We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel”
Review of Viva Blue & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viva Blue & Spa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Just spent 8 days at viva blue great hotel very very clean excellent staff only thing that i didn't like or if i was to go back i would go bed and breakfast. The breakfast was very good the pool side restaurant was also very good. I found the evening buffet although very good not to my taste a lot of veal and fish, i would have preferred the ale carte restaurant with the choice of steaks and kebabs this is not included in your all in deal or have eaten outside for a change of scenery . The pools were fab no bother getting sun loungers great place for children the entertainment staff where flat out all day and night keeping every body happy also the over 18 pool was just bliss the beech is just 5 mins walk the area around hotel is quite not overly busy this a very family orientated hotel not so many British guests so if u want company go with a couple family's and u will not go wrong or if the viva hotel chain is like this i would not hesitate to back

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    279
    55
    9
    4
See reviews for
702
115
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We have just returned from our 4th holiday at the Viva Blue hotel and had another fantastic time there. Why do we go back? The other guests are very friendly (mainly Scandinavian, although there a few few returning Brit's - Hi the Bristol gang)), the facilities in the hotel are first class, the staff are great - all very friendly and good with the kids, the entertainment staff a brilliant (Hi Simon and the gang), overall there is nothing that we can fault.
Eating outside the hotel, which buy the way serves great food, the buffet being very good and reasonable, there are a few restaurants, the best being Topo Gigio's & Boy. Not much else to do in the resort, although the beach is good, but if you want too you can catch a taxi or bus into the much (much) busier Alcudia. See you all again next year (we hope).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitty0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We found this to be a very nice hotel, though we only stayed on a self-catering basis as we prefer to pick and choose what we do and where we eat. The pools are great for all and there is even a relaxation pool for over 18's only. The rooms were cleaned and beds made every day except Wednesday. The main problem we had was gettng a place around the pool. When you arrive you are given an information pack and in it the hotel says that towels placed on sunbeds are not allowed and will be removed - there is even a notice on an information board saying the same - but it just doesn't happen. Unless you are prepared to get up at the crack of dawn, i.e before the Germans, you will not get a sunbed. We asked the staff and the holiday rep about this happening but apparently 'that's the way it is'. So if you are going to stay at this hotel take your Union Jack towel and your can of Carling and get up early - or go to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappygolferCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We've just returned from Viva Blue.
What we loved: Fantastic pool area - we counted 5 pools for different purposes and depth. Superb relaxing lounge with nice jacuzzi-swimming pool and beds. Spacious pool for small children + another children pool with "toy hills and waterfalls". Nice and clean playground, lots of organized activities for children including Bufo club. Short way to the beach.
Other matters: Apartments are just ok, a bit old futniture, but all is clean. The show in the evening is rather low quality, the costumes were obviously not ironed and the actors were tired during the performance. The area around the hotel is a bit dull - just usual turist-shops and restaurants, if you need some more expensive shops og restaurants you need to go to the Port of Alcudia, where you can be taken by bus nr.2 for 1,5 euro.
General impression - fantastic facilities for children, super beach, but not so much other interesting around.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escalobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANGDON HILLS ESSEX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed at Viva Blue during the 1st week of April, we found the all staff to be very helpful and friendly.
The hotel itself is very large, with two large outdoor pools (which were being cleaned whilst we stayed but it was too cold to go in them anyway), a fantastic kiddies pool with slides and shutes, and a chill out pool for adults only. The indoor pool was a little chilly but a lovely area to sit and relax in.
Because it was early season alot of the surrounding restaurants were closed, so we ate at the hotel on a couple of occasions. The selection of food available was excellent and of a high quality and standard, It cost approx 15€ which was very good value for money as the price of food outside was really dear.
The hotel is situated about 3 minutes from a glorious beach which was clean, shallow and great for kids. Would recommend this hotel to any one with kids!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PALM-TREE-SUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham. UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The Hotel was nice but we could not use the outdoor pool as it had not been cleaned ready for the season. The indoor pool was very small and freezing, not heated at all!
The other fault was there was no disabled parking, we had to park at the side of the hotel, which was a long walk to the room through the hotel, the 4 spaces outside of the hotel were used for staff parking, no disabled spaces.
We have a 9 year old disabled son in a wheelchair, I had asked for a ground floor room in my booking, we were given a first floor! we complained, it was an oversight on their part and we were moved.
Not disabled friendly!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamonds_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Viva Blue in October 08 with our one year old son. We were quite nervous about travelling with a baby as we hadn't done it before.

The hotel were very accommodating and provided us with a cot for our son which was very clean and his sheets were changed each day when the ladies cleaned our apartment.

There was a shop on the complex which had all the basic needs but the baby foods and nappies were expensive. Fortunately we had used a company called www.baby-holidays.com who delivered all our baby products to the hotel for us. I spoke to the hotel beforehand and they were more than happy to accept the delivery for us. It was reassuring to see the parcel in our room when we opened the door.

The apartment was spacious although the kitchen was very much a kitchenette. It had a hob, a fridge, a sink and a microwave but no kettle. It had basic kitchen items like pans and plates etc. It wasn't somewhere that you could have full self catering.

The TV channels were limited but our son was happy to watch Spanish 'In The Night Garden' anyway.

We had a view over the pool and the balcony was very spacious and safe for children to crawl on.

There was an indoor and an outdoor pool and as the weather wasn't great we used the indoor pool more. Our son loved it as it was reasonably warm although I think it could've been a bit warmer. The outdoor pool was just too cold to use and when we did dip our feet in it then it just wasn't particularly welcoming. It was however very clean.

The other facilities included a children's play pool with loads of activities, a kid's club, a kid's playground with swings, slide, trampoline and climbing frame, a football pitch, launderette, gym and a quiet area for over 18 only which had lovely large sunbeds (like double beds) and a swimming pool.

The dinner buffet and the pool snack bar were lovely and very reasonably priced. We found that in October there wasn't a massive choice or foods outside the hotel (mainly pizza, chicken nuggets and sandwiches) so we ate in more than we ate out.

We didn't really the to see the entertainment in the evening as we had mostly early nights (as you do with a little one!) but they sounded quite loud and great fun for the older kids and for adults too.

The staff at the hotel were really lovely. They were so helpful with advice on where to go for some sightseeing, how to get there, places to eat if we wanted to, and they helped entertain our baby at mealtimes.

I would imagine that in peak season this place is fantastic with loads of people and fun going on but it was a little too quiet for us. Saying that though it was a good practice for us and reassured us that we could use a company like Baby Holidays in a place like this hotel and that they would be so helpful to us.

I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, service and friendly atmosphere.

  • Liked — The service and friendly staff
  • Disliked — The kitchen in the room was too small
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MummyMemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,506 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Blue & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Blue & Spa

Property: Viva Blue & Spa
Address: Passeig de Bateman, s/n, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Blue & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shopping district, just 200 m from Playa de Muro’s magnificent beach, and close to the S’Albufera Natural Park, Viva Blue is the perfect base for a fabulous family or couples’ holiday in the north of Majorca. It is ideal for families with children as it offers a complete array of amenities: swimming pool with water games and Pirate Boat, and an exciting entertainment program, including activities and dancing in the mini-disco. Couples, meanwhile, can enjoy an exclusive getaway and relax in the harmony of our elegant chill-out pool. It comprises facilities which are perfectly adapted for sports lovers and particularly suitable for triathletes. It includes a heated 25-metre outdoor pool, with 6 2-metre lanes. It also boasts a fully equipped gym And a fully equipped, new store/repair shop for cyclists makes it great for sports lovers too. Moreover, the hotel organises excursions with a guide. Our Balneum Spa & Wellness Center offer an even wider range of services to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Blue & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Blue Hotel Playa De Muro
Viva Blue Playa De Muro
Viva Blue & Spa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing