We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel we have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst hotel we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned from our trip to Spain and I want to say that I liked everything in Spain except Iberostar Playa De Muro hotel.
We have arrived at midnight, nobody offered us even water! They told us to take it from vending machine - 1.5 Euro per small bottle of water. I had to stay almost in ''doggy'' position to spent 7 euro and get some water for my family.
The reception desk is in cracks. The buildings are old and obviously need to be updated
We have stayed at Iberostar in Mexico - it was brilliant and superb hotel. But this Iberostar hotel made us upset.


The only positive thing about this hotel is sea and beach. Its great. But this is not hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JayT J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel for your Majorcan holidays and for the time you spent to share your impressions on your personal experience so we can be aware of the improvements to be made in order to guarantee the great holidays experiences that IBEROSTAR is famous for.

We are very surprised to read your comment on your arrival because as all our outlets are closed after midnight and per our hotel rules and protocols, the night concierge before starting his shift, checks the inventory of bottles of water into the reception fridge in order to ensure one per guest, in the event that you asked for more bottles then he may have suggested that you get them by the vending machine but as we have regular late arrivals every night it is very unlikely that you weren’t offered any at the time of check in and if this was the case we send you our sincerest apologies.

Moreover, we are aware that our hotel is not of new construction, nevertheless we do our utmost to maintain all our installations the best we can counting with the services of our technical department always ready to repair any little imperfection that may be produced into our hotel’s installations, nevertheless we commit to revise the possibility of renewing some of the areas.

Once again, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been and hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    327
    118
    39
    26
See reviews for
460
229
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the other reviews I seem to have been lucky room wise! We had two rooms during our weeks stay, we had booked a double twin but on arrival was given a double single, the hotel staff did change when a double twin which was bigger and nicer. Room was clean though did have a problem with air con which was fixed eventually. Hotel was nice lovely beach next to it! High standard though for a iberostar premium I would of expected better. Hotel entertainment was great, night entertainment finished early though (about half ten) animation team were great most of the time but there was a time where I was playing shooting with people my age (teenagers) and I was the only English speaking one and I felt very isolated as the animation staff talked to them most in what I think was German and didn't talk to me much. I'm still a bit upset about that! Most staff were lovely though! Especially Carlos! Most people in the hotel weren't English speaking but I am Scottish and did go at the very start of the English holidays which might have something to do with it! Though a lower standard iberostar hotel was still nice and had more British guest. Pool was good, my other is disabled and got in to the pool with not to much help from me and my father! The hotel also had a slush machine which i loved! Overall I would return to the hotel but brush up on my Spanish, German and French! Would recommend, mostly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel does not cost its money. The room we stayed was old, with cracks on the wall, rust in the bathroom, smell of dampness, very THIN walls. And we paid about 10 000$ for this trip.
The hotel should show real pics of the hotel at their website, otherwise it is not fair to the customers. I would never go there even if I had to pay half of what i paid.
I am very upset about staying in this hotel. Do not recommend to stay there anybody.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
6 Thank roadmanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Although we lament hearing that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we thank you for sharing your opinion so we can take your vision into consideration to improve our services and offer great holidays’ experiences to all our guests.
We deeply apologize and took good note of your comments related to your room and saw the pictures that clearly are not to our usual standards and immediately passed them to our head of technical department in order to check the room and make the appropriate repairs although we lament not being informed about this during your stay as we could have found an appropriate and immediate solution for you to fully enjoy your holidays in Majorca.
We hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.
Warmest regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just back from a weeks stay nice hotel and pleasant staff could not fault the place only thing I would say entertainment finished at 10:30 a bit early for our family as we have a teenage son but still a good holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Ngfraaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just come back from two weeks at this hotel - family holiday with a 12 year old.
The staff are brilliant - really helpful and friendly. They even printed our boarding passes to make things easier at departures. Restaurant staff are very attentive and friendly.
The entertainment wont be to everyones taste but I dont think you can m,ark it down for this.
We went with Thomas Cook who dont have a representative there and did the bare minimum for their moeny, but the coaches etc were all on time. The reason there is no Thomas Cook rep is because its not really a hotel frequented by the English which was a plus from our point of view.
Reviewers have moaned about the WIFI but they all charge as far as I can see - and you can get half an hour free in the lobby which worked perfectly well.
Reviewers have also moaned about the sunbeds being reserved - the hotel do put notes out telling people not to do it but its largely ignored. Dont see what else you could reasonably expect them to do.
Its right by a beautiful clean beach and the water is really warm.
3 really nice swimming popls with different depths.
The Hidropark is a short bus ride away - get the 352 or 2 from outside the hotel travelling towards Alcuda and get off by the Banana Club/Burger King. Its 1.50 Euros each. You can walk over the road and then follow the left hand road up to the water park.
The 352 alos goes to Port De Pollenca which is also wortha look. Think this was 1.75 Euros each

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r6mt03blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Staff were friendly but unobtrusive which suited us perfectly. Lovely food, great cocktails and a stunning beach. The room was unremarkable but perfectly comfortable and clean with a good size terrace, also clean bathroom with a good shower. The evening entertainment suited us, brought atmosphere to a relaxing evening of drinking. All in all just what we wanted from a relaxing holiday - would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnybob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just back. Went 2 years ago with a 4 yr old. This time we had our 9mth old as well. Had good experience first time around and this was matched again. Reasonable transfer time with little ones. Hotel in good location with easy access to beach and eurospar for essential supplies like water etc. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Pool good and safe for kids. Excellent kids miniclub and disco. This hotel is a good choice when travelling with little ones. Good selection of food in buffet. Always got enough to eat. Not sure I would go all inclusive as our half board option was fine. Would go back:)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Slinky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro Village
IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro Village
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro
Address: Avenida de la Albufera, 8, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Muro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#17 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro 4*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro is the best place to experience the type of holiday you’ve seen in the movies. With luxury catering, the Mediterranean Sea in the background and elegant decoration that’s worthy of the big screen. But with a difference. Here your family is the star of the show. What are you waiting for? Find out more now! The best setting, your room. The rooms can accommodate a couple or the whole family. They’re available with views of the pool, opposite the sea, with enormous terraces, a kitchen… and even with a whirlpool bath! Choose yours. The background music of the sea. Can you hear it? It’s in the rooms, at the main swimming pool or even at the main terrace of the restaurant when you’re having a drink. La Playa de Muro is right opposite the hotel and its kilometres of sand are perfect for making sand castles with the little ones. Feel like a star. Allow the professionals from SPA Sensations to pamper you with anti-stress, sports and aromatherapy massages… And top off the relaxation of your muscles in the sauna or on the heated loungers. It’ll leave you feeling incredible! Let’s get rolling, but with a bike, not a camera. Because aside from a fitness centre with two rooms full of state-of-the-art machines, there are bikes for rent, a garage to store them in, repair workshops, excursions… There’s a reason why the best cycling teams in the world stay here! Action! Your children are going to have a whale of a time in the games pools, playing with the water jets or climbing through their large bubbles. They also have the Miniclub, where they can dress up as pirates, meet new friends and try out different sports. Attend the premiere. Think of it as a red-carpet affair. You can be one of the first to set foot in the dazzling, freshly refurbished facilities of this hotel for families. With a happy ending. This is how the evenings draw to a close in this hotel in Mallorca: with gourmet dinners, local specialities, fresh products and international cuisine. You’ll even find a food truck beside the children’s pool. Make the most of it with all-inclusive! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Iberostar, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa De Muro Hotel Playa De Muro
Playa De Muro Iberostar
IBEROSTAR Playa De Muro Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing