We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for everyone”
Review of Zafiro Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zafiro Bahia
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We had a wonderful holiday at Viva Bahia (we have a toddler and a baby). The room had plenty of space, we booked a "Privelege" room which is on the ground floor with a small garden and sun loungers. The beach in this bay is fantastic, very placid and crystal clear - perfect for small children - and you can walk straight onto the beach from the hotel. The pools are fantastic, plenty of space and variety (pirate ship splash pool for the kids, Oasis adults only pool for the grown ups etc). Mini golf and decent kids play area as well, and the childrens clubs seemed very active although ours were too young.

I honestly did not see a member of staff who was not professional and friendly, in reception, bars or cleaning staff. We had room only, buying croissants at the local supermarket (round the corner at Alcudia Pins is better than the one right next door) for breakfast, lunch out and normally a la carte dinner at the hotel. Good selection, nice location on the terrace and the quality of food was fine. Being such a family-friendly hotel dinner with kids felt very stress-free and there was lots of entertainment from 8 to 10.30ish.

Only poor eating experience was outside the hotel at a local pizzeria called Giardino - we would seriously advise against trying it.

It's difficult to write a review after such a pleasant time, my only real comment is that if you're thinking about it, do go to Viva Bahia.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

We spent 14 days at Viva Bahia that is a nice resort hotel for family with smaller children. There is not much going on in the area surrounding the hotel so a car is recommended to explore other parts. The good things: not too big hotel so great to keep track of your small kids, good access to the beach, nice people working there, many activities for kids and adults, rooms are OK, but would need some renovation soon, many scandinavians. The BAD things: There are not enough sun beds so there is a fight every morning to find one, food at the hotel is just really BAD, the bed in the room is very hard (my back still hurts), the kitchen in the room is not very well equiped, the WiFi is only in the lobby and quality is really bad (you get disconnected all the time and speed is slow). Despite many negatives the other hotels are probably worse. The next door hotel (Iberostar) looks much nicer, but is a very large place and is probably more expensive and full of germans.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oslo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My family and I have stayed at Viva Bahia about 4 times and we do not hesitate to return. The hotel is amazing, the beach is great, entertainment has been really good and we have enjoyed the hotels own restaurant for the first couple of times, however, we started to eat at other restaurant around Alcudia, just to try something else. We always just lay at the beach all weak when we are there and it is perfect. Even though there are no small children in my family and Viva Bahia is definetely a children's hotel, we still enjoyed it very much. We never really stayed at the pool area because there are so many kids, but that is okay since the beach is right there and it is gorgeous! The pool bar has great staff and great food and drinks! We almost always ate lunch there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Really nice hotel with nice poolarea and just by the beach. Very nice activities for both children and adults. Also activities during night. Really nice poolbar with a wiew over the sea. Tennis for free. Small shoppingcenter 10 m outside the hotel with foodstore. Big foodstore 15-20 walk but alot of traffic on the road. You can walk to town but it is easier with taxi or bus. Can really recomend this hotel.
I have one complain and that is that they couldn´t arrange a microowen. It is the only time that has happened even though we have stay in many similar hotels in Mallorca, Portula and Greece.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenSweden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed at the Viva Bahia for 7 nights with our 3 year old and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to those seeking a beach based family holiday/hotel. The amenities for children are fabulous, the childrens pool is shallow and allows young(er) children total freedom, away from the arms of anxious parents! the playground is safe and well equip (with permanent bouncy castle) the evening entertainment is cheesy but was varied and great for children (2/3 shows per night - all well executed by enthusiastic staff)

In short:

Beach - hotel is directly on lovely sandy beach with shallow water
Staff - exceptionally friendly and efficient
Cleanliness - I have v. high standards - the hotel/rooms/pool were all pristine
Surroundings - removed from the main strip of port d'alcudia which is v.tacky we hired a car and escaped to nicer areas - a car is highly recommended
Food - buffet was pretty good but did become a little samey after 7 days, it was also a shame to sit inside with the masses when the outside areas are so pleasant - we would def consider a la carte next time despite the extra cost.
Rooms - we had a garden apartment the garden was a good size but did back onto the car park (disguised by foliage and not too awful but also not the outlook we would IDEALLY have sought!) Rooms were spacious & very clean, comfortable but not plush(no english tv channels/no room service)

In short the viva bahia is fabulous for a hotel based holiday i.e. beach/pool, lunch, dinner, room etc and a must if your childrens happiness results in yours! Not ideal for those seeking a hotel within traditional surroundings (we would return!)

As we experienced (albeit on only 1 day of our holiday), this part of the coast is allegedly more prone to cloudy weather - we drove out of an overcast playa de muro on our 2nd day to palma where it was gloriously sunny! weather aside from this was 90% good

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Have just returned from a 10 day at this hotel. We chose it based on previous tripadvisor reviews and photos – which showed great facilities for young children. We wanted a relaxing, easy family holiday – which was just what we got!

Hotel Room: We booked a roof top terrace room – which I thoroughly recommend. It gives you an extra large balcony complete with a double sunbed, Jacuzzi and table and chairs – and the most fantastic view. This really made the holiday extra special. We thought that the room, although comfortable and clean, was rather basic.
Hotel facilities: The hotel had a wonderful kid’s splash pool with a pirate ship with slides. The main pool area was also very appealing. There was also crazy golf, a bouncy castle, swings and slide. Perfect for younger families. The 18+ relaxation zone was very nice … though positioned next door to the noisy kid’s splash pool!
Hotel Food & Entertainment: The food was very good – both the buffet style breakfast and evening meal. The beach restaurant excellent for lunches – a good varied menu (for adults & kids) and reasonably priced. Evening entertainment was ok if there was a professional show – otherwise a little dodgy! The kid’s mini disco was a real hit though!
Hotel Location: Not too much around the hotel – to be honest we were happy just to walk on the beach and enjoy the hotel facilities – so were not too bothered by this. Next door to the hotel is an excellent supermarket / shop. Great for cold drinks, ice creams, newspapers, basic food, souvenirs etc. It also had an ATM machine – handy!
Staff: Polite and efficient. There is no porter though. So had to struggle with suitcases and bags on arrival and departure (other half unable to lift due to recent surgery)
Clientele: We were the only English - mostly German and Danish families. This was fine, but our son missed the company of other English children to play with.
Beach: The best thing about the hotel was its location, right on top of a lovely safe beach complete with a small pier. You could enjoy lovely long walks in either direction.

To summarise – a good beachside hotel that is ideal for families with young children.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellybeancurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We spent already one week last September at Viva Bahia and were not sure if we should come again, as they stay was so fantastic that we thought the second time would be disappointing, but it was absolutly great, the food, service, location... I even had tears in my eyes on the way to the airport and I had wished that we would have stayed longer. My husband and I always book the roof top terrace which supposedly is the best room of the hotel, the room has a beautiful view and great terrace. The only downside is that it is in the middle, so you have neighbours right and left, and I'm a very light sleeper, so next time I definetly would like a room that is not in the middle even if that means to have a smaller terrace. The beds are also not very comfortable, that explains our one week stay otherwise we would book two weeks, but otherwise its a great hotel with very dedicated people that work there, I really can recommend it !

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KallenDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
1.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Zafiro Tropic
Zafiro Tropic
#12 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,079 reviews
3.9 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#4 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
842 reviews
1.8 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Bahia

Address: Avda. Playa de Muro s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Viva Bahia)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#9 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: £79 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Bahía is a 4-star seafront hotel located in Playa de Muro, the perfect destination to have some unforgettable family holidays. Delicious gastronomy, funny entertainment programme, sport area... The Zafiro Bahía is the perfect accommodation to enjoy some relaxing days in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Bahia Hotel
Viva Bahia Playa De Muro
Zafiro Bahia Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing