We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced hotel and overrated restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lillesand Hotel Norge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lillesand
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Overpriced hotel and overrated restaurant”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

For the price they were asking I had expected better. It was a nice enough hotel in a tiny town on the south coast (sørlandet) of Norway but it was more pricy than our hotel in towns like Bergen and Stavanger without being better. There were no phone in the room but a cord gave away that there had been one. There were no beer in the minibar but fortunately Kiwi was open and had some local beer which was very nice.
I missed some AC as it was bot, but with all windows open is was

RESTAURANT
The menu at the website was not the one they were using. Nor was “Ukens meny” (menu of the week) the one they were serving. Furthermore the wine menu had also changed. If you have a website advertising your venue I think it should promote what you actually sell. Also I find it strange that they had “simplified the menu for the summer to make it easier for the cooks”.
Luckily they managed to makes us one lobster soup and one fish soup. The latter was a disappointment as it was rather thin and bland. Fortunately they had beef on the menu but I was rather surprised to find out a 200g beef rib steak (indrefilet) was two slices from a steak rather than one piece. That meant they were only seared around the edges rather than on both sides and that impaired the taste. There were no choice of potatoes – they were cocked, the sauce was thin and tasteless.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SawadeeOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    26
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
22
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I attended a friend's wedding where the wedding party took up the entire hotel. From before arrival to the time we left, everything from Hotel Norge Lillesand was outstanding. The world class staff were friendly, helpful and more than willing to think outside the box for guests from all corners of the world. The food was spectacular and I do believe their Hot Chocolate is not to be beaten. The rooms are lovely and - most importantly - they could squeeze in all the guests! Catering and service for the Wedding was extremely personable and made us all feel like we were very welcome in a kind of second home.
If you want a place that is seven star, stuffed shirt, high maintenance, impersonable Ritz treatment, this is probably not the place for you.
The town of Lillesand is well worth a visit too. Like me you will probably come away wishing you had a summer house there.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have their own ensuite, but they are well aired. If you are coming in the Nordic summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

I recently got married in Norway as my husband comes from there. His family home is near Lillesand, so we made plans to lodge our guests at the hotel as well as host our reception there. As we made our plans we Skyped with the owners Beata & her chef husband Wolfgang. They patiently helped us iron out our plans for the reception, as well as the logistics of accommodating our guests. This was a combined effort as it was an International / Norwegian event. People came from Australia, different parts of the US. South Africa, the UK. As well as different parts of Norway. Everyone commented on our wonderful the hotel was. The young staff were without fault. Every expectation was met, every detail attended too. This charming hotel deserves not just this recommendation, it deserves a huge round of applause. I'm sure all our guests would jump at the chance to return for another round of drinks & dinner at the wonderful Hotel Norge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Was through staying in Kristiansand with some friends and they took us on a trip to Lillesand. Whilst we were there we popped into this little hotel for some cake and a break. Lovely hotel and the cake was so so good. Staff were very helpful and the toilets were immaculate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleypeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Hotel is an old hotel with a long history. With that in mind - rooms are small.
The girls working at the hotel are all "can do" people and no request is too small or difficult. They were always making sure our stay was as positive as possible.
Dinner in their restaurant was a positive experience. Very good indeed. they do not have a lot of tables, so for breakfast you might have to wait. They also offer to set up a table in the old lounge next to the reception - the staff was always positive and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 September 2003

This hotel is situated near the waterfront a charming white painted traditional wooden building. The owners have lovingly restored it to traditional 19th century style , but with modern amenities . The food is excellent with seafood and fish as fresh as it is possible to get . My only gripe was that breakfast was bland and boring .

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lillesand
13.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Fevik
Strand Hotel Fevik
#1 of 4 in Grimstad
192 reviews
10.2 mi away
Scandic Grimstad
Scandic Grimstad
#2 of 4 in Grimstad
180 reviews
15.2 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Scandic Sorlandet
Scandic Sorlandet
#10 of 19 in Kristiansand
295 reviews
20.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 5 in Arendal
338 reviews
15.8 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lillesand Hotel Norge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lillesand Hotel Norge

Property: Lillesand Hotel Norge
Address: Strandgata 3, Lillesand 4790, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Lillesand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lillesand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lillesand Hotel Norge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lillesand Hotel Norge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing