We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying at Monal”
Review of Monal Tourist Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uttarkashi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monal Tourist Home
Ranked #1 of 43 Uttarkashi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2012

What is this life if, full of care,We have no time to stand and stare?“ - Being a Mumbaite,I had forgotten to appreciate the beauty of the nature around us.. Had forgotten to stop for a minute in this fast paced life to look appreciate what mother earth has gifted us..

This trip transported us away from the chaos of the city life to a place that seems to be at peace with itself. Monal tourist home will not give you luxuries that a star hotel provides, but what it gives you a sense of calm & feeling that you are home.The rooms are they are definately clean & spacious

This place is run by a enthusiastic gentleman who is so much in love with the mountains & devoted to Uttarkashi. The food is simple yet satisfying..what you will love is the gorgeous view of the mountain from the dining room. The freshness in the air, the beautiful untouched beauty around you & the gurgling sound of the river will lift your spirits.

Uttarkashi is a must visit place & Monal tourist home is a must stay hotel.

Deepandar – You were a wonderful host to us. Looking forward to visiting you again!..

-Deepa

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepa_Naik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to monal for 4 days . Wonderful place to stay! The owner is an Amazing host . Monal has a beautiful glass dining room with a nice view. Very fresh and tasty food served!
All information about Uttarkashi available here .
good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LalitBhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My warm welcome started with the initial emails exchanged with Deepie and continued throughout my stay in beautiful Uttarkashi. As promised, I was joyfully greeted near the taxi/bus stands downtown and driven up to the lovely guesthouse. Right away, I felt safe, comfortable and truly right at home, which as a solo female traveler is quite important. I was definitely impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms (especially the bathrooms!), as well as the amazing meals cooked right at the guesthouse (Vinnod is fantastic!). My trek up to the Nagani Temple with Deepie was certainly a highlight of my Indian journey, as was the private Indian cooking class he arranged with his good friend Pallavi Duffy (both HIGHLY recommended!). What began as a 3-day adventure turned into 11 -- I really did not want to leave the area. I am already looking forward to a return trip to India and specifically Uttarkashi for more treks, delicious meals, and insightful conversations in the glorious mid-Himalayas. Thank you Monal and Uttarkashi for hosting and showing me the heart of India!

(By the way, spend the extra money for a shared or private jeep from Rishikesh -- not the bus -- and make sure you sit in the front, believe me it's worth every cent!)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Deepender takes excellent care of all his guests - inclusive, warm and kind. I would highly reco this hotel if you are anywhere near the area. Amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I travelled as a solo female and felt so safe protected and respected by Deepender (a fine intelligent honest and inspiring gentlman)and his staff, so much that I stayed for about 10 days in this fine place September 2011. He is about developing a unique tourist haven in the area he loves and is native to. The walks he has designed are fantastic, i highly recommend to spend time in this beautiful area of the himalaya, which is not so developed for western tourism, like other hot spots in india that have the western hangers on and restaurants and touristy gimmicks. The food is more expensive then some or even the market place but very fine quality. Perhaps fruit/yoghurt could be on the menu for breakfast or bring your own. Deepender continues to create his dream of bringing travelers to make friends with the almighty Himalaya and its magic, by his haven and the divine walks he has designed, that are unique and not dominated by tourists. The space he has created (though a 3km trek into town) is like an oasis of peace and beauty and good to walk back /forth into town, go the river route through one of the temple paths! I will be back there oneday to hang and absorb peace and wisdom again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank philippa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Received Welcome with such a warmth that we forgot our tiredness of 13 hours travel from Delhi to Uttarkashi. It was our first visit to GoMukh and owner of the tourist home gave us very good advises, which proved beneficial for us. There is a small library with a good collection of books. Tourist home is surrounded by beautiful flora and fauna. Food seems bit expensive, but it is home food so you won't mind paying lil extra. Loved the place. Service is also great. No TV/Telephone in the room, gives you complete peace of mind. Will visit again !!! Thanks Deependar for a great hug and hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texan_2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

A little family run hotel. The owner is a delightful person who tries to provide the best that is available for his guests. Very clean and neat place with helpful and efficient staff. The owner is a trekker and leads gay hikes and treks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uttarkashi hotels
0.0 mi away
Prakriti The Retreat
Prakriti The Retreat
#1 of 7 in Uttarkashi
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shikhar Nature Resort
Shikhar Nature Resort
#5 of 7 in Uttarkashi
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanti Kunjh
Shanti Kunjh
#3 of 7 in Uttarkashi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shivparivar Resort
Shivparivar Resort
#4 of 7 in Uttarkashi
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel KNB Heritage
Hotel KNB Heritage
#4 of 43 in Uttarkashi
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
5 Elements Hotel
5 Elements Hotel
#14 of 43 in Uttarkashi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monal Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monal Tourist Home

Address: Kot Bungalow Road, Uttarkashi 249171, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Uttarkashi District > Uttarkashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Uttarkashi
Price Range: £14 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing