We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be returning!!!”
Review of Eix Lagotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eix Lagotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will not be returning!!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

stayed at lagotel 19th june - 3rd july and will never go back. stayed all inclusive as we do on all our holidays and never been to anywhere quite like the lagotel. FOOD- was terrible. had to go out to eat most nights as we could not find anything that looked remotely edible. ENTERTAINMENT-was ok if you are travelling with young kids...mine are 11 and 15, too old for mini discos etc..shows were terrible, i hate football but found myself sat watching the euro2012 just to escape the shows. BEACH-was lovely, well worth a visit. ACTIVITIES- plenty of sporting activities..tennis, football, mini golf, squash...ALL AT A COST!!!! nothing is included in ALL INCLUSIVE which we have never come across before, having to pay every time my sporty son wanted to step foot on footie pitch soon adds up if your their 2 weeks. SWIMMING POOLS- well you have to see it to believe it!!! gates open at 10am and its a mad rush to get your towel on a sunbed, if you dont start queueing at 9, go to the beach as you wont get a bed. no reserving sunbeds with towels was a joke..people would put towels across all beds they wanted and then go out for day, returning late afternoon and stii having their spot by pool. ROOMS-very basic, had to share one room with hubby and kids, broken beds not fixed or replaced for whole of stay. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nik906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    846
    363
    122
    67
See reviews for
1,258
424
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of July and can't really say we enjoyed the experience. The hotel is very tired and in need of refurbishment in all areas.

We stayed in a kids suite which was a good sized room, however there was no playstation as advertised and the kids TV did not work. The towels were changed as regularly as you want them to be but the room was often not swept or cleaned. Our cleaner was very rude, shouting across the room at me for closing the balcony door as she was too hot. The bathroom had a dreadful stench of sewage which we spoke to reception about and they sent a cleaner up who poured bleach down the toilet and sprayed some air freshener which only masked the smell for a while. The smell was coming from every drain, especially the sink.

We were fortunate to have a room overlooking the lake which was away from the noise of the entertainment, however the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from people talking, children shouting and running up and down the corridors to furniture scraping along the floor, this went on into the early hours.

The pool areas are a good size and there are always plenty of sunbeds - the gates to the pool are not opened until 10am. The downside is that the pool areas are not cleaned at night, the result being people becoming ill (including my partner) with ear infections and conjunctivitis.

With regards to the restaurant it was a case of if you're not fast you get whatever is left. The food was not replenished after the first hour of so of service and you were lucky if your food was warm. There was a reasonable amount of choice but the food was not enjoyable - some of it inedible. Another major issue was the restaurant floor - it was lethal. It was so slippy, my son fell on a number of occasions as did many others.

The one godsend was the courtesy bus that ran every 30mins from the hotel up to the beach and back. The drivers were all very pleasant and friendly and took great pride in keeping their bus clean.

This was the first holiday we've went on where we were actually glad to be coming home. We certainly won't be returning and many other people we spoke to were of the same opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Hola
Thanks for your review, it's very helpful.
About the Play Station, sorry, they are not in the room, you have to collect it from the reception and leave a depossit, necessary because some ps are disapeared....
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday from the Lagotel and will definitely not be returning or recommending this Hotel to anybody.
The Hotel is so noisy as the corridors to the Bedrooms are open plan. Not a great idea and not very good when only getting a couple of hours sleep as many people waking you up!!
The Dining Area is an accident waiting to happen as the floor is just so slippery my daughter nearly went flying a few times along with myself!! Food is not great and most of the time was just lukewarm.
Bedroom was not that clean and bed sheets pretty discusting, also towels in bathroom were not replaced and they had just picked them up of the floor and folded neatly and hung back on towel hangers (absolute discusting)..
I found the staff that worked at the hotel were very miserable not very friendly and the animation team were not great at all!!! The only great guy was Dave who did the activities pity you don't have more staff like him.
The sinks in the Bedrooms absolutely stunk awful of sewers, not a nice smell to wake upto.
On last day we requested an early morning call as we had a plane to catch and was advised we would get one, but never did!!
I am very surprised that this hotel is 3 star more like 2 star and also can not believe that Thompsons actually recommend this hotel to anybody!!!!

Room Tip: I would not recommend any room in this Hotel as very tired and needs a good refurbishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Hola
Thankf for your review, it will help us not to forget that we have to keep working hard and improoving.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford,Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have just returned from a 10days all inclusive holiday at the Lagotel, I have to say that I cannot fault the hotel, it had wonderful entertainment and the kids club was brilliant. Special thanks to Claire and Adam Ant. We travelled with 2 kids aged 9 and 5, they had a fantastic time, there was plenty of activities for them and the evening entertainment was great family fun. Had great fun playing bingo( Thanks to Fabian and the entertainment team) The food was lovely and we always found something that we liked and there was plenty of options. (The restaurant floor was very slippery.. that's the only negitive comment I have.) I have to mention that our holiday was enhanced by the fact that we met some of the nicest people who we had drinks with most nights, So thanks to Angie and Bob and Kids, Jen and Keenan and Kids and Derek and kids. (Ye made the holiday for us) We Would highly recommend this hotel and we are considering booking again for next year. The old town of Alcudia is beautiful and well worth a visit, the market is lovely, pop into Bar Nou and say hello to Pedro for a lovely typical Spainish Bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hola
Many thanks for your nice words.
We hope to see you again next year.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed in the Lagotel for last 2 weeks of June it was our 1st time going all inclusive,we had a fantastic time there.The hotel is one of the older hotels in the area but we could not complain about one thing there.The staff are really friendly and very helpful ,the food was great,our rooms were cleaned daily,the entertainment at night was fantastic something for all ages.Fabian and co were brillant had the kids rocking every night before the bingo [olivia was lucky to win it twice during our stay so she was very happy] .We met some fantastic people who have been going there for many years and i think that says a lot for the hotel and its staff .We used the salt water pool across the road every day no problem getting a bed anytime of day and also the free shuttle bus is a great service to and from beach leaves hotel every 30 mins from 9.30 in morning to 9.00 at night Bar areas are cleared by 1am at night ..We will be recommending the Lagotel to all and returning there again ourselves.

Room Tip: We had pool view on 4th floor and no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hola
Many thanks for your nice review.
We will be very happy to see you again in Lagotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here with my son & my family& friends, had a fab time, rooms were big & cleaned everyday. Food was always hot in the restaurant, the staff in the restaurant always cleaning around :) plenty of pools, good entertainment, kids loved it:) only complaint is the pool areas need to be cleaned at a night!!! this for me was the only problem! x

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Hola
Thanks for your short and nice opinion.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks,
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at the lagotel for 2 weeks, from 20th June till 4th July 2 adults and 2 kids 2 and 7.

This is the 3rd time we have been in the last 4 years and we brought along my cousin, his wife and his 3 kids (2, 5 & 7).

At the lagotel, you will either lover it or hate it. You will hate if you are a couple or are looking for a quiet hotel, it is family orientated so don’t expect it to be quiet.

Arrival

We arrived at 11am and there was 4 other families checking in at the same time, and we were dealt with very quickly and were made welcome by the staff checking us in and they had a little laugh with the kids. I was surprised that our room was ready, as in the past we had to wait. But we were in our room within 10 minutes.

Room

I had room 303 which overlooked the lake and has a separate bedroom for the kids. It was spacious and has plenty of room. It was cleaned daily, with beds made, towels replaced if left in the bath and was mopped. The only day they do not do a full clean is on Sundays.

Pools

There are 2 set of pool, one hotel side and the other across the road. The one on the hotel side is chlorine and is the busier of the 2, where all the daily activities take place, water polo etc. The one across the road is light salt water based and is a little quieter and you don’t get asked to be involved or here the activities across at the hotel.

I spent nearly all the time in the pool across the road. There are 3 separate pools. And they all vary in depth. A baby pool which is about 60cm deep, the middle pool, which is about 1.2 m deep and the deep pool, which is about 1.8m deep. They are slightly cool at first, but once you are in and the sun warms them up, they are lovely to be in.

The pools are constantly checked to make sure they were clean and there was always a lifeguard monitoring the pools.

You read on here people moaning that the pool areas are not finished, I don’t know what they are on about. The areas around the pool are tarmaced and can hurt you feet, but this does stop you slipping over when wet and when kids are running, as kids love to do, you know they wont slip.

Both pools don’t open the gates until 10, which for us was perfect, as it allowed us to get up, have breakfast as a family, get ready and be down to the gate to get the beds we wish. If you turn up late, there were always beds available, but you would be on the grass areas.

The pool across the road closes at 6 and the one on the hotel side closes at 9.

Food

For a 3 * All inclusive, the food was very good, if you come expecting 5 * food. Then please book a hotel that is 5* and pay the prices.

Breakfast

There is so much choice, if you have the hot food, there is bacon, 2 types of sausage, 4 types of eggs, boiled, fried, scrambled or as an omelette. Baked bean, tomatoes. If you don’t like this there was 4/5 types of cereals, lots of different fruits, pastries such are croissants, donuts etc, different flavours of yoghurts or you could have toast and there was 4/5 different breads. Yes the toasters are slow. As everyone likes their toast done differently. Some had to put their through a couple of times.

Lunch

We had lunch at the pool bar and it is limited, but was adequate for us, you had pizza, burgers, pasta, nuggets, and chips and in the silver fridge there was fruit and salad.

We never used the restaurant inside, but heard there was lots of choice.

Dinner

Again there is so much choice, every other night there is a carvery of some meat, we had, beef, lamb, pork and chicken. If you don’t want this there is plenty of salads, pasta dishes, cold fish such as prawns, pilchards, tuna etc and they had a different hot fish dish too. There are hot meats, we had beef steak, veal steak, and lovely chunky ribs and there is a variety of cold meats also available. There is a different soup every night; there is Spanish dishes such paella. And there are some chips too.

The kids have a different section, which has chips, nuggets, chicken strips, beans, peas, pasta. Etc

There are 6 different ice creams (not labelled), fruits, jelly and 7/8 different cakes

I have a wife which is very fussy with her food in the UK, but she did not complain once.

Staff

This place would not be a good if was not for Fabien, Dave, Talia and the first choice kids reps.

Fabien is the main compare and runs the daytime and night time activities and works his socks off. Lagotel would not be the same without him; he has light hearted banter with the adults and kids. Dave looks after some sports, but mainly football. And every night he runs a kids football club for 1 hour (2 Euros) so when bingo is on the kids are taken care of.

The first choice reps do there best to make sure the kids are looked after either in the kids club that they run or at night, where they mingle with the guests or set up face or nail painting. My kids loved Mark and Danielle.

The bar staff like to have a laugh too and like to have a bit if banter.

The rest of the staff was smiling and courteous majority of the time

Entertainment

Don’t forget it is 3 *, so your not going to get the top class entertainers, but we had some very goods act. Robbie Williams, Beatles and Rudd Stewards Tributes were good, the rock back which was very good, we had a couple of good magicians, the Kenyan boys doing acrobatics where very good and the reps shows on Fridays where very funny, we saw both Cinderella and Greece (was good to see concha back to help out too, even though she was on holiday) the only down side if Saturday nights. That wasn’t the best.

All entertainment starts at 8,30 with kids mini disco, which goes on for 30 min, then is bingo with Fabien, which costs 1 euro a strip of 6 for 5 Euros, prizes got u to 150 euro for a line and £477 for a house. Then the acts start around 10ish.

By midnight all entertainment is finished and the bars start to close.

AOB

The hotel is situated about 10/15 minute walk frpm the beech, where we walked to a few times during the day and at nihgt, but there is a free shuttle bus run by the hotel. The beech is lovely white sand and the sea is shallow and you can walk out for about 150 metres and it will still be at your waist. At night there is a little market where you can buy a few nick nacks, such as bags, bracelets, glasses etc

Mozzies - as i had been before i knew to take some strong repellant and not of us (9 people) got bit untill the last day and i got bit on my hand. There is a lot of people who did get bit, but they did not use any repellant.

We and the kids made some good friend and We will definitely book again and my cousin is already talking about coming back at the end of the season.

all in all a good break. keep up the good work and see you next year

Room Tip: rooms over looking the lake are quiters, rooms ending 01,02,03,04,05,06, and 07
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hola
We enjoyed reading your review, many thanks
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
1.5 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,059 reviews
4.9 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#22 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,966 reviews
32.3 mi away
BQ Belvedere Hotel
BQ Belvedere Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,111 reviews
36.9 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eix Lagotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eix Lagotel

Property: Eix Lagotel
Address: Circuit del Llac s/n | Urbanizacion las Gaviotas, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Muro
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eix Lagotel 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complex comprising hotel and apartments in the Platja de Muro, situated next to the natural park of s’Albufera. The park is formed by grassy areas, dunes and salt marshes and is of great ornithological and scenic value, and is surrounded by two gardens of approximately 200m² each with a lake and jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Onthebeach, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eix Lagotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagotel Hotel Playa De Muro
Lagotel Alcudia
Lagotel Majorca
Eix Lagotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing