We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No good on a wet day.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No good on a wet day.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

It is only fair to admit we visited this hotel on a day of truly dreadful weather on April 27th. Nonetheless, for what is claimed to be a four star hotel, it was a big disappointment. For a start, all the main corridors to the rooms were external, in the open air, albeit with a roof over your head. This may be rather jolly in the sun, but on a cold and wet day it is miserable and it makes the rooms cold: the heating was just not up to it. The room itself, whilst well equipped and clean was somewhat spartan, the mattress was far too hard, likewise the sofa and there were no extra pillows. We had the buffet dinner and the buffet breakfast. Each looked wonderful, an enormously varied and splendidly presented offering, but it was all style and no substance, the food just didn't live up to it, being largely bland. The calamari was rubbery, the pasta sauces weak, the canapes almost tasteless.
But in contrast, I have to say the service was excellent, very friendly and efficient and welcoming.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the lift lobbies as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment on you recent stay in our hotel Iberostar Playa de Muro, the feedback from our clients is our best way to get to know what we can improve and where we succeed in our daily tasks.

We are sorry for the bad weather you had during your stay with us, April in Mallorca can be rather sunny and hot than very windy and rainy, it is a pity that on the single day you were our guest the weather wasn’t the nicest.

Furthermore, we regret you didn´t find your bed comfortable and we lament not being informed about this during your visit, as we would have looked for a suitable solution. We wish to offer a satisfactory night rest and therefore we have softer over mattresses to put on the main one for those guests who prefer sleeping on a softer bed.

In regards to the gastronomy, we strive to deliver an unforgettable culinary experience to our guests as it is an important facet of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates. It is regrettable to read that we could not meet your expectations.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable vacation and phrases like “service was excellent, very friendly and efficient and welcoming “indicate us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the confirmation of our guests that the treatment they received from our staff has been “excellent”.

Once again many thanks for this review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back among us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    325
    118
    39
    26
See reviews for
459
226
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

the room was nice but it did not have enough plugs. there were only two plugs one int e bathroom and one behind the TV which was hard to get to. the check out lines were too long. I would check out at 7:00 AM

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank normanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Iberostar Playa de Muro this year. It was in April and we did not find beautiful weather.Apart of that, we had a great time and my daughter enjoyed a lot with other kids. The food was great and the staff was ok. Clean rooms and well kept outside areas. Definitely, we will go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kumari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear guest,

It is very nice that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts .

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass this compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Iberostar Playa de Muro in the future.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

we last visited this hotel about 10yrs ago, not as good as we remember,room was quite basic-wanted a sea view but could not book one through thomas cook(not sure if that the norm with other holiday companies),we could see the sea if you hung over the balcony a little-did not get sun at all as we were to far back in the complex.friendly reception,cleaning staff,and most waiting staff-.food was about average more inclined for german tastes.everywhere seemed to be clean an kept tidy.
our air conditioner made lots of noise, they had to have a new one installed ,would have liked a bit of heat - as it got quite cold at night and we did have quite a lot of rain.the beaches are to die for (glad that was as we remembered) -managed to walk miles along the shore,but another down side got bitten lots by mosquitos very painfull -(dont remember that from before !!)did take a electric bug repellant for the room but obvoiusly it was when we went out walking at night.
the hotel is right on a main road and lots of souvenir shops.
will not go back again though.

Room Tip: do try for a sea view as there were lots,or at least one facing the pools not like us facing the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cozann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear guest,

We are very grateful for the review you wrote. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our repeating guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

Regarding the room and views, we would like to point out that we have different types at disposal and we can only say we feel sad about your disappointment. For coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center, to make sure you become what you actually desire.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff, especially regarding the teams of our reception, housekeeping and waiting staff. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they were very friendly.

Further, we are delighted to read that you really enjoyed the result of the fulfillment of our demanding quality standards on cleanliness and hygiene. Thanks to your comments we know that this contributed to your comfort whilst staying with us and that we were successful in this area. That motivates us to do even better in the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate all of your comments as they help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you another very enjoyable experience with Iberostar.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The room is made of low quality materials. Rusty lamps. Furniture in bad condition. Air-conditioner makes only noise and does not work as a cooler.
The owner rips-off the clients on everything. They sell buffet-diner but then in the restaurant they inform you that no drinks are included. Even simple water is not included. They have many additional costs for the things one expects to be included in the room price. For example clients have to pay extra for safe-box, WiFi internet (very low quality, in the room does not work, in the lobby very slow).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Dana,

Although we feel very sad to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

It is unfortunate to hear you got the feeling that we just want to make money from anything, so please allow us to explain why these extra charges exist. We want to be able to offer a wide choice in disposable services, but as we have studied the needs and desires of the average guest that visits us, we know that not all of them are willing to spend on items they consider unnecessary. Our aim is that each customer is free to book the desired services to make their stay adapted to the personal preferences. We hope that this explanation clears the doubts you had, but we stay at your entire disposal for any further enquiry you might have on this or any other issue related to the planning of your next holidays with Iberostar.

On the other hand, we thank you for praising our receptionist. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are very grateful you included their friendliness in the title of your much appreciated review.

We hope your stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be and we would be absolutely delighted to may receive you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england-bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Recent holiday experience was a nightmare. Reception seems to be the biggest area of concern. No real welcome on arrival and not interested in our stay when we checked out. Customer service non existent and if you read other reviews this seems to be a common theme. Had to return a towel with a large hole in seeking a replacement. Receptionist Inga simply turned to another colleague spoke in Spanish and both laughed. No apology....disgraceful customer service! A simple request for a bus timetable was dismissed and was told that they run every 15 minutes outside. Then see them handing them out to other guests...perhaps they don't like the British as 98% of guests were German. In fact everything was geared up for them in terms of entertainment, literature etc.....entertainment apart from 1 show was embarrassing! Expect better from the so called 4 star hotel. Rooms were tired, beds like surf boards and views non existent. Enquired about upgrade...extra 28 euros a day! We were next to the laundry room / cleaners cupboard. Say no more in trying to have a lie in! Food ok , plenty of entertainment for kids but limited for adults on a rainy day. Would I come back to this so called 4 star....NO....and would not recommend them either. Would I use Iberostar Hotels again....NO...not after the customer service we received. Just read other reviews...do Iberostar care...?

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank lis_griffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Mrs. Griffiths,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully explained your positive and negative feelings about your stay. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us improve our services. We are convinced that listening to our clients is the best way to achieve their satisfaction.

We feel sad about your disappointment regarding our client friendliness. Exactly this is the prime pillar of our company. We do our utmost to guarantee that all staff members are chosen accordingly to a specific profile and additionally schooled to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for. We lay much worth on good communication and an excellent treatment for all our guests, regardless where they are from or what´s their background. We take your comment into consideration and we will try our very best to take even more care on this matter in the future.

We also regret that you didn´t find your bed comfortable and we lament not to be informed about this during your visit, as we would have looked for a solution. We wish to offer a satisfactory night rest and therefore we have softer over mattresses to put on the main one for those guests who prefer sleeping on a softer bed.

We are also disappointed to read that in your opinion only the entertainment for the children seemed adequate and varied enough. We strive to perform nice shows and pleasant distraction throughout the whole stay of all our guests, we try to be surprising and set up an animation program that entertains all publics, as they range from families to golden agers of many different nationalities and cultures.

Further, we are glad that you could enjoy the culinary efforts of our chefs. In Iberostar we understand that eating and drinking is an important part of the all over experience of our guests and when we achieve their satisfaction it is the best reward for our day by day labors.

Hoping to may receive you again in the future, we assure you in advance our most caring dedication, wishing we can change through it your opinion.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just returned from two weeks at this hotel, the room we allocated had been refurbished with laminate floor and new bathroom which was good but still not a 4* bedroom. The room was cleaned everyday to a good standard with no issues. The food in the restaurant is well cooked and has an average variety, nothing special. Public areas of the hotel are clean and well kept. The pools were always cold due to them being shaded by trees so head to the beach where you can walk out a long way in warm water. We are a couple and went in early September to avoid the UK scholl holidays, but alas the place was still overrun with kids....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meriva2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation manager at IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

We are sorry we couldn´t surpass your expectations which is our goal. Nevertheless we are pleased that you liked our facilities and installations as also you find that the culinary offer was satisfying.

We continuously strive to deliver high standards and supply splendid holidays. Even so we understand that each guest has his particular preferences, wishes and needs. The Iberostar Playa de Muro hotel is a top 4-star all-inclusive accommodation located on the beautiful Muro beach in Alcudia. It has several solarium terraces, Jacuzzi and 5 swimming pools surrounded by gardens; it boasts a wide range of sports and leisure activities. The quality of the gastronomy and the friendliness and professionalism of its staff are other reasons that make this hotel one of the favorites for families visiting the island on holiday. Nevertheless, we understand that due to our child friendliness for you this might not be the best location for your dream holiday. Therefore we would like to point out that in Iberostar we have “Only Adults Hotels” and for coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center, to make sure you become what you actually desire. We also invite you to visit our web page as it can orient you when planning your next holiday.

Once more we want to say how worthy your opinion is to us and thank you again for sharing it on tripadvisor. Iberostar looks forward to serving you in the future and we send you our best regards.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro Village
IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro Village
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro
Address: Avenida de la Albufera, 8, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Muro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#17 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro 4*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE: The IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel reopens its doors next spring following a significant refurbishment of all its facilities. What’s more, it has a new al fresco restaurant and beach bar. The IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel is a top 4-star All-Inclusive family hotel in Playa de Muro located on the beautiful Muro beach in Alcudia (Majorca). The hotel, which has several solarium terraces, Jacuzzi and 5 swimming pools surrounded by gardens, boasts a wide range of sports and leisure activities. The quality of the gastronomy and the friendliness and professionalism of its staff are other reasons that make this hotel one of the favourites for families visiting the island on holiday. In addition, this hotel is a meeting point for cyclists, amateurs and pros alike, offering them a perfect location and wonderful facilities. The world’s top cycling teams choose the IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro to stay during races like IBEROSTAR Challenge Mallorca – the first race on the European pro cycling calendar – or the Mallorca 312 International Cycle Tour – whose 6th edition is being held april 2.016. Ideal for bike lovers: Have a perfect getaway at the IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, doing your favourite sport. Our cycle touring resort in Majorca is ready to meet all the demands of riders: bike rental (all kinds of bikes), repair shop, guided cycling tours, parking lot for more than 1,200 bikes, fitness room with special machines, sports masseurs, energy foods, isotonic drinks and specialist store. A top hotel in the natural paradise of Playa de Muro. The IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel is surrounded by a beautiful pine forest and the white sands of the Playa de Muro, extending over 3 miles. The views from the complex of the Mediterranean are stunning. Fun without borders. At the IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel you will have fun with a wide array of activities. Water sports, adventure sports, shows and performances – a world of fun is waiting for you. Non-stop fun for children. Children really enjoy themselves at the facilities of the IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel. In addition to offering activities especially organized for them according to their ages, the hotel offers swimming pools, playgrounds and a mini-disco where fun is guaranteed. For peace and quiet. The IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel is ideal for those seeking relaxing days by the sea. The excellent beaches and the innovative hotel spa, along with the SPA Sensations, will help guests to disconnect and escape the daily routine. Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to 3 devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Iberostar, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa De Muro Hotel Playa De Muro
Playa De Muro Iberostar
IBEROSTAR Playa De Muro Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing