We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Place For A Perfect Family Christmas”
Barnfield Holiday Cottage, Exmoor, North Devon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barnfield Holiday Cottage, Exmoor, North Devon
The Lounge with inglenook fireplace - Barnfield Holiday Cottage North Devon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Barnfield Holiday Cottage, Exmoor, North Devon
The Lounge with inglenook fireplace - Barnfield Holiday Cottage North Devon
Farmhouse kitchen-diner at Barnfield Holiday Cottage, Bratton Fleming, North Devon
The Dining Room at Barnfield Cottage seats 8-10 guests.
Master bedroom with King-size bed and en-suite bathroom, Barnfeld Holiday Cottage, North Devon
The Second Double Bedroom at Barnfield Cottage, North Devon
Barnfield's Ground Floor Bedroom seen from the BBQ Terrace can be used as a double or twin room.
Games Room sofas - Chill out!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bratton Fleming, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RachaelUK...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place For A Perfect Family Christmas”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

From the moment we walked through the cottage door it felt homely, beautiful Christmas hamper waiting in the kitchen, home made mince pies, shortbread biscuits, just 2 of the delights. Large comfortable lounge, the fireplace was all decorated lovely and the xmas tree with its lights flickering was a real touch. Fire place was well stocked, kindling, logs, firelighters, we generally only used the fire early evening as when the heating came on it got really rather warm. All the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, The beds are all very comfortable, and really dark at night,(we are used to street lights) so sleeping in a little later than usual was not a problem, the bath and showers had plenty of hot powerful water, no dripping out of the shower head here. The kitchen became the hub of the house, with its large farmhouse kitchen table and AGA, having never cooked with an AGA before I was a little worried about spoiling the Christmas dinner, no need to worry, it was easy to use, and everyone enjoyed cooking on it, just one point, the pans are really heavy, once filled with potatoes etc, im afraid I had to get someone stronger than myself to drain them off, but maybe you need to use those pans on an AGA !.
The games room at the far end of the house was lovely, full of games and instruments, all of a sudden we all wanted to play the piano and guitar!, it was a little colder down that end of the house, but lovely to sit and read wrapped in a blanket. We all had a truly wonderful Christmas at Barnfield Cottage, even Father Christmas got the correct address for our granddaughters presents phew..
Thank you Rick for everything, and great communication .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We rented the cottage for a week before Christmas, and it was absolutely perfect. There were 8 of us in total, bu we always felt like there was enough room, and plenty to do in the house even in the rubbish weather.

We especially loved the kitchen, where we spent most evenings playing cards, and the incredible showers (seriously some of the best showers I've ever had!)

We did have one slight issue with the house while we were there, but it wasn't something the landlord could have prevented and he fixed it within hours which was much appreciated

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Thanks for your kind and complimentary words Chloe - you've made our day. I hope you kept the pack of cards they were meant as a gift along with everything else in your welcome pack. I also hopeBarnfield will enjoy the pleasure of your company at Barnfield again - you will be very welcome. Wishing you and your family a Happy New Year.
Rick Bond
Barnfield Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside56...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“charming, cozy, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of friends traveling through southwestern England and this cottage was our last stop in North Devon for 3 days. It was not long enough. We loved the cozy kitchen and the fireplace lounge. The old stone interior walls and beams added so much charm to the cottage. The bedrooms were comfortable and nicely decorated. Having a downstairs bedroom and bathroom worked well for any with mobility issues.

Our host Richard was accommodating and available for our questions before and after booking. The welcome basket was a very nice touch. We wish we could have stayed longer to just relax and enjoy the house and surrounding area. We especially liked the Black Venus Inn for dinner. Watersmeet, Lynton and the Tarr Steps were our favorite destinations. Driving through the moor on the way south through Exmoor National Park was beautiful and we saw so many wild ponies and of course sheep. Barnfield Cottage is perfect for a North Devon holiday.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19521947
Warwickshire
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage with every guest requirement taken care of.”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family of eleven spent a week at Barnfield cottage to celebrate a 70th birthday.
We all had a wonderful time with plenty of room for everyone and every need taken care of including a beautiful cake awaiting our arrival! We all felt at home immediately and were made to feel really welcome.
We had many board game nights (games were provided for us) and plenty of fun and laughter.
Every room was clean and welcoming and so thoughtfully equipped.
Many many thanks to Rick and wife for the care that was taken for us.
Communication during the whole process of booking and leaving was faultless.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you Heather for your kind comments. We take great pleasure at giving people a memorable holiday here in North Devon. With regard to the board games - old-fashioned they may be - but they always appear to be a hit with family members of all ages - all the more so because the get 70-year old birthday girls sharing the laughter with younger generations. Thanks for coming to stay at Barnfield. I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back. We'll bake an even grander cake for you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandpajo...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage, good location, comfortable, clean and very well equipped.”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Every year I book a cottage for a week with my grandchildren in as varied locations as possible.
Finding a cottage for 6 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs is a challenge. We struck gold with this charming cottage which is full of character and felt warm and comfortable as soon as we stepped in the door. It suited us very well, with lots of space, good location, beaches and many local attractions only a short drive away. We had all that we needed for a relaxing holiday. We all made good use of the comfortable games room in the evenings after days on the beach. Best cottage we have ever been to and top of our list for a return visit. Recommend you visit the "Big Sheep" for a fun day out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing