We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eix Lagotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eix Lagotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Eglinton, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The staff all work incredibly hard here at the Lagotel and do their very best for all the guests. We stayed here for 11 nights AI, 12/jul/11-23/jul/11. We went here for a family holiday with our 2 kids aged 12.
Upon arrival we were promptly received at reception and given key to lovely room 307 overlooking the lake. The room was spacious, clean and had a balcony. Only thing missing was a kettle! Hairdrier provided in bathroom , saves space in suitcase.Plenty of wardrobe space and kids had their own little room off main room. Bathroom clean with bath and shower over bath. Clean towels 6 days a week. Room cleaned daily.
Facilities at Lagotel are plentiful. Hubby enjoyed rifle/pistol shooting each morn and kids loved the pool. We used the salt water pools and the pool area was kept very clean. No trouble getting sunbeds here.
Played crazy Golf ( small charge applies), enjoyed it but mozzies were bit annoying.
Evening entertainment was good. Kids liked disco, Loved BINGO and most of the shows were very good. Enjoyed Charity night best. You need to be out quite early to get a seat for shows and make sure to wear lot of repellant as mossies are a nightmare.
Food was ok, always something to eat. Breakfast def the best. Always plenty of fresh fruit and crusty rolls available.
Bus to the beach at playa muro or 10min stroll. Beach is BEAUTIFUL!!!! The water is like a bath and is safe for children as does not shelve. Quite a few lifeguards on beach as well which is good. Ate lunch in nice place in playa muro near beach, had great chicken mayo baguettte, kids had chicken fillet n chips, fresh orange juice, we had water n beer all for under 20e.
Market worth a vist in old town. taxi costs approx12e from lagotel to old town.
Went to Western Water park on day excursion with No Frills( booked at hotel reception)
was a waste of money. We we there 7 years ago and since then a lot of things have changed. Used to be pony rides for kids, little shops etc. These have all gone. Now they expect u to pay for rubber ring to go on Lazy River!!!! Needless to say would not reccommend the place.
Went into Peurto Alcudia and the Marina. Nice to have look about.
Took taxi to Peurto Pollensa along coast as wed stayed in this resort before. Beautiful picturesque place with lovely prom featuring great sand sculptures. Some good shops and nice restaurants along sea front and up in the square. we ate here that night and had a lovely meal.
Visted Can Picafort which is also lovely. It has good shops and a lovely promenade.

Didn't see any cockroaches at Lagotel or in the resort at all which was great.
Kids were disappointed that wave lenght club no longer runs or the swim academy but that is not Lagotel fault.

We had no trouble at all with noise, getting to sleep or kids running around during our stay. If you want absolute quite why come to a family hotel?
We met some great people here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Lakeview as nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank milliemooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    804
    343
    116
    61
See reviews for
1,204
377
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks,
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This the second time i have been to the lagotel, the last time in 2009 and was just as good as before.....apart from the mozzies.....

We came in 2009 and really loved the hotel and my little boy who was 4 then, had a such a good time, so when looking for a hotel with my boy is is now 6 and my daughter who is 17 months old, we decided to come back to the lagotel.

You read on hear some reviews, which make you think that this is a horrible place to go and to stay away and yes this might not be for everyones taste, especially couples looking for a quiet hotel or for families with older teenagers. But is you are a family with young children, you will love this place.

The entertainment team was the same as in 2009, Fabian is amazing and had a good sense of humour,and is adored by most, concha is loved by all the kids and has so much energy, and Dave the football coach, well he is quiet and does his job well but has a laugh and if you get to see him in the rep show Grease, you will have a good laugh, as he is 1 step behind everyone else..... 2 left feet come to mind..

all 3 put so much effort in to what they do, they do all the daily sport activities and they dont go round hassling people to join in, reason being is that people WANT to participate, always 20 plus people doing the events.

The food in the restaurant was good, not brilliant, but by no means rubbish, at breakfast you have a variety of choices, cereals, continental, fresh fruit, and the good old sausage, eggs (boiled and scrambled), beans, bacon etc at dinner there was different carvery's every other night, pork, beef, ribs etc, then you have fresh salads, cold meats, cold fish, hot fish, hot meats, and the kids have their own section, with chips,, chicken, etc, if you like deserts, there was different cakes, fruits, yoghurts and 6 different varaties of ice creams and some that i have never had before, i never used the restaurant a lunch, as i used the pool bar, which had the same every day, burgers, hot dogs, chips, nuggets and a coolers, which as fruit and basic salads, but for me and the kids, this was enough.

i had no issue with the cleanliness of the hotel, the rooms was where cleaned every day apart form sunday and towels were always changed if we left them in the bath, the rest of the hotel was always clean and you hardly ever saw the maintenance staff as not needed, apart from the huge water leak in the restaurant, which was sorted out very quickly. The reception staff was always helpful and adhered to any needs we had.

Yes there are kids running around, but this is all in good spirits, it is a family hotel and they are having fun, shame there is not more for the older teenagers, as they just hung out in the lobby. They did make some noise, but was usually over by 12,30 at the latest and considering the shows finished pre midnight, they was no issues.

Bingo is a must and can win some good money, some nights the lines was 200 euros and the house got up to nearly 700 euros, but make sure you get a seat by 8 pm, as seats are taken early for the mini disco.

They also have a good way on the sun beds...The gates are shut and do not open till 10 am, so you have to queue up. But you dont have to get up at 5am to put your towels out, we had breakfast and the wife joined the queue about 9.15, but by the time i got the kids ready, the wife had our usual spot every day and yes grown men do the 100 metre sprint to get their beds and parasol, but people did turn up at 11 and still got beds, but had no parasol. Some woman in the queue did suggest paying for the right to reserve your beds... which a few people gave her funny looks..

there is a courtesy bus to the beach, but we walked every time as it is only 10 minutes walk.

6 pools, 3 mild salt water across the road and 3 chlorine on the hotel side
all in all a good holiday......and my boy made some good friends and yes tears where shed when they all went home

there are a few things that can be improved, Please get Dino out longer, 5 minutes is definately not enough, as when he does come out there is a mad rush for kids, also please get first choice to bring back a few clubs, swim club, wavelength for the older kids and the creche certainly was missed.

will definetly come back again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have just returned from a week long stay in the Lagotel self catering apartments. We travelled with our 2 children 3 1/2yr and 1 1/2 yr old. I found the hotel reception lovely and modern, check in was speedy and our room was very clean and spacious. There was a hairdryer supplied which was a nice bonus! However no electric kettle just a kettle to use on the cooker. An iron is available free of charge from reception.
LOCATION: Good location, around a 5 -10 minute leisurely walk to the local supermarket and nearest bars and restaurants (outwith the hotel complex). The beach is around a further 5 minute walk and is absolutely stunning, white sand, crystal clear waters. Theres also a free shuttle bus running to the beach and local shops every 30 minutes and is very punctual. Around a 5 minute or less taxi ride to Alcudia.
FOOD: I was not impressed with the food in the hotel to be honest. As i mentioned already we were self catering but i would say the majority of guests were all inclusive. On our first evening we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant for convienece sake. it was very busy - hectic even. The food was only OK and im glad i wasnt stuck eating there for the rest of the week.
POOLS: The swimming pools in the Lagotel are lovely and clean and there are 2 large seperate pools and 2 seperate baby pools. However I could not believe that people actually queued to get a sunbed!! We didnt queue any of the days and always got 2 beds together right beside the baby pool.
ENTERTAINMENT: There is plenty to do around the hotel. There is an entertainment team who organise activities during the day e.g table tennis/pool competitions, water volley ball. And there was a childrens disco every evening followed by bingo and then a show. When we were there the shows were magic shows, singers, acrobats. We didnt see the entire show every night as we usually ate outside the hotel and came back half way through the show. One negative point is the entertainment goes on until midnight every night and is quiet loud right up until then even if you are in your room, BUT it did stop at 12 on the button each night.
OTHER ACTIVITIES: There is mini golf, table tennis, air hockey, tennis and football pitches all extra but not at all expensive eg €2 per person for golf. These were of a very good standard and well run. KIDS CLUB: We signed our son up to the kids club but he didnt attend it at all, he slept in late most mornings and wanted to stay by the pool in the afternoons. But the kids entertainment team were very nice and friendly and there was always plenty of kids attending the club so it appeared to be of a good standard.
OVERALL: I would return to the Lagotel, the staff on the most part were very helpful and friendly. It is very clean and nice in appearance. I would not go all inclusive due to the standard of food but consider this a great base for a holiday in playa de muro and alcudia.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room (quieter in evenings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louburkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

we stayed at this hotel the first 2 weeks in july, 2 adults 3 kids. check in only took a matter of minuites,reception staff were always friendly and helpful, we were given a first floor room overlooking the lake.the room was spacious and the kids had their own bedroom.the balcony was also very large. we would sit on our balcony with a few drinks after the entertainment finished and the kids were in bed and to disagree with some previous reviews you could hear a pin drop! no noisy people at all.the noisest things were the fish in the lake splashing!the food was mostly excellent even with fussy children.the snack bars during the day were good with pizza,hotdogs,burgers etc.drinks were 10am to 12am and all self service apart from spirits but there was never any big ques.the drinks were definitly generous measures and the barstaff were friendly.we tended to use the saltwater pools as they were the perfect depths for our kids.all the animation staff were excellent at the hotel,never have i had such a good time playing bingo!! first choice kids clubs were again excellent. the beach and surrounding area is lovely,plenty shops,bars,restaurants etc.we walked into alcudia twice and only takes about 30mins,plenty buses but the walk along the beach is great.the kart track in alcudia was great.i would definitly return to this hotel had a great time, was really sad to leave!

Room Tip: lake view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, E-COMMERCE at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Hola
Thanks for your possitive review.
We like to know what our guests thinks and to improove where needed and possible.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just had two weeks at Lagotel. We absolutely loved it! The entertainment team are wonderful. My kids loved the mini discos. Fabian is hilarious and the kids adored him. Concha (mini mouse), Lana, Dave and Sarah are also brilliant with the kids.
The pool across the Rd is nicer than the main pool, ditto for that snack bar. The main restaurant produces some really high quality food considering the quantities they are churning out - gorgeous salads, rice and pasta. You may struggle if your a heavy meat eater. But burger king is at the top of the Rd. ;)
Also cheers bar around the corner do a gud English breakfast for 2/3 euros. Smiths up the Rd is also a fab eating establishment. The pizzas are not to be missed.
The beach is fab. The shuttle is regular but it's well within walking distance even if you are lazy like me.
The shops near the beach are cheaper than Alcudia and the mini Market at nite is good for souveniers.
Only drawback - the mosquitoes are TERRIBLE with being On the lake. Take all known repellents!!
Fab holiday. Absolutely loved it! X

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keztee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Hola
Thanks, we all liked your review, specially entertainers where very happy.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Visited Lagotel for the 3rd time. So much for children to do with 2 pools and fantastic kids club. Reps so helpful. Upgraded to all inclusive. Well worth it.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ellcrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

recently back from lagotel in alcudia....we were there in 2009 and we would certainly go back again...great place for familys up to 15 yrs old...comfortable clean and food excellant unless you are very very fussy........

Room Tip: rooms facing pool area are the best rooms as you will have the sun in the evenings as you get ready...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaybowire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Hola
Thanks for your nice quick review.
Hope to see you for the third time next seasson.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
1.5 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
4.9 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#15 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
32.3 mi away
BQ Belvedere Hotel
BQ Belvedere Hotel
#27 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
31.1 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eix Lagotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eix Lagotel

Property: Eix Lagotel
Address: Circuit del Llac s/n | Urbanizacion las Gaviotas, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eix Lagotel 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complex comprising hotel and apartments in the Platja de Muro, situated next to the natural park of s’Albufera. The park is formed by grassy areas, dunes and salt marshes and is of great ornithological and scenic value, and is surrounded by two gardens of approximately 200m² each with a lake and jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eix Lagotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagotel Hotel Playa De Muro
Lagotel Alcudia
Lagotel Majorca
Eix Lagotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing