We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live upto the hype sadly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox and Goose Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Parracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,160 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,158 helpful votes
“Did not live upto the hype sadly.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Greedily after having a not so successful outing at the nearby old station house my wife and i left our daughters and visited the fox and goose last saturday evening situated in the sleepy village of Parracombe.My wife ordered the burger and i ordered the pie with veg.Her meal arrived on what i can only describe as a wooden chopping board which was different.Service was very good and the staff were very friendly too.My meal was okay,the vegetables were nicely cooked and thats all i can say really.The burger meal was an average offering compared to other meals we had during the week.What i can say is this pub/restaurant was one of the most charismatic i have ever frequented and had a wonderful atmosphere about the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
60
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the moment we stepped through the front door until we left we felt very much at home. Thank you Paul, Nikki, Tim, Gemma and the team for being so friendly, so helpful and for feeding us so well. The little extras you provided in our rooms came as a very pleasant surprise. We hope to see you again in the future when we need spoiling again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandVWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Wow we wish we live closer as the food was amazing. The pizza was big enough to share between two young children with a side of garlic bread. My duck and my husband's burger were beautifully cooked and plenty big enough. But the dessert....my husband still talked about the brioche and butter pudding as one of the best he ever eaten - he was all set to order another portion straight away. The wine by the glass was extremely good and came in small glass. Just go!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ReniMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Visited twice with friends and both times the food was excellent, great choice of fish, meat and vegetarian meals. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would recommend The Fox & Goose if you are in search of a good meal.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We took my cousin to this traditional Devon inn for dinner on his birthday . The food was excellent with many locally supplied ingredients. So good we also had to have pudding each as well ... oh yummy! I have eaten and drunk the local beers and excellent ciders here before, but this was the first time we had stayed. Very clean and comfortable. We would strongly recommend this excellent friendly pub.
Sue, Essex

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangynidr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Met some friends we have not seen for several years. Friendly country pub, lovely atmosphere. Just had sandwiches which were very good. Seemed as if it would be a good place for Bed and Breakfast. Would recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have never written a review as poor as this before. We went there for dinner as it was so highly recommended. The four staff at the bar gossiped all evening and had to be 'begged' for service. The food was poor and although it was not expensive nor was it value for money. I felt as if they were doing me a favour letting me have dinner there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxygoose, Owner at The Fox and Goose Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our pub and all I can say is I'm sorry you found us 'terrible'. I can assure you I will have a word with the staff on their approach to customer service on this occasion, usually they are first class and something we get praised on, on many an occasion, maybe this has lead to complacency, but this time we let you down. As to the food, that is my area and I fully wish you had spoken up at the time, about the staff too, we are a very approachable team and not the type to not confront problems when they arise, we really don't like this kind of public attack, we take it to heart, we're only human and would much rather sort things out at source, this would have saved you a rubbish experience and you might well have left liking us. I would be interested to know what meals you had, so that we could address the dishes and consider areas of improvement.
Once again I extend you my sincere apologies, and we will all try harder.
Kindest regards,
Nikki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parracombe
4.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
39 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hunters Inn
The Hunters Inn
#2 of 2 in Martinhoe
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Moorlands
Moorlands
#2 of 3 in Parracombe
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Goose Inn

Property: The Fox and Goose Inn
Address: Just off the A39 between Lynton and Barnstaple, Parracombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Parracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Parracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fox and Goose Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fox and Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Goose Inn Parracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing