We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we wanted”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rye Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Games room
Tennis Court
Playpark
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shirwell, Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
loveBahra...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We really enjoyed our stay in Rye and the facilities available were great. Everything you could want whilst having some privacy with beautiful views and surroundings. Our travelling style is to always try somewhere new but I would definitely make an exception for North Hill and hope to stay again someday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely long weekend staying in Rye Cottage. If you are looking for a quiet get away in beautiful surroundings then this is the place to be. Adrian was very helpful and Rye cottage had all the amenities that we needed. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely but we didn't use the sauna. Ideal if you have a dog for lovely walk or as a romantic get away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJForbes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A perfect week spent in a lovely cottage. North Hill farm is beautiful and surrounded by stunning views, with lots to do on site (swimming, tennis, games room, BBQs). The owners were very obliging and the site is only about 20 minutes from lots of incredible beaches. We, and our dog, loved it and will return as soon as we can! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: It rained on one afternoon of the week. That's about it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tranquil Location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Easy to find with the directions from the owners, Tranquil setting, even though the drive way is long and only wide enough for one vehicle, luckily enough, we only met one car coming down in the whole week.
Great location for the North Devon beaches etc.
Close to Barnstaple for shops etc, local pubs not that great for food, none are walkable, hence you need to drive everywhere.
Cottages really nice, swimming pool really good, with jacuzzi and sauna, only gripe...wish the pool would open earlier than 9am.
Grounds really nice, very quiet, we had a very relaxing break, just what we needed.
The owners are great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: pool opening times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robandphi...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really lovely and enjoyable.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Visited for three nights over valentines day. Had such a lovely time. Stayed in rye cottage. Perfect size room. Well equipped, pretty and has lovely views. Very close to Barnstaple yet feels so remote! Good location for travelling around the north of Devon! Well maintained building and grounds. Has a very simple and rustic feel to it! The log burner is a nice addition to the room. The owners are gracious and friendly! A very cosy and enjoyable few days. It's a shame you have to pay for the spa but it's a small price to pay! Just make sure you have enough £1 coins with you or else you won't be able to use the jacuzzi/sauna!
There's a whole world out there and we don't like to keep returning to the same place, but I think we'd make an exception for north hill!! Thank you for a lovely weekend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca va...
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing