We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy, but never stuffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Classy, but never stuffy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Much of the discussion of the Palace de Muro centres around whether it's a true "five star" hotel. That depends on how you view it. Compared to what you'd expect from a "week by the pool in Majorca" hotel, it's absolutely top-end. But if "five star" to you means some sort of white-gloved, Michael Winner-approved establishment, then no, it's not. But if you want that sort of thing from your sunshine break, go to Reid's Palace in Madeira or Sandy Lane in Barbados. The Palace de Muro is nothing like that sort of place - it's just a pleasant, modern, spotlessly clean, upmarket hotel.

We can only describe the Palace de Muro as we found it. Let's focus on the things which didn't bother us, but might put you off. For a start, we stayed at Easter, well off-season, with the place considerably less than half-full. Things may be less relaxed in the summer. But in April, we could take our pick of the loungers by the pool, the beach was often deserted, and the gym, spa and restaurants were very quiet indeed. Fabulous if you want to chill out and don't mind rattling around in a building designed for many more residents. Not so much if you like, er, "atmosphere".

Secondly, this is not a major destination for the British. The largest group were Germans, followed by Spaniards. We also noticed Dutch and French visitors, and no more than a handful of Brits. For us, this continental feel makes it more of a holiday, and we especially appreciate not having to overhear English conversations. But the staff are quite happy to converse in English if required.

Finally, the Palace de Muro is a distance from anything exciting. The 5- or 6-mile beachside road from Alcudia to C'an Picafort seems to have low-rise hotels, bars and shops along most of its length, but the Palace de Muro is right in the middle, so it's a good couple of miles' walk into what might be called a town. There are frequent cheap buses, and taxis are easy to find, but again, this might put you off. Not us. We loved the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of the area, and didn't really have any plans to venture out from our hotel all week anyway. It wasn't ever intended to be that type of holiday. There is a decent small supermarket right next door, so bread and other provisions are never far away.

Right, onto the accommodation. There are two types of room, a standard double and a suite. Do find the extra for a suite. Presumably you're booking the hotel independently (we didn't see it pop up in many package deals), so check every booking agent you can find. The rates - even from the agencies provided here on Tripadvisor - varied wildly when we booked. The majority of suites face to the side of the hotel, which is a shame, but there'd be no harm in asking for one of the few facing the sea.

The suite has a large lounge area with TV, a kitchen (with crockery, cooker, fridge and microwave), a bathroom (separate shower and bath) and a double bedroom (with another TV). The origin of most guests is reflected in the TV channels: a couple of dozen in Spanish, as many again in German, plus Sky News and CNN in English. But we didn't come on holiday to watch TV.

Rooms are kept very clean, and serviced daily, with a change of towels offered in the evening. There are separate towels available for poolside and beach. A third (small) bed can be supplied for permanent installation in the lounge. Big fluffy white robes are provided, and these can be used in the hotel and around the pool area.

We opted for breakfast and evening meal at the hotel throughout our week's stay, and weren't bored at all by the same arrangements every day. You may be! Apart from the main buffet restaurant, the hotel has a Japanese and an Italian restaurant, and for full-week guests, a buffet meal can be "swapped" for a meal in each of these. In addition, there's a Majorcan themed night at the buffet, so you'd only need to repeat the standard buffet on four nights if you wanted.

It's a fine buffet though, which won't disappoint. Again, the German clientele get the bulk of the attention, with an extensive array of cold cuts and yoghurts, but who comes to Majorca for Chicken Tikka Masala? Not us, anyway. The freshly-cooked pork and fish, and the fine salad selection, were highlights, along with the desserts and cheese.

So, what is there to do at the hotel? Firstly, there's a nice "health club"-style spa area consisting of an indoor pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Children are allowed in during the morning, which is a good arrangement. The bar areas are very nice indeed. The outdoor pool is clean and a decent size, although it'll only be warm enough to swim in seriously during the summer months. And best of all, the pool area leads straight onto the beach, which is supposed to be one of the nicest on the island, and I can well believe it.

There's in-room wi-fi available at a charge of Eur15/week.

Over the road from the hotel is a nature reserve, which extends for miles and makes for an interesting walk.

Would we recommend the Palace de Muro? Absolutely, provided you have no problem with the quietness and the predominantly non-British clientele (both of which we found plus points). You'll have a very classy, but never stuffy, holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CherryHintonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    259
    77
    31
    11
See reviews for
265
365
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Just visited first week in October, hotel will close for the season on the 25th October and doesn't it show. no effort made by the staff to make you feel welcome, no meet and greet on arrival, no good morning or any other type of greeting in the 4 days we stayed. A terribly designed hotel where all the bedrooms face east or west and the sea is south. Why build a hotel on the seafront and have all the rooms face away from it? It's also just a bit far out of town so is either a long walk or bus or cab to get anywhere. 5 Star it most definitely is not. you have hair and bodywash dispensers in the bathroom a la travelodge. No sound insulation between floors and as these are tiled in marble then its like Chinese water torture when anyone walks above your room in heels. We paid €160 a night, so no bargain. It has a big convention, centre which again confuses the hotels identity as it seems not to know if its audience is tourist or business, so falls short of being either. Give it a miss, you can do better for the money. Having returned I am amazed at the positive reviews and with all due respect can only suggest the reviewers have never stayed in a real 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SurreyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

An hotel worthy of its 5 stars.

Pros
We were upgraded to a suite free of charge just by asking
Air conditioning worked very well in the room
Staff were fantastic - always smiling and helpful particularly the restuarant staff
Food was excellent - good variety and vegetables not over cooked
Room (suite) enormous and the shower cubicle had water spraying from every direction
Location - walk straight out onto the best beach in Majorca with very clear sea water where you can wade out a long way and sea still be at waist level
Entertainment - only saw one act but was reasonable
Pool Bar served good food and with prompt service

Cons
Some areas of the hotel looking tired and need some refurbishment but did not detract from the overall appearance
Sun beds were too few and also some in need of repair
Swimming pool not suitable for youngsters who are unable to swim (sea is better anyway) although there is small pool for toddlers
On final day we had a thunderstorm lasting 2 -3 hours with torrential rain and certain parts of the hotel (reception area) leaked and were flooded but were soon cleared up by the efficient staff

We had an excellent holiday at this hotel - staff service with a smile was appreciated. All spoke English but they apprecfiated it if you made an effort to say the odd word or phrase in Spanish. The location on a wonderful beach added to the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Just got back from a wonderful stay at this hotel. It was not 5 star as beach sun loungers were privately owned and cost an extra 8 euro per day (for 2) plus hotel was looking a little tired in places with paint peeling and bathrooms getting a little tatty. Hotel is on a beautiful beach with golden sand and clear shallow sea. You can walk out for such a long time and still be only waist height which is perfect for children! They have good facilities for kids with a playground, mini disco and mini club plus a small pool. For adults every night there is different entertaining from fire eaters to tropical dancers and the buffet food is excellent - we were spoilt for choice! (I normally hate buffets but found this one to be very tasty - different and fresh every day - we truly recommend going half board) We travelled from LHR, a quick 2 hour flight direct to Palma with a 45 minute transfer to hotel in a taxi at 60 euro). Its a quiet beach with not too much else around but you can use a local taxi or fun ground train to get to Alcudia (very touristy and busy) which takes 5-10 minutes. Perfect choice if you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlerDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

I had obviously read the reviews for this hotel before I went so I wasn't sure which side of the review fence I would sit on. This was the first time in a very long time we had googled a five star hotel, but as we only wanted five days away we knew making our own arrangements would be quicker. Ehen you read this review you should know that we normally holiday with seasons in style and stay in the leading small hotels of the world.

The hotel itself is spread over three buildings and the buildings are pretty impressive and pretty big. The main hotel houses the restaurants and family suites and the two other buildings the twin / double bedrooms.

Unfortunately the pool area is very small compared to the size of the buildings. That said as the hotel is on the beach a lot of people opted to spend the day on the beach so there was no problem securing a bed by the pool. The pool area is surrounded by a lot of wood and boy is it hot on the feet - be warned - especially those with kids.

We went half board for five days and the breakfast and dinner was plentiful and good quality. I could honestly say the variety and quality was excellent even 15 minutes before breakfast ended. I did however have to send my lunch back twice as it was under cooked. Be warned also that 500 ml of water was................wait for it..............three euro sixty!! I suggest you get acquainted with the local spar shop next door for your water etc. Its much much cheaper and does a roaring trade.

We were there just before the school holidays so whlst there were kids there they tended to be the younger ones. If you dine late and want to eat outside you may have to wait for a table (in the buffet restaurant).

There was entertainment everynight and whilst the singing quality was varied it was nice to be entertained.

I wouldn't want to spend two weeks in the holidays here BUT I feel sure families would love it here.

If you need to be transported to and from the hotel they will organise a mini bus for you - 75 euro each way.

So why not five star, after all it has a spa, business centre, hair dresser......... We arrived and no one was there to greet us at the door. No one was there to take our luggage to our room. There was no turn down service, the maid leaves the bed cover off your bed for the duration of your stay. You had to collect your towels from the spa or reception each day. The safe cost twelve euro. The service whilst efficient, was not very personal. That said we would go back for another five days, given its nice and hot there and the flight is only two hours from Gatwick.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fornalutx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Food- Very Good
Service- Very Good
Room- Good
Beach- Excellent

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meridia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

Impressive hotel, definitely a step up from 4 star hotels we have stayed in in Mallorca.
Staff friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and cleaned every day, fantastic buffet for breakfast and evening meal, beautifully decorated lounges/bar etc.
Pool area nicely designed but not enormous. Quite quiet when we went - would struggle for sunbeds if busy. Superb location right on the beach which was quiet. Mainly German guests but some Spanish and 1 or 2 English families. If you stay longer than a week on half board basis you can have a meal in one of the hotel's separate restaurants (Japanese or Italian) as part of your meal package. We chose the Italian which was very up market and served fantastic food. Drinks were expensive as you might expect in a 5 star hotel. Wine about 16-20 euros and 2 euros for a bottle of water. Snack bar by the pool was VERY expensive - 4 euros for an ice cream! We used the Spar shop just next door for drinks and snacks. Short walk to the shops/bars/restaurants in Muro - small resort, being developed. If you want somewhere busier take the bus (IB 21) to Alcudia (15 mins) = Blackpool with sunshine!. Even better, stay on the bus til it gets to Alcudia town - medieval walled town - beautiful - fantastc market. Or stay on til the end of the journey to Puerto de Pollensa (takes about 40 mins from hotel) . Beautiful port - massive marina, nice shops bars etc. All in all a great hotel in a superb location. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alirocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.7 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Parc Natural & Spa
Grupotel Parc Natural & Spa
#18 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
#13 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Palace de Muro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Palace de Muro

Property: Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia Km. 1, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#11 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Be Live Collection Palace de Muro 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Collection Palace de Muro is a modern resort for families and business people in Playa de Muro, Majorca. This hotel has direct access to the beach and is just 5 kilometers from the center of Alcudia. A perfect choice for those who want a beach holiday where they can relax with wellness & spa in northern Majorca. At the Be Live Collection Palace de Muro you can find nature, fine dining, sports and relaxation. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Collection Palace de Muro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Palace De Muro Hotel Playa De Muro
Be Live Collection Palace De Muro Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing