We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Theva Residency
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Hills Kandy(Heerassagala)
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Change Hotel(Heerassagala)
US$49
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
405
218
60
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
218
60
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelinfinity poolsri lankaamazing viewsthe penthouseoverlooking kandysmall hotelset highbeautiful hotelsuperior roomour honeymoonsmall poolcurryamazing placesurrounding hillsthe hustle and bustlevisit kandy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The place is ok, probably better than other hotels on this trip - a small, but comfortable property if you are staying for a just a few nights. It was just one night for us, and I am not even sure how much the rooms are as it was a part of our package that we got through Miraculous Sri Lanka. I suspect that it depends on the types of rooms as we got a tiny room what seemed like an afterthought, and other rooms upstairs looked much more spacious. But I didn't mind the size of the room as it was tastefully done and clean.

The food was ok - again, just like with many places in Sri Lanka - their version of Western dishes is not what it should be, for example, Eggs Benedict are not exactly that... far from what stuff, but don't ask for anything extra, different etc. as communications seems to be a challenge. It's probably a combination of English language skills and ability to ask/respond to questions in an effective and professional manner.

I am giving this property 3 stars because they position themselves as a 5 star hotel, which it is not - it's a quaint property that still has a lot of learning to do, especially on the customer service front and in the kitchen. But, I would recommend it to my friends - I would say, it's "ok" and the view is nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kukusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

everyone must visit it i stayed at Theva for two nights and everything was perfect and the food was just WOOOOOW many thanks for the chief also the room desigin was sooo nice and the service was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rania k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We took a 2 week drive thru of Sri Lanka and spent one night. Excellent views of Kandy and the surrounding hills. From our room, we were able to see the white Buddha lit up at night. The property has a nice pool area a good restaurant. Very relaxing with an excellent dinner after a day jammed full of driving, seeing the Tooth Relic complex and taking in a Kandyian dance performance. We had a good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobfromRedondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We recently stayed one night at Theva Residence, after a two night's stay prior at another hotel, Amaya Hills (which is a 5-star) in Kandy. The reason we stayed at Theva was because Amaya Hills was fully booked on the 3rd night and there was no more availibility for us, so we had to search for another accomodation, and after much research on the internet, we decided to give Theva Residence a try. Well, well - were we in for a surprise - in a VERY GOOD way!! It is a lovely boutique hotel nestled on top of a valley with 5-star service and hospitality.

We arrived at the hotel after an escalating uphill ride, at first we were a bit uncertain if we entered someone's private residence by mistake because the ambience of Theva was so personal and homey, it literally feels like you are entering the lovely home of a close friend. As soon as we entered the reception area, we were taken away by the GORGEOUS and breath-taking view, it offered a panoramic view of the nearby hills and of Kandy, the view was unbeatable and actually were even better views than what Amaya Hills offered.

We were warmly greeted by Mr. Russell, who showed us to our room and kindly explained all the facilities and amenities offered in our Deluxe Room. It was not huge, but pleasantly sufficient & spacious for two people. The bed was comfy with warm blankets (very important since it does get somewhat chilly during night times in Kandy's hill top). The bathroom was pleasantly spacious too, with a modern concrete look and a good size bathtub that also doubles as a shower. The only downside was that the bathroom was a tad bit dim on the lighting side, and the water tends to be lukewarm and takes a while to heat up (about 2-3 minutes) in the very late evenings (after 11pm) due to the naturally chill temperatures of the hill top.

Our room had a gorgeous view of the surrounding hills and we can even see the white sitting Buddha statue located on the opposite hill top. All the amenities in our Deluxe room was wonderfully modern. The closet was a nice spacious size for two persons. It had a flat screen TV up on the wall with a variety of channels to watch, even more selections than what we got at the 5-star Amaya Hills. The room also comes with a complimentary bowl of fresh oranges - very nice and greatly appreciated!

The afternoon when we checked into Theva, we had to go watch a cricket match which lasted until almost 11pm. Once we got back to our room, we found some issues with our TV and could not watch it properly. So we called the front desk and within 2 minutes a technician arrived at our room and resolved the TV issue within minutes. The security on the premise of the hotel was also great. We felt very safe and secure during our stay at Theva. Calls made to the front desk in the late evenings were promptly answered to which was also very impressive, because even at international hotel chains, sometimes calls are being ignored or slowly answered to after many minutes. So we really appreciated the attentive and efficient services offered by Theva.

Due to our late return the night before from watching the cricket match, we missed the breakfast time (7-10AM). When we woke up and found we missed breakfast we immediately placed a call to the reception, to our pleasant surprise we were told breakfast is still being served and will wait for us to arrive downstairs at the breakfast place. I have to say...the breakfast served was AMAZING!! It was satisfyingly delicious with a very nice presentation, even better than the breakfasts we had at Amaya Hills. We were VERY pleased. For the breakfast menu, we get to choose one option from the "eggs" selection (ie. egg white omelets, regular omelets, scrambled eggs etc), along with pastry, fruit plate, coffee and FRESH juice!! Oh - we were also presented with home-made jams (3 types) which tasted superb. As for the fresh juice, these were greatly appreciated by my travel companion and I, because they were INDEED freshly made. When we had the so-called "fresh juice" at Amaya Hills' breakfast, those tasted like canned juices which was very disappointing since it contradicts Amaya Hills' 5-star rating.

We unfortunately did not have enough time to try out Theva's lunch and dinner menu...since we stayed only one night and had to leave Kandy to catch our flight in Colombo. We did try more of their fresh juice selections and it was YUMMY! These were again freshly made (we can even see the pulps remaining in the glass) and rejunvenated us from inside out!

But we made a promise to ourselves that we will definitely come back to Theva on our next trip to Kandy...and we DEFINITELY and HIGHLY recommend this lovely hotel to anyone planning a trip to Kandy! Theva Residency has got all the 5-star views and hospitality (even above 5 star in my opinion) compacted into one lovely, warm and modern boutique hotel setting.

A special thank you to Mr. Russell, for his constant smiles and the friendly, kind demeanor extended to us. We really felt the warmth, kind & friendly hospitality and EXCELLENT, personalized service during our stay at Theva Residency. In case you do not remember us Mr. Russell, we were the couple who recently stayed at the "Paha" Room! ^__^


A double big thumbs up to Theva Residency and its outstanding staff. We proudly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone planning a trip to Kandy. It is a must stay and I say it with full confidence that it beats any other 5-star hotels in Kandy!! In my personal opinion, it exceeds even Amaya Hills or Earl Regency.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airliadreama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at Theva for one night on a two day trip to Kandy/Pinnawala. We had taken the early train from Colombo to Kandy and it arrived at around 09.45. We picked up a taxi outside Kandy station and went to the hotel. They checked us in early which allowed us to unpack/change etc. The position of the hotel is superb being up above the valley overlooking Kandy - a srene and peaceful location. Good views from the room but there was a lack of surfaces ie no bedside tables/consoles but otherwise well equipped. After settling in we had a light snack /brunch - club sandwich - which was very tasty. We visited the Temple of the Tooth and went to watch Kandyan dancing (including dancing on hot coals) that afternoon. We had a quick drink in the Queens Hotel after visiting the Temple which has an atmosphere of a bygone era but staff were attentive and drinks cheap. We dined at Theva that evening - the staff were attentive and the food was excellent - a la carte menu with plenty to choose from. Reasonable choice of wines too. Beds were comfortable and we had a very good breakfast on the terrace the next day. I would give the hotel an overall rating of 4.5 if I could main drawback for us was lack of bedroom surfaces. Russell and team do a great job. Next day we went to Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage with visits to a Tea Factory and Spice/Herbal garden on the way. Back to Kandy for a quick bite at Queens Hotel and then the 15.00 train back to Colombo. Total cost was approx £180 including room breakfast lunch dinner (three courses inc. wine)

Room Tip: Entrance to temple LKR 200 each/ Kandyan Dancing LKR2000 each/Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage LKR2000 each. Allow 1.5 hours each way by car to/from Pinnawala more if you wish to stop off
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews