We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids!”
Review of Viva Blue & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viva Blue & Spa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great for kids!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is great for kids (2-9 years). The splashing pool with the pirateship and waterslides is not deep at all, so the kids do not have to know how to swim to be able to run around and play there. There are sunbeds rigth next to the splashingpool. The playground behind is also great, a little dirty from soda and ice cream etc. There were also a small playground by the poolcafe for kids (1-2 years) that were ok, but also dirty and sticky from ice cream etc. The kids entertainment staff were great and there were alot of activities for the kids during the day. The reception staff were nice, but if you had a complaint they tried to turn it around so it would be your own fault. They dont take responsibility at all, if you are in trouble, you are on your own. But they will tell you that with a nice smile. Our advice is if you are right, be tough!
The waiters were nice, some of them seemed very stressed out. The food is expensive and so are the souvenirs in Alcudia. The beach is close and very clean and well organized regarding sunbeds etc. You feel very safe at the beach with lifeguards and all. Take-away food from a Viva hotel restaurant right by the beach as well. The ocean is warmer than the pool at Viva Blue - a very cold pool. The Viva Blue is a quiet and calm place for families, no stress and not crouded at all - even when it is fully booked.

Room Tip: The hotel is only partly renovated so we requested a newly renovated room, not on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyTaylor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Viva Blue & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Viva Blue Hotel for your recent stay and taking out the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Your fantastic compliments have been passed on to the staff and they extend their gratitude for appreciating their efforts.

Regarding the issue of low temperature of the pool, I must inform you that we have a biomass boiler in order to heat the 25mt. semi-olympic pool, the chill out pool and the splashing pool with the pirateship. We can maintain temperatures at 26º Celsius daily because every night we covered the pools with thermal blankets. The splashing pool with the pirateship can be maintained at 23º Celsius because we cannot cover it with thermal blankets. At this time of the year the see temperature varies between 17º and 19º Celsius.
One of the factors that differentiate us from the competitors is precisely to keep the pools temperatures pleasant.
We hope this explanation have been satisfactory and we look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit to the island.

Miguel Villalonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    279
    55
    9
    4
See reviews for
702
115
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I struggled to decide on a star rating for this hotel because some of it is amazing and some of it really isn't.
I'll start with the good bits. The pools are brilliant - there are deep ones, shallow ones, a pirate-themed one for the kids, and a separate adults-only one with fantastic comfy double-width sunloungers. The food's lovely, the staff are all great, and they've really thought of everything for kids - as well as the main playground (swings, slides, bouncy castle, trampoline, climbing frames) there are two smaller ones next to the indoor and outdoor eating areas (so that kids that are fed up before parents having finished eating can play and still be supervised). Everywhere was beautifully clean and the staff couldn't do enough for you.
But.
The rooms weren't great. They looked like they'd been done years ago and left (grout stained/missing in the bathroom, rusty lamps, a broken lock), and there was so little furniture that it was horribly echoey and uncomfortable. Rock-hard sofa, rock-hard bed. And the walls were paper-thin so you could hear everything the neighbours said. Which is embarrassing when you've got a toddler screaming the place down and you know your neighbours are about as happy about it as you are.
It was like a two-star hotel plonked in four-star grounds.
Shame, the outdoor/public bits were amazing and i'd go back in a flash, but the quality of the actual accommodation would put me off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Pools ace for kids, safe large and shallow. Staff very friendly. Loads to do and great facilities. Grounds well kept and generally really nice. We had a Privilege garden room overlooking the swamp with views of the mountains. Really lovely. Food excellent and everything is well set up for kids with high chairs etc. Cleaning of the rooms was excellent. The kids club looked great and when our 2 year is older then he would love it.

Rooms very sparse and need maintenance - our patio doors didn't lock and were never mended despite asking. The rooms need soundproofing, we could converse with our neighbours. The beds gave us backache.

In short, a great place but I'm not sure I would go back due to the poor rooms. Which is a real shame.

Room Tip: We were in Block B overlooking the nature reserve. Lovely, but they seemed to put children in thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Promising start, nice room food on an evening generally Very Good. Did find though as adults using the hotel and wanting to eat about 8:00 in the evening some dishes were not available. Missed the steak 1 night, also a few dishes were drying up especially the paella. Fish dishes very good. Its a hotel for parents with young children out of season just it did the job for our cycling party.
Annoyed on last day as staff turned off our door key twice in the morning before departure. Had to go to reception to get back in the room after breakfast too pack. Then coulnt get in the bike garage, mind out though the security not that good we got in and had to wedge the automatic doir open to get luggage and bikes out. Good job we are honest as no one came to investigate the alarm and there was some nice bikes about.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Crookrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Viva Blue & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about the shortcomings during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of service in the restaurant and reception. Rest assured that your feedback will be addressed to the concerned department heads for immediate improvement, to avoid disappointments of the same in future. We value your comments and want to make sure that all our guests feel comfortable. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Miquel Villalonga
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sousse,tunis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved it from day one. We were met in the reception by friendly and helpful staff.
The one bedroom apartment was spacious and clean. Mini disco every day was a hit and it will be rememered for a loong time. Childrens club and the best pool for children with slides and fun.
Over all, exellent!!! Thank you Viva blue for making our holiday perfect!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here for a week and got food poisoning from the buffet on my first day. The standards of hygiene in their food preparation and service are definitely questionable. The food quality and selection is also something to be desired compared to other resorts in Mallorca.

Staff were generally quite friendly and the hotel was mostly clean, albeit a bit run down in places. Room was a bit spartan and not really inviting but you're not meant to spend your holiday in your room anyway. The beds were very uncomfortable and seemed very cheap and poor quality. Our bathtub also had mold around the edge so they need to do some upgrading. The pool area is nice but not many other amenities worth mentioning. The wifi is very frustrating to use as it is very spotty and keeps dropping. Seems the lobby is the only place it is guaranteed to work.

The bike lock up facility and shop underground are very convenient and there are lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Not a terrible resort but I would stay elsewhere next time as there are lots of places to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suchaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Viva Blue & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Viva Blue Hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the shortcomings during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on several occasions. Rest assured that your feedback will be addressed to the concerned department heads for immediate improvement, to avoid disappointment of the same issues in the future. We value your comments and want to make sure that all our guests feel comfortable. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Miquel Villalonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited during the Easter break - weather was lovely (low 20's), but as reviews have said before the pools were very, very cold. Accommodation was great - we had a privilege room which come with a private garden, hammock, sunbeds etc, lovely for our family of 3. We found the kitchen perfectly useable for self catering purposes but we did have to be a bit creative due to the size (2 rings + microwave). The rooms were kept very clean and are well maintained. The complex is a short walk from the beach, however if you do visit at this time of year be aware that many shops and restaurants have not yet opened for the season. For our 4 year old Son the high point was the childrens club and mini-disco. A big shout out to Amelii, Dominique, Sofia, Tam and especially Jonas for making the holiday special for Samuel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vleeplee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,505 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Blue & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Blue & Spa

Property: Viva Blue & Spa
Address: Passeig de Bateman, s/n, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Blue & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shopping district, just 200 m from Playa de Muro’s magnificent beach, and close to the S’Albufera Natural Park, Viva Blue is the perfect base for a fabulous family or couples’ holiday in the north of Majorca. It is ideal for families with children as it offers a complete array of amenities: swimming pool with water games and Pirate Boat, and an exciting entertainment program, including activities and dancing in the mini-disco. Couples, meanwhile, can enjoy an exclusive getaway and relax in the harmony of our elegant chill-out pool. It comprises facilities which are perfectly adapted for sports lovers and particularly suitable for triathletes. It includes a heated 25-metre outdoor pool, with 6 2-metre lanes. It also boasts a fully equipped gym And a fully equipped, new store/repair shop for cyclists makes it great for sports lovers too. Moreover, the hotel organises excursions with a guide. Our Balneum Spa & Wellness Center offer an even wider range of services to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Blue & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Blue Hotel Playa De Muro
Viva Blue Playa De Muro
Viva Blue & Spa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing