We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, Friendly and excellent breakfasts”
Review of Moorlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moorlands
Ranked #2 of 3 Parracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Moorlands is well signed and is located at the end of its own private driveMy niece got married at the end of June and held her wedding reception about a mile from Moorlands. We took over the whole guest house for two nights. The rooms were clean and well maintained, they'd been recently redecorated. The beds were comfortable. The owners were really friendly and helpful. We stayed on the Friday and Saturday nights eating breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday mornings. On the friday evening I spoke to the owners to get directions to the somewhat lack lustre Hunters Inn - they were extremely helpful and friendly

Breakfast was delicious the full English cooked to order with good quality ingredients. Cereals and fruit juices were laid out buffet style wit toast and tea and coffee prepared to order.

The only negative is that the car park is slightly elevated above the guest house there is a path down to the entrance which is poorly lit and, in the wet, very slippy - there are also no lights down the main drive to Moorlands - if I had been elderly/disabled I would have had some issues with accessibility...perhaps the owners should think about improving disabled access

BUT for me I thoroughly enjoyed my stay - If I'm ever in the area again I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Moorlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

We went down the drive and were immeduiately enchanted by the setting and grounds.

The welcome was friendly and backed up the and booking made whish was dealt with politely and efficiently.

The accommodation was spotless, if a little old fashioned, but this added to the charm.

The food was good quality and served in a pleasant dining room with ajoining comfortable lounge.

There are great walks nearby and the hotel has direct access to the narrow gauge Lynton and Barnstaple Railway, which is a real joy to visit.

The service at Mooralnds could not be faulted and we left vowing to return again - can say no more!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pajabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed at Moorlands last weekend in the Bodley Suite. I was thoroughly satisfied with the accommodation which was very clean, comfortable, quiet and well equipped. Moorlands is well placed for walking and other attractions. The accommodation was very reasonably priced and represents excellent value for money. As we were self-catering we did not have any meals but the option was there. As previous reviewers have said, the owners were friendly and helpful and I felt very welcome. I certainly intend to stay at Moorlands again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Beautiful old country home turned hotel in the middle of Exmoor. Beautiful views over farmland toward coast, which is reachable via paths from hotel. Friendly owners, lovely straightforward breakfast. Lots of privacy. Nice toiletries and tea/coffee in room. Games and books for rainy days. Note that breakfast starts at 8:30 a.m.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oliviapulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The hotel is in a lovely location. Rooms are very comfortable. The host couple were very friendly, went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as they could. We had some problems with airlock in the bathrooms but was solved very swiftly. Food was delicious and very fresh. Overall, a fantastic and relaxing break. Downside, no mobile connection !!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SShaikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

What a find this hotel is. Excellant access direct from the A39 yet far enough from the road that there was no traffic noise. Ample parking. Truly wonderful food. The room we had was delightful. Ian and Christine, who own and run the hotel, were outstanding hosts. They even coped with my dietry requirtements (I am lactose intollerant), which is not easy. We were within easy reach of many local attractions; especially the South West Coast path, the Heddon Valley, the Valley of the Rocks and Lynton/Lynmouth. Even the price of the drinks was very, very reasonable.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank PeterKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parracombe
3.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
972 reviews
15.6 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Heddon's Gate Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martinhoe
199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
413 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorlands

Address: Moorlands Woody Bay, Parracombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Parracombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Parracombe
Price Range: £72 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorlands 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorlands, formerly Woody Bay Station Hotel. Relax and unwind in our comfortable and quiet guesthouse. Set in six-acre gardens and surrounded by Exmoor countryside Moorlands offers 4 star accommodation with licensed dining room, residents lounge with open fire and secluded outdoor swimming pool. All adjacent to the spectacular Lynton and Barnstaple Narrow Guage Railway. The perfect retreat for the railway enthusiast and country lover alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moorlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorlands Parracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing