We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muddiford Inn

Muddiford Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Muddiford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a country pub serving traditional pub meals all home made with locally sourced produce alongside a great selection of local ales and a varied wine list. We are family and dog friendly with a large garden to be enjoyed by all.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently had a meal here with some family and friends to celebrate our recent marriage which was a small wedding ceremony. My mother and father in-law live just up the road and so they kindly arranged for our celebration to be held here. I don't live locally but had been in the Muddiford Inn a few times previously, when visiting my husband's family, but never to eat dinner though I had always wanted to. So finally I got to taste their menu and I was not disappointed. Fantastic, tasty and beautifully presented food. Every one in the party enjoyed their 3-course meal. Portions are huge too. The staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful. There is a large garden with lots for little ones to play with and the Inn has a lovely character. Hopefully be back there to eat soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sarah C
It was an absolute pleasure to read your complimentary review of The Muddiford Inn, for which we thank you. Also, for taking the time and trouble to post to Trip Advisor. We really appreciate customer feedback which is an essential part of progress.
We offer our sincere congratulations for your recent marriage and wish you both many very happy, healthy years together.
It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family and friends enjoyed their meals and it was an absolute pleasure to serve you all.
We trust your journey back home was safe and peaceful, and look forward to welcoming you again when you next decide to visit the area.
Kindest regards
THE MUDDIFORD INN
Pearl J Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    91
    23
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One place you shouldn't miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ashamed to say that as a local we hadn't been to the Muddiford for some time and now kick ourselves for not going more often. Great service, we were pleased to see the same people running it, and wonderful choice of food. It makes a lovely change to go somewhere and have home cooked food, not what the local freezer wholesales supply. Massive portions, and lovely flavours so make sure you're hungry. Beautifully presented on lovely china with lovely white table linen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Rob G
We are delighted to read your complimentary review of The Muddiford Inn, for which we thank you, and so pleased that you enjoyed your meals, presentation and service.
We appreciate you for taking the time and trouble to post on Trip Advisor. We have recently been awarded another Certificate of Excellence 2014, of which we are proud. We always continue to keep our high standards and use fresh, local produce and creating regular new Menus
We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in the area.
Kindest regards
THE MUDDIFORD INN
Pearl J Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in stowford farm and decided to go out for a drive and find a quiet pub.
we drove around and ended up on Muddiford and saw the Muddiford Inn.
Loveley on the outside and just as oldie worldy on the inside.
We had our dog with us and find it difficult some times to find anywhere to take dogs but i have to say what a welcome.
The landlord showed us to a table and i ordered our drinks and the landlord stood having a chat and the atmosphere was very friendly, our dog even made a friend with a golden retriever as we chatted to its owners.
We didnt eat but the food coming out looked lovely espcially the Eton mess desert my wifes eyes lit up as the landlady walked past with the said dessert on it.
So lovely pub, great welcome and atmosphere its certainly one we will be going back to again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Paul m
Thank you for your complimentary review of the hospitality and welcome you experienced at The Muddiford Inn. We are pleased you both felt comfortable and relaxed, and that your dogs were welcomed too.
We are a family run business and we get great pleasure in seeing customers enjoy themselves in the individual attention we give to each and every one.
We trust your journey back to Bristol was comfortable and safe and we look forward to your next visit when you are in the area
Kind regards
THE MUDDIFORD INN
Pearl J Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veysonnaz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A terrible attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

You should be so ashamed for not helping my daughter who got a flat tyre outside your pub, we have eaten at your pub for many years and to charge her her a pound to use the phone in an emergency is an an absolute outrage and they were so surly with it....never again will we or any of our friends use your pub again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Swissie _12
We are very upset to read your comments regarding a flat tyre resulting in a young lady, we presume your daughter, parking her car in the Car Park of The Muddiford Inn. When she came over to the Inn she asked staff if there was a Public Call Box near, she was directed to one sited approximately 20 yards along the road. She returned and told us that it was not working and asked to use our telephone, which was given to her. We apologised and said the charge was 50p, she gave a £1 coin to which we said we would give her the change but she replied “No, that was OK” - she did not appear upset. On no occasion were we surly, quite the reverse, we understood her situation and were not at all arrogant nor annoyed.
Unfortunately, we have approximately three to four similar incidences a week where strangers break down, park in our Car Park, sometimes leaving their vehicles for hours, and ask to use our telephone. As you will appreciate the costs mount up which we can ill afford on a continuing basis. No offence was meant and we presumed none taken. We are always willing to give assistance and we apologise if the young lady and her family was upset on this occasion.
Kind regards
THE MUDDIFORD INN
Pearl J Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Staff were friendly, food was excellent with large portions. The garden area is large with toys for children to play with.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrs Manda
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post your review on Trip Advisor. This is truly appreciated and we are pleased your visit to the Muddiford Inn was enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you again when y9ou next decide to visit the area. We trust your journey back to your home was safe and was a pleasure
Kindest regards
THE MUDDIFORD INN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muddiford Inn also viewed

 

Been to Muddiford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing