We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but strange!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox and Goose Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Parracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice but strange!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A party of twelve of us (5 couples, 2 singles) ate on a busy Saturday night at this slightly strange pub.
The woodchip and artex on the walls was complimented by a gigantic stag's head and brass plates screwed to a wooden frame. The stuffed fox in a glass case completed the effect.
We had booked our table for 7.30 and if we had not, would probably have not been able to have found a table.
The 7 groups ordered separately, some having starters and mains and others just having starters. All the starters came out within a few minutes of each other as did all the mains although the sides took a little extra time.
The food was good, the Steak and Guinness pie was a pie rather than the usual bowl with a pastry top.
I did not see the wine list but in addition to commercial beers there were three local bitters which provided my liquid refreshment.
Second best of the three pubs we ate at during our stay.
Good food and service in a venue that could do with some tidying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
64
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our visit to The Fox and Goose was a wonderful experience. The room we had was outstanding.From the luxurious comfy bed to the under floor heated bathroom and walk in shower everything was great.We could make our own filter coffee, tea or hot chocolate to have with the freshly made homemade biscuits. What more could you want. We also ate in the pub which again you couldn't fault. Lovely atmospher, friendly staff and gorgeous food.You really must try it for yourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A wonder to behold Top quality food and service second to none. special diatery needs catered for.
Comfort and clenliness top of the list. made to feel welcome just like one of the family.
My wife and i had a very pleasant stay for 2 days on a special occasion and boy did we get treated well.
Steaks real ale and wines cooked and chilled to perfection,
Our many thanks to the hosts and all the staff at the Fox and Goose. Excellent!
We will be back..........

Room Tip: No 1 room double overlooking farmland and animals. and an old Bronze age Castle. very peacefull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

First time at the F&G, parking a slight problem but the neighbours understand. The Fish Stew is almost as goon as any you will get France, the venison stew was amazing and the 6oz Burger was excellent. I had the Venison which was flavoursome and the potatoes that come to the table were probably the best I have eaten in a restaurant.

Full marks for staff they were attentive but not over the top, they were polite but not sickly, they also had a sense of humour which is a great trait.

Room Tip: You have to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stay on the farm who's track is opposite the pub and use it every night during my stay. I made friends with the guy who lives next door so not only do I get great food but good company too. Looking forward to my next trip in two weeks to the best pub in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is the friendliest pub with the best Sunday Lunch we have found. Food is wonderful and excellent value. Great vegetables, fresh and seem home grown, wonderful meat and the puddings are too good to miss. We will be going again many times!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We've now been here twice, and both times the food has been very good. The specials menu has a variety of interesting and different dishes. The patrons are extremely friendly, the beer is good. The pub has an interesting interior, not at all like a chain. Well worth a visit if you are in the area (we haven't stayed here).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parracombe
2.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
1.3 mi away
Moorlands
Moorlands
#2 of 3 in Parracombe
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#1 of 2 in Countisbury
422 reviews
8.3 mi away
Broomhill Art Hotel
Broomhill Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Muddiford
330 reviews
19.9 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunster
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Goose Inn

Property: The Fox and Goose Inn
Address: Just off the A39 between Lynton and Barnstaple, Parracombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Parracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Parracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fox and Goose Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fox and Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Goose Inn Parracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing