We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Playa Esperanza
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was my second visit to Playa Esperanza. I had enjoyed myself when I stayed 2 years ago although I was not entirely happy with the location of my room. Again I was disappointed. This time the room I was given faced out on the road. Apparently people who book double rooms for single use are given these rooms. Unfortunately the Balcony had no privacy. I had what appeared to be a new bed but it would have been better if the mattress had had a protector, I also found it strange that the bottom sheet was too small for the bed. The rooms really could do with an overhaul.
It was not all bad, the hotel is right on the beach which I love and it has a bus stop right outside. The majority of staff are very pleasant and the food was not bad.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmg1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperanzahoteles, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
The hotel front office assign guest rooms according to the room type they've booked, as this is not a question of double or single occupation. Please next time verify you book a double for single use with sea view if this is your wish. Otherwise on the spot and subject to availability you can always upgrade to a room with sea view with a supplement.

We are happy to know you were satisfied with the service, the food and the location and
we look forward to welcoming a third time and many other times.

Kind regards,
Hotel Playa Esperanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    139
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
154
144
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham Royal, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lots of praise: plenty of good food (German-focused, but not only), great spa (apart from mixing up appointments...), RIGHT on the beach, 10 swimming pools (although if windy it gets cold), very nice bars, decent drinks.
Why not outstanding? It just felt a bit like taken from the '90s: fixed tables to dinner, the selection of evening entertainment, SPA booking system. Plus the kid's entertainment was good, but not great (see my other comments on Princessa Yaiza on Lanzarotte - I did get spoiled).
Still as for the things I've seen on Mallorca - this was definitely a great choice.

Room Tip: Top level obviously - to have amazing view of sea and mountains. Make sure you confirm whether you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperanzahoteles, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Agnes,

Thank you very much for reporting your feedback with lots of praises.
We take in consideration your comment about the entertainment.

It would be nice to welcome you in the very near future.

With best regards,
Hotel Playa Esperanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in August 2013, 1 Adult and 1 x 12 year old.

When we arrived we were a bit apprehensive as it was mainly German families staying here. However, all the staff and most of the Germans spoke English. Met some great people and would highly recommend the hotel.

The grounds : Immaculate grounds and plenty of free sunbeds and space. Either side of the hotel there is an Apartment complex and you can walk freely between them all and use the Swimming Pools and Pool side Bars. There is a small supermarket in one of the Apartment complexes and it is cheaper than the 2 supermarkets across the road.

The room : We had a twin room. And yes, even though clean, the bedroom furniture was a little out-dated. Bathroom very nice.

Hotel bar : The hotel bar service during the evening entertainment is excellent. The Children's cocktails are expensive at around £3.50. If the hotel could improve the free Wifi speed, inside and outside that would add extra value.

Evening Entertainment : Professional acts on 6 nights a week. Varied from Excellent to Good and ranged from Acrobats, to Magicians, to Opera Singers, to Elvis Presley.

The Spa : Spent a couple of hours in the Gym and Sauna on a rainy day. All the equipment in good working order and clean environment.

Reception\Bar\Spa Staff : All very pleasant, smart and good English speakers.

Entertainment and Animation Team : These people do a fantastic job and work tirelessly to make sure everyone has a great holiday. Even though we didn't use it, the entertainment for the under 11 children looked top class. Big thanks to Ashlee who made us feel so welcome.

On the beach : Beach Volleyball is very popular with Adults and Children. This was a good way to meet other people staying at the hotel. You can also pay to do Windsurfing, Pedalo, Paddle boarding and 4-man Catamaran at the Sailing school which is situated right on the beach where the hotel is. Take a bucket and spade and try and make the best sandcastle.

Excursions : We booked 2 days out to the Waterpark in Magaluf and a Catamaran trip. We booked through the resident German TUI holiday reps who were at the hotel.

Getting Around : There is a bus stop right outside the hotel. At 1.5 Euros per person, per journey; you can go South to Can Picafort, or North to Alcudia\Port de Pollenca. Great value. Buses run every 15 minutes till 11pm.

Food : There are 2 dinner sittings. One starts at 18:30, the other at 20:30. We alternated on some nights after speaking to the restaurant manager. All the staff were pleasant. There is plenty to choose from the buffet and we ate breakfast and dinner in there every day. Gents need to wear long pants for dinner.

In summary the hotel is of a very high standard, spacious, clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Tip : If your need anything, just ask.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor facing North. Positives : We had a sea view which we hadn't paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeFresh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperanzahoteles, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review, and thank you very much for recommend us. We're very happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Playa Esperanza and we will forward your big thanks to Ashlee.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back again next year.

With best regards,

Hotel Playa Esperanza
Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muscat
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

A weeks holiday at this hotel.
The hotel itself is quite dated and has a deffinate late 1970s "charm".
Cavernous marble lobby, massive dining hall, furniture as from an Austin Powers movie.
I booked two double rooms but was "upgraded" to a "suite".
What an odd room. There were two bedrooms and two bathrooms, as well as a lounge room. The problem was that one has to walk THROUGH the first bedroom to get to the other one. That may be accaptable for a family with little kids, but not for two adult couples - unless they are into the "alternative lifestyle" thing.
The rooms were furnished quite nicely, but there were NO double beds. Only single beds pushed together that movet across the tiled floors of the room at the slightest movement. No cuddling here! Someone always ends up in the ditch.
The bathrooms were spacious with plenty of complimentary toiletries and towels (very thin ones). We had 3 TVs in our "suite", with dozens of channels, most of which were in German. Only a news channel in English.
We had a HUGE balcony with chairs, a table and 3 lounge chairs. overlooking the gardens, pool and the beach a bit in the distance.
Lifts are extremely slow and small. Internet reception is very poor. Free in the lobby and bar area, but payable everywhere else. Not good in this day and age.

There are several very nice and well kept pools on the property.
Bizzarrely one has to fork out 15 Euros CASH deposit to obtain a beach towel.
Yopu can have only ONE towel per person and they will only exchange them - upon presentation of your deposit coupon - every 4 days.

The grounds and gardens are immaculate, with nice grassy areas and plenty of trees and umbrellas for shade.
The excellent, shallow and sandy beach is only steps away over a small sand dune that acts as a natural wind breaker. There is nearly always a nice breeze from the water, and that helps to keep the temperature down.
The beach is very clean as is the water. Good for splashing about, but because the bay is very shallow and protected, you have to walk in very far to reach a depth that is good for propper swimming. A perfect beach for children and people who are not strong swimmers.
The hotel offers a lot of activities, overseen by multilingual "animators". Everything from ball games to pony riding to treasure hunts etc. There is nightly entertainment on an outside terrace that kicks off around 8 pm and goes until 11-ish. Pitty those guest on the may roms above or facing that venue. No chance for an early night.
The entertainment ranged from quite good to the twee to the frankly embarrasing. Think Brighton beach bingo hall entertainment.
There are several restaurants at the property. We onlyate breakfast at the hotel which was decent, but not exciting. Plenty of choice for sure, but the quality of ingredients was mediocre. NOT a foodie hotel! One of the poolside venus did a decent job with snack foo items such as pizza, hot dogs salat and such things.
YThe service was always friendly and keen and we communicated easily in four languages with the staff.
With a bit of renovation of the buildings and updating of ammenities, this would easily be a 4-star property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gerhard1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperanzahoteles, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.

You are right, the hotel was built in the 70s but every year we are improving facilities, and we regret to know you were not satisfied with some aspects with the hotel's decoration.

We are happy to read your praises about the garden as well as our outdoor facilites and it's a big reward for us when you say the service was always friendly and keen and you communicated easily with our staff in four different languages.

Every year during the winter time, when the hotel closes, we'll keep on trying to improve facilities and ammenities in order to reach our guests's expectations.

Thank you very much for your help and look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Playa Esperanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you want hotel next to the beautiful sea, this is right choice for you.
We are family of four with small baby and had an opportunity to see and the double room and family room and also the suits in the next building.
Lets start with the hotel.
I will try to be as short as possible.
Negative : rooms are very old, really old. Family room was bigger but again old. We didn't have problems with the smell from the biological cleaning or noise from the street or trucks collecting the waste or delivering goods. Problems are the old rooms and very expensive for what is included. Dear owner or director or who ever maintain this hotel we understand that you can not make the rooms bigger ,but at least you can make them newer and nicer and comfy.
On the other side like I said before had opportunity to sleep in the suits, where I can not say anything negative about it, lovely, bright, new, clean, five stars for them, no comment.
Food: really poor quality, yes there were every day different things and we didn't staied hungry, the salad bar was great :), however food quality needs improving
Positive: the staff were lovely, every single one of them, they were always smiling, very polite, helpfull, thank you guys, you were real professionals.
So like I said if you don't mind where you sleep, how the room looks like, or how good is the quality of the food or service, and if you want to enjoy lovely and clean sea, so this is the place for you. Obviously for many businesses location is the most important despite the quality of service provided. This hotel have the prefect location for what we were looking for, sea, sea and sea.
Me and my family will not go back to the hotel never ever again! BUT definitely will go back to the
suites and bring the rest of the family.
I enjoyed my holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperanzahoteles, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Alexsandra,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review about your stay in Hotel Playa Esperanza.

We regret very much your that the room and the food was not as you expected, but especially we deeply regret to read that you will not go back to the hotel never ever again.

We thank you very much your comments about the friendly and keen service you received. We will work hard the next years to improve facilities and ammenities in order to try to change your mind and to welcome you and the rest of your family back again in a very near future in the Hotel Playa Esperanza.

With best regards,
Hotel Playa Esperanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June with my husband and 2 children aged 6 and 20 months. We have been going to this area of mallorca for the past 4 years as it is perfect children. Our usual hotel was not available on our dates, so Hotel Playa Esperanza was recommended to us. On arrival, which was late at night, the hotel and the surrounding areas were very quiet, which was great. There are 3 buildings which make up the hotels complex. The hotel itself, apartments, and suites. We had booked a junior suite, but were given a 2 bedroom hotel room, which was great as it was very spacious and had a huge corner balcony. Our room was located roadside with a side sea view. We had no problems with noise. Meals are served as buffet. The food was excellent and such a great choice. First time I have ever seen the chef check the hot food with a thermometer, excellent! We went half board, which I would highly recommend. In the evening there are 2 sittings for dinner, 6pm and 8pm. The hotel is immaculate and has just been refurbished in the lobby and bar areas, which are great to sit in. Free wi fi is proided in this area.
The area outside is vast, there are 3 pools. You can hire your towels from the spa at a deposit of 15 Euro per towel, but they can be changed every day. Of course the main area for children is located the furthest away. Here they have the mini club, which is excellent, entertainment provided for the kids throughout the day. There is also a childrens play park here. The hotel is located directly on the beach, so you also have this for the kids. There are 2 pool snack bars, which are very good. You can also order take out from them.
In the hotel there is a Kindergarten room for the children. You can leave your children aged 4 and over here anytime of the day. Our daughter loved it, and the 2 girls, Isabel and Tahi, who looked after the kids are excellent, very attentive. I am usually quite wary of leaving my children anywhere alone, but I was very happy to do so here. I could also bring my toddler to this room to play, as long as I stayed to supervise.
The animation team are brillant, they are a credit to the hotel. They are very friendly and pleasant. They also provide a mini disco at night after dinner, which the kids love.
There are supermarkets directly opposite the hotel, and a few restaurants also. Everything is within very easy reach.
Overall, I cant wait to book my holiday to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionahNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperanzahoteles, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest, Dear Fionah,

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive report.
It's a big reward for all of us to know you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Playa Esperanza. Your positives comments will be forwarded to the Restaurant and the Entertainment Teams

We look foward to welcome you next year.

With best regards,

Hotel Playa Esperanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Excellent hotel which is only getting better - our 3rd visit. Great for a relaxing break. Spotlessly clean very friendly staff lovely facilities delicious food beautiful location for beach lovers. Dining room is a joy and if it's warm there is an ample outdoor dining area.

Room Tip: Some rooms are over the entertainment area which can be good fun but if you want an early night ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperanzahoteles, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. It is very rewarding to see that after your 3rd visit to Hotel Playa Esperanza, you still enjoy the experience. It will be a pleasure to welcome you as many times as you wish.

Thank you,
Team Hotel Playa Esperanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
#14 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Esperanza

Property: Hotel Playa Esperanza
Address: Avenida Albufera 4, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#12 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Esperanza 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect seashore destination for family holidays. We have everything you need for the whole family to enjoy a restful holiday in total peace and quiet. Situated on Playa de Muro beach in the Esperanza Resort Complex next to Playa Esperanza Hotel and Esperanza Park Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Playa Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Esperanza Hotel
Playa Esperanza De Muro
Hotel Playa Esperanza Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing