dinner as the rest of the guests had all gone to bed quite early (they'd obviously tired themselves out after a hard days hiking).

There are plenty of walks of various lengths, archery, mountain biking or simply just relaxing. It is so peaceful and tranquil, you can't help but relax. Everyone we met while staying here all said that they would return and how much they loved it.

We will definitely be returning, and being as it is only about an hours drive from Perpignan airport then it is perfect for a quick getaway. We said that we would travel there just for the food alone...I don't think I can quite get across just how good the food was...it was brilliant!

I've included photos so hopefully you will be able to see for yourself just how lovely Can Rigall is.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double and in a suite, both rooms were excellent and enjoy wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have just come back home from a most amazing weekend at Can Rigall. It's not every day we treat ourselves to a bit of luxury when getting out to hike and enjoy the nature, but our friends recommendations and the promise of amazing views made us choose this unique place for our anniversary. We were very happy to be allowed to take our dog with us too!
It was everything it promised to be. We had a beautiful room with amazing views. In 48 hours we got to see a picture perfect sunrise, gaze at stars, wake up to a real mountain fog slowly sliding away... It was just a little bit too cold to take a dip in the pool but I am sure we will go back to make up for it in the summer season.
Can Rigall is located so peacefully and beautifully that we could easily understand people who stay there all day relaxing by the open fire and play games over a bottle of red. For us it was also a great base to do a couple of fantastic hikes. The team at Can Rigall had plenty of advise and maps for us. Inspired by the autumn mountain views and tired after a nearly 10 hour walk, we were first greeted with applauds and a cold beer and then enjoyed a great home made dinner and local wine. The place triggers people to talk and compare stories, it feels so much more personal than any hotel you know and the reason for this are both the location and the exceptional people behind it. The devil sits in the details and he must have spent a lot of time getting Can Rigall to perfection ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile


My wife and I spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at the Can Rigall in August.
Once we had arrived after taking an interesting ascent along a very windy road we were blown away.
The views were spectacular. The hotel set beautifully in the mountains. We couldn't wait to get inside and see what it was like.
Once we collected the key from the very friendly and welcoming staff we were shown to our room.
The room was amazing decorated to a very high standard that blended both a modern and classic style. The view of the pyrenees was breathtaking, waking up to see that in the morning was special.
Once we had settled in and unpacked we went down to the kitchen for dinner. After chatting to the chef (very charming and friendly young man) my wife and I sat outside for dinner.
The host was very knowledgeable with regards to the wine list and recommended a bottle of red that was extremely tasty.
The starter soon arrived. The presentation was immaculate and the flavour to match. This was a tough act to follow but the main did not disappoint either. The lamb was cooked to perfection and the sauce was delicious. The desert was also lovely. Easily one of the best meals I've eaten to date.
The next day we took advantage of the pool which is lovely and again views to die for.
If you are after a relaxing few days living in luxury, eating top quality food then this is the idea place for you. I highly recommend and will 100% be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We thought that the whole experience was a bit expensive (€300 per night for dinner, bed and breakfast in a suite) for the service we received. The restored old farm buildings are fantastic and the location at 800m, with far reaching views of the Pyrenees and few other buildings in sight was really special. We stayed 3 nights in July and surprisingly it was almost empty for 2 of those with only 2 other guests staying. Unfortunately this meant the very charming chef and host took a holiday. We were left in capable hands but did feel we were getting a bit sub-par service. Dinner was not of a high enough quality to charge €40 per head. Despite the price we were not expecting a '5 star' experience, we prefer 'barefoot luxury' but this did not quite live up to that. Overall good, but just not quite excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arles-sur-Tech
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 1 in Arles-sur-Tech
44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mas di Luna
Mas di Luna
#2 of 2 in Arles-sur-Tech
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Pyrenees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Pyrenees

Property: Basecamp Pyrenees
Address: Can Rigall | Bp 24, 66150 Arles-sur-Tech, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Arles-sur-Tech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Arles-sur-Tech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Pyrenees is our restored Catalan mountain farm, into a small charming boutique hotel. Located just opposite the holy peak Canigou - it will simply take your breath away. Access is by private road, its exclusive and charming. Mas Can Rigall is a ecological Basecamp destination, with hybrid eco-technology, with energy supplied by solar panels and biodiesel. We have an outdoor swimming pool, and the majority of the food and wine we serve is organic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing