We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable, great hospitality!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Maison d'Amis

Une chambre d'hôotes de charme en Touraine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Une chambre d'hôotes de charme en Touraine
Un jardin de roses et un vieux mur en pierres La terrasse privée est nichée au milieu des fleurs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Une chambre d'hôotes de charme en Touraine
Un jardin de roses et un vieux mur en pierres
La terrasse privée est nichée au milieu des fleurs
Le petit-déjeuner est servi sur la terrasse privée aux beaux joiurs
Le salon chaleureux et sa cheminée
Dans le salon, la cuisine américaine entièrement équipée
Une autre vue du salon au rez-de-jardin
La chambre romantique avec son petit salon
Saisissez une légende pour votre photo
Promenade paisible en canoë sur la Vienne
Le délicat château de Coulaine au cœur du vignoble de Chinon au-dessus de votre résidence
Flânerie à vélo sur les rives de Vienne...
ou balade à pied tout près de la maison ?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Beaumont-en-Veron, Chinon, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
CdnDean
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, great hospitality!”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in June 2015

Maison d'Amis is a quiet small house with a main floor and a bedroom upstairs. Marie Claude is a welcoming and very friendly host, making you feel right at home. Her breakfasts are very nice and when warm enough you can enjoy that outside in the private garden. The main floor includes a small kitchen and even laundry equipment. The house is very well kept and supplied - clean, and has everything you need. And you could not ask for a nicer host. Thanks Marie Claude!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice host, clean accomodation
Liked least: Wifi was intermittant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenFrom...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, and a great base for the Loire”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed here with my wife and infant daughter. The accommodation is a self-contained two-storey building within the confines of the owner's property. Downstairs is a kitchen, living room and bathroom; upstairs is the bedroom. There is lots of heating (great in winter), and being on the property is handy as it is locked at night, and there is a reserved car spot a couple of steps away from the gate.

The property is about 5 minutes from Chinon, which was nice. We also used it as a base for the Loire, visiting Chenonceau, Azay-le-Rideau, Ussé, Amboise and Villandry. There is a massive E.Leclerc shop at the back of Chinon, which has EVERYTHING you need.

The property is well equipped with a kitchen (stovetop but no oven) and washing machine. The wifi signal is weak so you need to catch it in the garden, but this is not a problem!

The breakfast is brought in every morning by the owner Marie-Claude who is very helpful and unobtrusive. She was also great at helping us research information during our stay, she was also a very friendly host.

Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for that kind and very precise review. I am glad that you enjoy your stay at La Maison d'Amis. I am really sorry because I didn't know you needed an oven and I forgot to explain to you that the microwave is also an oven.
About the wifi signal, I am trying to fix that this year. I apologies.
It was a real pleasure to receive you, your wife and so lovely and smiling baby daughter. I hope the end of your trip was pleasant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214flyboy
Vernon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We could not have asked for a better place to stay or a better hostess. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights and were sorry to leave our comfortable accommodation. Marie-Claude made us feel welcome and was very helpful when we had questions....she also had some very good suggestions for things to do in the area.

Many thanks !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Chinon and particularly at La Maison d'Amis. I hope your way back home was pleasant. Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101Kathry...
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bijou French, a delight.”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Marie Claude is a lovely lady who looked after us so well in a delightful place. She was attentive to our needs without being intrusive and provided a filling breakfast each day. The location of the property is within easy access for Chinon and other places of interest. An ideal place to stay for the cycling enthusiast with well signed routes along the Vienne and Loire rivers. Good shopping locally in Beaumont and altogether a lovely place for a relaxing holiday. Thank you Marie Claude.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Dear Kathryn, it was really a pleasure for me to greet you at La Maison d'Amis. Thank you for your kind review. Say hello to Nessie for me. I hope we will meet again someday. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_J_Mig...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little cottage to escape to”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent two nights at Marie-Claude's lovely little cottage on our way to the south of France and would have happily stayed for longer. The cottage is right next to her house, with a very pretty garden and is in a quiet and peaceful spot. We travelled with our two children and Marie-Claude was very helpful and ensured that we had all that we needed. Breakfast was excellent - we loved the coffee, the children loved the hot chocolate! The kitchen is well equipped if you want to stay in and cook. Nearby Chinon is a lovely town, great castle, lots of cafes etc. although a car or bicycle is needed to get there. Highly recommended if you are exploring the Loire valley or need a stop-over in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Dear Joanna, thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure for me to receive your nice family. May be some day we will meet again. All the best for all of you.
Kind regards. Marie-Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alis40020...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely warm welcome”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A one bedroom gite in the garden of the owner's home, but cleverly designed so that it feels completely private. This property is about 4 miles from Chinon, very comfortable and equipped with everything you need for a short break. The added bonus is a lovely continental breakfast served to you at the time of your choosing. Marie-Claude is very welcoming and helpful, providing any information you need. There are only a couple of places to eat within walking distance, neither of which we tried so unable to comment on these. There are lots of restaurants, cafes etc in Chinon though, along with a small supermarket where you can stock up on essentials. The town of Chinon is beautiful and well worth visiting, and the property is well placed for sightseeing in the Loire Valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was really a pleasure for me to receive you at La Maison d'Amis. May be some day you will come again ! I hope so ! Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley K
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic cottage in peaceful settings”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely peaceful setting in a small village but close enough to a larger town for all our our needs. Very comfortable and clean cottage with a lovely garden to fully relax at the end of busy days sight seeing.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and pleasant review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at La Maison d'Amis. I hope we will meet again some day. Thanks again.
Marie-Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing