We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh! the food, the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Esperanza
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Spent two weeks in the Playa Esperanza. A great experience ..very friendly , efficient and well trained staff. The highlight for me was the food ... really 1st class, There were 2 sittings for dinner 6 to 7.30 and 8 to 9.30 . The later time suited us very well. The beachside location is superb ... located at the end of Playa De Muro ,,, nice quiet and secluded by comparison with some of the other Hotels located more towards Alcudia. Bus stop located right outside hotel. We got the bus into the Port Area on a number of occasions and went all the way over to Palma on two occasions on major shopping expeditions. I would have no hesitstion in recommending the Esperanza to all.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Guzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

I stayed at this hotel with my dad and my two children for 5 days. We arrived and checked in very quickly. Our room was a family room and it was huge. My dad had a seperate room and bathroom and me and the children had what can only be described as a lounge with a double bed in. We also had our own bathroom. The balcony went all the way round two sides of the room looking out over the grounds and the sea. It had a fridge in it and a flat screen telly. There was also a mini bar in each room and dad also had his own telly. The prices in the mini bar were also very reasonable. It was unbelievable. We stayed half board and the selection and quality of food was amazing. There grounds are beautiful and there are plenty of sunbeds. There are two outside pools and one indoor pool which is connected to a jacuzzi, sauna etc. This is apparently heated in the winter but not in the summer so it was a bit cold. There is a tennis court and a table tennis table, you can rent the table tennis bats for free but i believe there is a hire charge for the tennis raquets. Just one last note. The apartments connected to the hotel has a supermarket/gift shop in it. The prices were unbelievably cheap which makes a refreshing change when going into a supermarket connected to a hotel. I would recommend this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicanddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

My husband and I took our 14-month old daughter to Majorca to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. We were there for 6 nights from Feb 14-19th. We did a lot of research on the web to try and find the right hotel, and were so very pleased with the Esperanza.
The main thing (as a mother) for me was that we stayed half-board, and this meant that we only had to find lunch each day. When you have a hungry toddler there is no time for dithering over menus and prices, so having breakfast and and dinner at the hotel every day was a great idea. Also because we were there in Feb, the evenings were a bit cold and windy, so the last thing we would have wanted is to be wandering the streets with a pushchair trying to find a restaurant.
I think I will always insist on half-board now, as long as the food is good. Which it was at the Esperanza. I won't go into too much detail, but we really enjoyed all of our meals, the choice of food in the evenings particularly was superb, and I always found something suitable to mash up in a soup bowl for our baby.
The staff were very kind to us and very friendly to our daughter. On our second night at our designated table, they had set a place for her with a hi-chair, a specially folded serviette, and one silver teaspoon !
The room was OK, decor OK, view was awful, we were so disappointed that in off-season we couldn't have a sea view even though we had requested one. The bathroom and hot water/towels etc was fine.
A cot was provided for our baby but it seemed a bit rickety so we opted instead to use the mattress from the sofa bed and she was happy with that. I took my own small sheet for her and used that.
The decor inside the hotel is slightly dodgy in places, large artificial flower arrangements etc, but on the whole it is pleasant, airy, clean, and the restaurant was absolutely lovely.
We loved the heated indoor pool, even though on one sunny day it wasn't heated, which was a bit cold for baby.
The beach in front of the hotel is LOVELY, having spent many years in South Africa I feel qualified to say that !
I would recommend the hotel to anyone with a baby. The rooms aren't totally soundproof, so we were a bit conscious of not having any crying at night, but other than that, it was great.
A real mother's hotel, no cooking, no washing, no shopping. I don't think I will ever do self-catering or room only again !

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jettylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

Stayed at this hotel from the 7 - 14 October. The Hotel is very nice and well worth its four star rating. The food was excellent and probably worth a five star rating. So much choice at breakfast and dinner I challenge anyone not to put on at least a couple of pounds in a week!

The beach is lovely and the hotel pool is very nice and is heated so at least if the weater isn't good or the sea is too cold you can have a dip in the pool which I did on quite a dull wet day. There is also an indoor pool but when the weather is not good this is obviously where the parents with young children tend to go.

The hotel has a gym and spa with lots of treatments on offer which looked very relaxing.

The evening entertainment is very good and quite varied. The majority of the guests at the hotel are German. probably only about another dozen English guests at the most in the hotel when we were there though we didn't find this a problem. Didn't find the German guests particularly friendly but again not a problem.

The National Park is only about 200 metres away and this is very pleasant lots of different species of birds and other wildlife to be found there, We hired bikes a couple of times and this is a good way of seeing all of the Park.

Beware as on the hotel information it states that you can hire bikes from the hotel though when we enquired at reception they said you cannot hire bikes from the hotel. Most of the hotel staff are friendly with the exception of one of the older male reception staff member who we found particularly rude and unhelpful.

The hotel rooms as very nice and kept very clean. Would definitely go back there again though at a different time of year as the weather wasn't very good while we were there, probably only 2 good days out of the 7.

A perfect place for a nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Second stay at this hotel, good to be back, made the mistake last year of staying at the nearby Iberostar playa De Muro, horible. The good points about this hotel are as follows, the outdoor heated pool is excellent for when the weather is that little bit cooler. The veiw from the rooms with a sea and pool view is amazing, the veiw is actually used on an Expedia TV ad. The food is good but not absolutely amazeing however for the price of a week half board it is very very good. The staff in the dining hall and foyer are very friendly, but ofcourse this can change over a short period of time. The indoor pool is lovely at least 30 degrees and was open untill late at night. The Hotel has very nice gardens and plenty of sunlongers available all around the site. The Hotel is situated right on the beach and the veiw from the dining hall is lovely. As stated in the last review the hotel is used by German tourists, this is ok but unfortunately they do tend to be an odd bunch of people. Extremely rude and very conservative.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DevonianTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chris&Gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Stayed: May 2007
5  Thank AmandaDUBLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Parc Natural & Spa
Grupotel Parc Natural & Spa
#15 of 30 in Playa de Muro
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Muro
Iberostar Playa de Muro
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Esperanza

Address: Avenida Albufera 4, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#12 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: £106 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Esperanza 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect seashore destination for family holidays. We have everything you need for the whole family to enjoy a restful holiday in total peace and quiet. Situated on Playa de Muro beach in the Esperanza Resort Complex next to Playa Esperanza Hotel and Esperanza Park Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Esperanza Hotel
Playa Esperanza De Muro
Hotel Playa Esperanza Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing