We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaya Hills Kandy
Nearby Hotels
The Change Hotel(Heerassagala)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKYLOFT-KANDY by YATHRA(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,005)
Filter reviews
2,005 results
Traveller rating
644
822
373
99
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
822
373
99
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssquash courtsri lankaherbal teajunior suitegreat viewtable tennisswimming poola la carte menuamazing locationbeautiful hotelmini barmountain viewrestaurant staffour honeymoonreception areasurrounding hillswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
982 - 987 of 2,005 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The views are spectacular and you could spend hours lounging in the swimming pool staring out at the landscape. Our room was absolute heaven, overlooking a little pond with a little terrace to relax on. Food and service was excellent apart from the very inept receptionist (Tamara) who was unable to organise adequate transport on two occasions and seemed not to care how much she inconvenienced us. We also wouldn't recommend using their spa as the therapists (Shamila) are not very good and completely ignored the treatment I booked, sat on the massage table whilst I uncomfortably got dressed and then requested I write a review in their book! On the whole though, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D3cadence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in a delux double room. The only issue was that two single beds pushed together was not ideal for us but not a deal breaker. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. Two of the most important features we look at when critiquing accommodation. The food choice was excellent but I found the buffet was expensive compared to just ordering from the menue. The view over the miuntains is good but expect the low lying smoke from burning ti be seen mist if the time. This doesn't detract from the over all view. Staff are very friendly.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HasoClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear HasoClan,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there in mid march. Our reservation was for Deluxe but we got a free upgrade to junior suite. Amaya hills has one of thd best breathtaking views from the lobby and restaurant. Specially during sunset its amazing. Loved the interior inspired by kandyan era. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was OK and the variety was good. Pool is located with beautiful view from hills. Room was beautifully designed and we got a free fruit basket and chocolates. Overall our stay was very peaceful and wont hesitate to go there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Thilanka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Thilanka A,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Your feedback is so important to us. I have shared all your points with the management. I am happy to connect you with our hotel manager to discuss further. Please email us if you'd like to pursue the conversation.

Based on the positive notes of your stay, I do hope you give us a another chance the next time you visit Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

we have a lovely time stay at the hotel and have sri lankan food overthere aswell. it was wonderful. and nice swimming pool too. all the staff in that hotel are professtional. I would like to say thank you for all of the hotel doing for us on our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear nancy p,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Hotel Amaya Hills is located atop the scenic hills of the greater Kandy area. The curvilinear track that leads you atop this hill station sets the mood for your relaxing stay here that is sure to wind away your stress. The surroundings of the hotel are rich with a variety of old trees and flowering plants. There is plenty of shade for you to stroll and feel at home in this palatial rest.

The staff are friendly and warm. The management staff on the property could be of better caliber to effectively connect with the discerning guests that frequent this hotel. This property is a reincarnation of another hotel as evident in the remnants of the tacky edges of its design.

The beautiful gardens and laid back atmosphere here are popular among tourists from the Middle East that feel comfortable enjoying its ambience and safety with their families. Upali, one of the lead gardeners here seems to have the best people's skills as he seems to connect so well with the guests that stroll in the gardens surrounding this hotel. His integrity and credibility went a long way in our guests appreciating the quality time he lent us.

The food was good and the cynosure of the dining hall was the traditional group that played mesmerizing tunes from the golden era of Indian and Sri Lankan music! This is certainly one of the key reasons we will be frequenting this hotel. You might be interested to know these gentlemen are accomplished music teachers from the area! This is certainly one of the best of bounties that the hospitality industry has offered local communities and we feel good about it.

If the price is right, please spend a couple of nights at this hotel that is truly blessed with a gift of nature all around it.

Room Tip: If you are assigned a room close to the banquet hall I would check with the administration if there is an event scheduled during your stay. Occasionally they have corporate events that could get loud with locals and music.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vonfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Vonfidel,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews