We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place !”

Broomhill Sculpture Garden
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Muddiford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Special Place !”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A visit with my mother and sister to round off a series of celebrations for mother's 90th birthday.
We held a party at Broomhill at the end of May which was enjoyed by all that attended and finished with cream teas for us (courtesey of the owners of Broomhill).
It is a special place to visit. The grounds are beautiful with many different trees and shrubs. The sculptures are amazing ! We visited in the week when it was very peacefull.A visit to the garden is free when you have a meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BARBIE134833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    64
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great day out at Broomhill”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Second time at Broomhill Sculpture gardens (last time 9 years ago) and it did not fail to deliver. The main gardens contain a wide variety of modern sculpture in a variety of different media. Some, have to be said, are beginning to look a bit tired and the whole place could do with a tidy up. The meadow at the lower car park houses the 2014 exhibition and was really very good but is not sign posted from the main house and there was some confusion as to where it was. This needs to be sorted out. All in all good but could be much better with a bit of imagination. The hotel, however is lovely and there are some great pictures on display.

Review by MaverickTendency

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sculptures in a pleasant setting”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

An interesting sculpture garden with a nice setting, half in a pleasant wooded area with a small lake and stream running through, and half a more formal garden adjacent to the small hotel. A very interesting stroll around, and there is plenty to see to last a couple of hours or so, though I would suggest it is not so easy for those less mobile, and I would not recommend pushchairs. There are steps down into the garden initially from the hotel with further inclines down to the bottom of the woods, and there is quite a stroll uphill from the visitor car park to the hotel initially.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous value for money”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Broomhill where I enjoyed the peaceful grounds, interesting sculptures and a divine high tea (best scones, brownies and carrot cake I've ever eaten) for £11.50, and the staff were all lovely. Thank you Aniet and Rinus for a really enjoyable day in such lovely and inspiring surroundings

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadyRoughDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Many interesting and attractive sculptures in a well maintained garden. We went with our two small children (9 and 10 years) who loved it. The restaurant is also very good, with lots of choice, especially for vegetarian options, and good value. £15.95 for three courses and entrance to the garden is free if you book your meal in advance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broomhill Sculpture Garden also viewed

 
Muddiford, Barnstaple
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Broomhill Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing