We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinsotel La Dorada
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Ålesund, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely and family friendly”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at this resort last August as well, and we instantly wanted to go back. So when this year's holiday was planned, we quickly decided for La Dorada. The staff is friendly, helpful and everyone we spoke to is good at english (luckily, as our Spanish is very limited). The hotel-area is great, a secluded space in between the buildings, with a great swimming pool in several departments, even with an outdoor "jacuzzi" which the children loved. The "babies pool" is way too cold though. Think it is strange that the pool for small children is colder than for the adults.

Last time we stayed, the outdoor area was spotlessly clean, and the pool area were hosed down every morning. This year they seem to have decided to save a penny, so there were quite a few leaves and rubbish on the walkways. This is a drawback, but all in all the outdoor area is great.

The pool bar has food and drinks at affordable prices, so lunching there is no problem. The rooms are of good size, and everything is kept clean and delicate.

The surroundings are good, with plenty of restaurants, although after 14 days, we were a bit eager to try something else. But the centre of Alcudia is only a short bus-trip away, so we decided to take a few evenings there.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to everyone, and we wish you a happy stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building 2 or 3, on floor 2 or 3, facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestC0astTrav3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    329
    64
    24
    7
See reviews for
742
127
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just got back from a stay at the prinsotel with my wife.We took two of my wifes sisters children.We landed on the 12th of august and would you believe it there was a coach strike (just our luck!!!).It took nearly 3 hours to get to the hotel after we had dropped off all the other guests to the other hotels.
We arrived at the hotel and we were dropped off and there was no rep with us at all we were just left to it.
The hotel looked very nice on first impressions and the reception was air conditioned and the service was very good.We paid for a safe in the room Which cost 20 euros of which 5 euros is returned when you hand the key back.We paid for the remote control for the television which was 20 euros but you get all 20 euros back when you hand the controller back when you check out.
When we finally got our room (which was 1pm and that was early because you have to wait for the rooms to be cleaned as the guests dont check out till 12) we were very surprised.The room was immaculate and the two 37 inch plasma screen televisions in the bedroom and the lounge area went down very well.The kitchen area was very small but we managed.The bathroom was very very spacious with a bath a shower in the bath and a toilet and a bide oh and another shower a walk in shower.
The televisions were digital and there were plenty of english channels for the kids ie:disney channel and cbeebies and bbc 1 and bbc 2 just some examples.
The swimming pools well they speak for themselves they are fantastic.
The food well we were only bed and breakfast and thank god we were.The food was that bad that we only went to breakfast twice in our whole stay.We would much rather pay for breakfast than let the kids eat what was served up.The food is the only disappointment about this hotel on the whole and we would use this hotel again as it has much to offer its guests.
The maid service was very good and the pools and garden area very well maintained.
The indoor pool was small but again the kids enjoyed it very much.There was a jacuzzi and a gym and although we didnt use either they looked very good.
We never saw our rep all holiday and when we did try and see danielle (our rep) she was never there even though the board and card said she was supposed to be.We missed our meeting as we went to bed at midnight and we woke to find a note under the door saying the meeting was at 09:45 and it was half ten.Thats natalies loss.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaandmarkdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The hotel grounds, pool and rooms were lovely. Efficient maid service every day. Close to a lovely beach with gorgeous warm water.

However, be warned. Take notice of all the reviews on here regarding the food at the hotel. The quality is terrible and all luke warm. Both my sons and partner were very sick and I believe this was food poisoning. I spoke to others and we were not the only ones that had fallen ill. I did inform the hotel but they did not seem concerned.

We have previously been on plenty of holidays and food has always been ok and defo no sickness so pretty sure there is a problem at the hotel. Would not return im afraid!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This is my first time writing a review for a trip I made, the hotel is indeed a fabulous family place.

I went there with my wife and two daughters (3 & 7), the hotel is a few minutes walk from a lovely sandy beach with shallow turquoise waters

Both my daughters loved the place and specially the entertainment, the staff were very friendly and looked after the girls very well, they have tons of activities and always engaged the children, special thanks to the team "La Dorada Animacion", namely: Thera, Theresa, Seier and many others.

This place is great for families with young children for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Dabbagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Whow what a fantastic hotel, we were not sure what to expect as it was our first visit to Alcuida and after reading a few reviews we had a few concerns regarding out 13 year old son becomming bored. Not a chance he was was kept very busy all day by the entertainment team. They were a fabulous team, dedicated and good fun to be with, they definately helped to make our holiday one of the best.
Only downside for us was we did hired a car for 5 days but had the problem that out son didn,t want to go out, he was just happy staying around the hotel.
We had gone self catering, but we did mainly eat lunch at the pool bar, this was very nice and very resonable. Lots of lovely restaurants within walking distance, and plenty shops to browse around.
Our room was ample, we loved the big walk in shower, the only let down would be no oven in the kitchenette, you are very limited in what you can make to eat.
We will defianately be booking for next year, we met lots of fantastic people and made some lovely new friends too !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinandmands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Myself and my 2 teenagers stayed here for 10 days wef 25 July 2011. Room was spacious with bath and a shower with fridge and flat screen Samsung TV. No need to hire a remote as the buttons can be located on bottom of front panel. Panoramic views of the marshlands and distant mountains forming the Albefuira National Park from the 4th floor of this smart hotel makes it feel you are on holiday. Plenty of wildlife and we were lucky to see some pink flamingos on the shallow lake. I would recommend exploring the park which has many interesting features. The beach at Playa de Muro is one of the best on the Island with its white sands and safe bathing as the shore line is extremely shallow. Food in the hotel was excellent and I was never bored with the menu ranging from Spanish tapas type dishes to the more traditional fayre such as loin of pork. My favourite was the massive paella pan which featured a different dish each evening. If you like a quiet type of holiday then this place is for you. The noisier entertainment can be found in the main resort of Alcudia which is 15 minutes by taxi. The hotel charges 25 Euros for a safe deposit in the room which is excessive as other hotels provide this free of charge. The bar/restaurant in the pool area is open all day and provides excellent service with a good range of pizzas, baguettes etc. If you walk out of the hotel along the main strip you will find it full of tacky shops selling a lot of old tat. The supermarkets provide a limited range of food so I would not recommend self catering as the rooms provide a very basic kitchen with 2 rings and a microwave wth no room at all to even swing a cat. The fridge was useful in keeping my Corona beer cool!!. The gym is a bit of a joke with no AC and limited availability of exercise machines so a run along the beach is the best option for those feeling energetic. I never return to the same hotel but I would recommend the Prinsotel for a friendly, relaxing, and very comfortable stay. By the way dont forget to take your lap top/itouch as free wifi is also available thereby saving on calls home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackholer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We, my three children and husband, stayed in this hotel for two weeks. We loved everything about this hotel but a couple of days before we were due to leave, my 4 year old son almost drowned in the pool. When we lifted him out of the water after he had been found face down in the pool by another child, we ran with him to the lifeguard station as he wasn't breathing. The lifeguard did not know what to do or how to handle the situation. Luckily, by chance the hotel manager happened to be in the pool restaurant and saw that we needed first aid assistance. He gave my son CPR and thank god saved his life. My son spent the next three days recovering in the local hospital, the staff of which were amazing. We have made a complaint about this life guard through email several times but have to this day received no apology or explanation why a lifeguard employed to look after a large, very busy selection of pools had no idea what to do when needed was there. Had the manager not being there my son would have died. Although I do recommend this hotel for it's cleanliness, restaurant facilities etc I would not recommend the life guard service. We took our eyes off our son for two minutes while he was at the shallow pool and it could have ended a lot worse for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karsert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,509 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Dorada

Property: Prinsotel La Dorada
Address: Crta. Alcudia - Arta, km 5.5, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinshotel La Dorada is next to Mallorca’s Albufera Nature Reserve, 200 metres from the beaches of Alcudia Bay. Set in lush gardens, it features a large outdoor pool, sauna and gym.All air-conditioned apartments have a private balcony and a lounge with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. There is a private bathroom, and a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The La Dorada complex has a sun terrace with loungers and parasols. There is a games room, and a court for playing tennis, basketball or volleyball. Daily evening entertainment is provided.There are 2 restaurants at the Prinsotel La Dorada, as well as a lounge bar and poolside bar.Prinsotel la Dorada has a 24-hour front desk, and Wi-Fi is offered for an additional charge. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk, and free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Prinsotel La Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Dorada Hotel Playa De Muro
Prinsotel Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing