We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place for adults and kids”
other travellers have booked this property
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm The Linhay Twin Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Twin Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Family Bathroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Double Bedroom and En-suite at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Double Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Linhay Single Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
Sand Pit at Lower Hearson Farm
Heated Outdoor Covered Swimming Pool Open Easter to End Of September
Friendly Pigs at Lower Hearson Farm
Sheep Feeding at Lower Hearson Farm
Pig Feeding at Lower Hearson Farm
Dog Walking at Lower Hearson Farm
Pigs at Lower Hearson Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Swimbridge, Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louandstu...
Tunbridge wells
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place for adults and kids”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely stay and graham is a great host. Stella (2 1/2) still talking about her farm and all the animals!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
We are thrilled that you all had a great time. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayak_gir...
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday, friendly and fun farm, and great location”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Linhay is a really comfortable and well-equipped cottage. It has everything you'd expect from a self-catering cottage. The location is excellent, about half an hour to loads of places (even a rainy week in June we weren't bored, and visited country houses, sheep world, beaches, places to walk...).

What really makes this special is Farmer Graeme! Our toddler loved feeding the animals every morning and Graeme's patience and friendly nature really made us feel welcome and part of the farm. The amenities on site are great. We loved the indoor pool and it was great to have outdoor play equipment for our little one.

We will be going back to the farm again as the holiday was so fun and relaxing and there is so much more to see in north Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeding the farm animals
Liked least: Nothing stood out as bad...
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
It was great having you stay with us and we really pleased that you had a wonderful time. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn F
1 review
“Fabulous, From Start to Finish - A must stay vacation for all ages”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked The Finlay at Lower Hearson Farm for a stay in September and on our arrival were warmly welcomed and shown to our accommodation and around the farm and the facilities.

We were delighted with the cottage; the space and furnishings were superb and the amenities (dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave, etc) of the fully equipped kitchen were another huge bonus.

Each morning and afternoon we had the chance to help out with feeding the animals (piglets, pigs, sheep and chickens). Our eldest son, who is three years old, was really engaged by Farmer Graeme, who allowed the children to feed all the animals and never rushed or curtailed any of the children’s’ questions or time, happily talking at any level about farm life.

Our weeks stay was the best family holiday we have had (we shall certainly be returning next year) and when we left we all felt like we were saying goodbye to a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
We are really pleased that you had a wonderful holiday with us. It was a great pleasure spending time with you all and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becsburns
High Wycombe, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better than I possibly imagined staying at a farm would be”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a brilliant week here staying in The Linhay, a fully equipped charming converted stable. My children loved helping to feed the animals in the morning and evening, loved playing around the farm, loved the swimming pool, loved meeting the children of all the other families. I myself loved the baby chicks! Farmer Graham was very kind, nothing was too much trouble and made us feel v welcome. I had always wanted to have a holiday on a farm while the children were still young and this fulfilled all my expectations and more. Would unreservedly recommend this place to anyone with the same holiday dream.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped the kitchen was
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic week in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our second stay at lower hears on farm as we loved it so much the first time, and again we weren't disappointed. Accommodation is clean and to a high standard, and our two young boys loved feeding the animals twice a day with farmer Graeme (who is brilliant with the kids) and had the added bonus of the baby piglets! Wellies are a must! Looking forward to goin back again at some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeding the animals
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
It was great fun having you stay with us again and we are really glad that you had a wonderful time. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OJFUK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lovely week away”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a very nice week at Lower Hearson Farm in the Easter Holidays. The Linhay was ideal for us with our three small children, very comfortable and everything we needed to relax and enjoy ourselves in between our days out and the all important feeding of the animals!

For the kids the highlight of the week was feeding the animals twice each day. We got away with just one broken egg, and they had no problems with feeding the pigs and then heading home to eat Farmer Graham's bacon. Very handily the cottage has a washing machine. Early spring means there is still a fair amount of mud around and we became very well acquainted with clothes washing facilities.

There was a good range of things to do in the area, beaches, small towns and National Trust properties. Barnstaple is a 10-15 minute drive from the farm.

We popped out on a couple of occasions in the evening and found a good range of local pubs to eat in.

Lower Hearson was a lovely place to stay and Graham and his family were very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped, warm and comfortable cottages
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The boys were good fun and certainly got stuck in with the animal feeding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyacinth...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Warm ,comfortable ,well equipped”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had to cancel our original reservation but Mr Pelling was very helpful with our booking
The accomodation in the Linhay was so good,with excellent heating and most comfortable beds and everywhere is spotless
Our dogs thought they died and gone to heaven especially when the farm dog visited us for biscuits. A friend dropping in !
The farm pigs and hens were fascinating and our visiting relatives wanted to move in on a permanent basis
The Pellings have equipped the cottage with everything you could need
Sainsburys delivered efficiently filling the freezer etc
Once getting to the farm is conquered it is easy short drive into Barnstaple and other local attractions.
Remember your NT card for Arlington court and Watersmeet
The cottage has plenty of leaflets for local attractions
There is a games room and seasonal swimming pool (too cold when we visited)
I hope to go back later in the year and know it will be good value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Intermittent wi fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
It was a pleasure having you both stay with us. Tavy enjoyed her visit for afternoon tea very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing