We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaya Hills Kandy
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Change Hotel(Heerassagala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,973)
Filter reviews
1,973 results
Traveller rating
631
809
368
98
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
809
368
98
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssquash courtsri lankaherbal teajunior suitegreat viewtable tennisswimming poola la carte menuamazing locationbeautiful hotelmini barmountain viewrestaurant staffour honeymoonreception areasurrounding hillswelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
945 - 950 of 1,973 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Sri Lankan new year period. Although it's a good 20-25 minute drive from the centre of Kandy, it's definitely worth it for the views! There are about 100 rooms, but you don't get the vibe like it is a big generic hotel.

The hotel had an included buffet breakfast that was really extensive and caters for people who are wanting to experience sri lankan food, as well as providing the traditional Western breakfast cuisine (bacon, pancakes etc). For lunch and dinner there was the option of a buffet or an a la carte menu.

The buffet prices varied from day to day but were generally $20-$25USD. We chose the a la carte menu a couple of times as we weren't that hungry, but in hindsight we probably should have just chosen the buffet menu every time, as the a la carte food took a really long time and was pretty awful! Do not get the vegetable wrap under any circumstances- it was a couple of steamed pieces of carrot wrapped in a tortilla- you have been warned!

We used the spa services which were nice, but you can get the same quality in Kandy town and for almost half the price.

All in all we had a good stay and I would recommend staying here as long as you realise that if you want views, you need to be away from the city so don't expect to be able to walk around locally for lunch and/or dinner options.

Room Tip: Request rooms that are away from the pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Rangatraveler,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel have excellent view as well as good facility

Hotel have good open buffet

Their staff not familiar that much

Good SPA but their staff not have that much of experience in massage


Good swimming pool

The total environment in general accepted

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Oufiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Oufiss,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We did not stay in this hotel, but drove up to the resort to enjoy a day at the pool, have a meal & a Ayurvedic spa treatment.

The drive up was spectacular. Winding roads leading up to a true paradise oasis. Stunning views, excellent pool, amazing architecture complimenting the hillside, even letting the natural rock flow over into the pool deck etc.

The food was surprisingly cheap. We expected to pay much more at such a high end resort. It was delicious too.

The spa treatment was simply DIVINE. I felt so pampered & well looked after. Thumbs UP.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamFrangipani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear IamFrangipani2,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent 2 nights in a deluxe room, and had a great time there!

The room is perfect for a 4star, not big, but for sleep (u are in Kandy to see the surroundings, and not to stay in the hotelroom) is perfect. The balcony is quite small to sit there and look at the city, and defenately misses a table (only 2 chairs).

The food is typical, no surprises, staff is nice and prices are acceptable, but we didnt try the pool (no time for it).

Alltogether it was just as we excepted, a typical 4star with some little problems, but alltogether a good choice on your stay in Kandy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tojgli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Tojgli,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for my partners birthday. For the price we paid we did not expect it to be waited on as much as we were, which we found a tiny bit uncomfortable as we are not used to this.
Rooms are lovely and are very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are clean but a little stained. Hot water at all times.
Swimming pool was lovely and clean.
The hotel had stunning views. It is little way out of Kandy and you cannot walk to the town.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMahendra, Front Office Executive at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Vicky K,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Amaya Hills!

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write to us. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.

Kind Regards,

Management Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews