We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Nearby Hotels
La Penesais(Beaumont-en-Veron)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Lion d'Or(Chinon)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diderot(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Le Relais Du Velors(Beaumont-en-Veron)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
55
74
29
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
74
29
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housepeaceful surroundingsthe room was niceloire valleyonly stayed one nightthe riverfrench stylecroissantscyclesamplewineproprietorsaumurannex
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is the perfect place to stay if you're planning a day or two of sightseeing around the Loire Valley. Essential to have a car as it's a bit out of the way, but that's part of its charm. Lovely hotel with period features, helpful staff, calm, peaceful and clean. Our room (#10) was lovely with big old oak beams and little shuttered windows. It's true the amenities are fairly basic, but they are done well and simply. The restaurant is not incredible but it serves decent food, well-cooked and at reasonable prices, plus it's very convenient if you just want to relax and not worry about driving anywhere. Chinon is only a 20 minute drive away if you want something more cosmopolitan, and you have some of the loveliest châteaux in the region just about 20 minutes away too. We would definitely return here again as you really get the experience of staying in a piece of the Loire's history: something a bit special - but at a reasonable price (we booked our room last minute on booking.com and so only paid about 60% of the going rate I believe).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days in March 2013 It had very french style rooms which are superb . A balcony entrance with window shutters , the room was well furnished with a very comfortable bed . The bathroom was very good with both bath and shower.
The Staff could not have been more pleasant Including the Owner. Although Breakfast and evening meal were extra we chose to take both on all 3 night after the first days experience, which was excellant with a different dish of the day every day . The resturant is run by another couple who were very friendly and gave us a good tip for a wine cellar to visit . We were on a wine buying trip so this cellar added to a long list of cellars we already know of in the area. It is a great base to visit cellars in Samur,Chinon, Bougieul Vouvray,Mont Louis, Touraine,and St Nicholas de Bougieul wine regions. only Slight down side is that the resturant is not open on Saturday and Sunday. and we had a fault with the hot water on the last day but were offered the oppurtunity to take a shower in another room.

Room Tip: 19 and 20 are the cheapest rooms but still very good
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We truly went out of our way to stay at this wonderful manor house which we had stayed at the last time we drove through France. Bear in mind we wanted something super special for New Year's Eve.
    Well ! It's hard to describe how beautiful this place is and just how impressive it is as one turns the final corner into the courtyard to behold the period property. This must be one of the most tranquil spots in populated Europe. It's just timeless elegance. 
  Each room is unique and we believe can be viewed in advance online and booked accordingly. For New Years Eve they informed us in advance that the restaurant wasn't open (we could see them undertaking a full clean over the year end in the kitchen), but we indulged in the luxury of a champagne breakfast served in our room in front of the inglenook fireplace. Pure joy! This is the place for a special treat!
  The only niggle was that the man on reception (owner?), left it until an hour before midnight New Year's Eve before ringing our room to clarify our card payment. Surely that could have waited until the morning?!
  On the other hand we must give a special Thank You to Fanny who very kindly posted on to Spain a pillow that we accidentally left behind when we left.
   The peaceful country walks in the vicinity, especially along the river, are absolutely beautiful. This place truly is sublime.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoardmanMijas_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The hotel took some finding but we eventually arrived! Classically French Manoir! Our room on the ground floor was rather dark with limited daylight and very low powered bulbs. Had it been the height of summer I'd have been pleased for the coolness.
I don't sleep well with my feet in the air so the bed was a bit disappointing and the bathroom quite damp, however everything was clean enough.
There was a large bike shed with a wide selection of cycle spares for sale and there is ample parking for motorists.
We all enjoyed an anniversary bottle of bubbly in the garden under the trees before dinner. The dining room itself, one of three, is formal and old fashioned in a French lace-curtain style but when we entered we were surprised to find it full of French people. Several more were turned away while we ate and the reason became apparent because the food and wine were fabulous and the service very satisfactory.
Breakfast was served in the breakfast room just off reception and was good.
In truth I considered giving the hotel only Average marks because I suspect our room (No 2) was just an odd one. The restaurant made up for it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betelorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We did a 5 day bike trip on the Loire a Velo, and this was our last night before finishing in Tours. This was the best hotel of the trip. The proprietaire speaks French, English, Spanish and German. We were able to sit in the small sitting room to the side of the check in area and get a beer before heading out for dinner (it was late season and their restaurant was closed).

The room was fabulous (beutiful (non-working) fireplace, big ole tub, comfortable bed). I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We loved room 1 with the closed over fireplace, and the nice bath!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreaghMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews