We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinsotel La Dorada
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Excellent holiday hotel for family little fellow delighted especially with girls in kids club good food at pool bar during day pool area out of this world rooms nice and clean absolutely great value and ideal for family looking forward to returning in future

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dylantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

We travelled with two teenagers(17 & 13) to this hotel booked through Thomas Cook. The flights were excellent. On arrival at the hotel we were offerd a choice to two rooms, we had requested a room on the top floor overlooking the pool when we booked. The room was spacious, clean and air conditioned. The hotel is maintained to a very high standard. ALL the staff were friendly and polite. The room was cleaned every day and clean towels whenever you chose to have them changed (some of the towels were on the thin side but I'm sure had we asked for them to be changed it would not have been a problem). There is a snack bar during the day, the food is good and reasonably priced and a restaurant in the evening too. The lovely safe clean beach is only a five minute walk away. There are restaurants, shops and bars just around the corner from the hotel. The local bus (no. 2) takes you into Alcudia or the other way into C'an Picafort, its costs 1.50 euro each way. The bus is a circular service so you can get on the bus for the return journey at the same stop which you got off at. There are activities during the day and entertainment nightly. We had a lovely chilled out time and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleBlondeHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We wanted a quiet kid friendly hotel. If thats what you want then this hotel is ideal. Yes we got biten a couple of times by Mosquitos but everyone I talked to around the resort had been. It goes with the resort. Rooms were clean and well looked after. staff were friendly especially with kids. Pools are plentiful and we never wanted for a sun bed even after the crowds went out with their towels early in the morning. we only ate in the resturant the first night as we were self catering. the food was OK and the choice wide.
Entertainment in the evening was varied if a little predictible. Plently of 'convenience' shops locally but larger supermarkets such as Lidl are 10 minutes away on the bus (number 2)
5 minutes walk to excellent kid friendly beaches.
We will go back here again.....

Room Tip: block 5 is quite and close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A family of four with a 6 year old and a 13 year old, we traveled at the start of June for 11 nights. We booked off the hotel website, saving money and booking their taxi-transfer service from the Airport to hotel. The Taxi firm e-mailed me some days before hand with instructions as to where to meet their driver in the Airport. Sure enough, there was a bloke with our name on an I-Pad as opposed to the cardboard signs the competition were using. This was a sign of standards to come!

We'd used the hotels online check-in facility before travelling so check-in at 1am in the morning was completed in two minutes with five more providing information and directions on the facilities. We got our tokens for the complimentary pool towels, the tv remote, aircon and safe and trundled up to our room. We'd asked for the third floor when booking and got one overlooking the swamp out back (see photos).

Entertainment and on-site activities were excellent for all. Our youngest set up a circuit swimming in all five pools one after another. Our eldest got a chance to experience scuba-diving on site and we all had a go at the target shooting. My video of my beloveds water zumba session will not be uploaded for fear of retaliation! Nightime entertainment was just as good (the magician Roy Vanden and the Chinese Acrobats merit special mention).

The self-catering apartment was excellent with a shower we could all fit in ! Cleaned every day while we were there, clean linen was provided twice and clean towels whenever we needed them. Yes "cooking" is confined to two electric rings and a toaster and yes, its the usual dinky toy tea cups as opposed to mugs but these were just niggles (see photo).There's a small supermarket on site to get you over the first day but the nearby Spar shops were cheaper and the Eroski Center cheapest (1.8km towards Puerta Alcudia). We had the buffet breakfast on site the first morning. It set us up for the day but for a breakfast it was pricey. We only ever dined on-site one other time and that was the pool-side bar and that was excellent. Otherwise we dined at whatever part of Mallorca we were in or along the strip outside the hotel (La Isla Steakhouse was the priciest but the best). We had no bad food experiences but the staff at the Dakota Tex-Mex are very good at looking overworked and important but useless at providing service.

My wife is allergic to mosquito bites. We brought a anti-bite product made by a well known UK Company with us but it didn't work and made us all smell like tom-cats. A doctor comes to the hotel in the mornings and evenings (probably due to the mossies?) and got her sorted very quickly with an antibiotic and a strong cortisone cream. The staff recommended a Spanish product (ask for GOIBI; the purple version) which was effective and left us smelling citrus-like.

I would book this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone. The staff provided an excellent service and facilities outstanding!

Room Tip: Book off the Hotels own website (it displays in three languages) as seems to be cheaper and the tran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virtual-inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have just got back from this hotel. On arrival we were asked to take a seat in reception to be told that there was no room for us so we would have to spend one night in another hotel. Compensation for this was free breakfast for our entire stay, however, it did put a dampner on holiday from the start. My husband said he saw four other couples being told the same thing during our stay.
When we did eventually get a room the day after we arrived we had asked for a room in block 2 or 3 on floor 2 or 3 facing the pool. The room we got was in block 1 on the ground floor with no view except for exceptionally high bushes!
The rooms are spacious and the entertainment for the children was good but the pools were separated by bars so difficult to use li-lows etc. due to not enough room.
The worst part and the main reason we will not be going back to this hotel was the mosquito's. Even one of the children's entertainers said to my husband he will not work at this hotel next season due to being bitten so much. In total the four of us got bitten 35 times!! We tried everything. This is due to the hotel being next to a swamp where we were told the mosquitos lay their eggs in the winter and they then hatch out during the summer.

Room Tip: no point. they dont listen to you anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel had everything we needed for a great holiday. Our hotel room was excellent. A lot of space, with separate bedroom, large bathroom and mini-kitchen. We looked over the 'swamp' with great scenery, at least from the 2nd or 3rd floor. The room itself has a modern look and was very clean.
The swimming pools are excellent for little children. Our son is 2 years old, and had a lot of choices for playing. This means not every day the same place, which I liked.
We also enjoyed the food in the restaurant, a lot of choice and not every day the same. Perhaps there was too much choice, which leads that some items were not that warm anymore. But the taste was good, esspecially the local dishes. The only withdraw was that you had to pay for all the drinks during diner, which I did not expect.
Anyway, we had a great holiday. Beaches nearby, great hotel with many facilities, clean and helpfull staff. We would consider to go back when we go to Mallorca.

Room Tip: Block 2, with views over the swamp. At least from the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-ter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent one week at this hotel in August 2012. We found the appartment spacious and clean, but the toilet seat was cracked! Although a family of three, we were only offered bed sheets for the double bed and no sheets for our daughter to sleep on the sofa. We initially found the food good, but after two days we realised that it was quite boirng and repetitive. We started having worries about the cleanliness of food, as there were many dirty plates in the piles by the food. When mentioned this to a waiter and showing them one example, they just took it and said nothing.There were flies around the food, so we became more suspicious. Sometimes the food in the morning looked as if recycled from previous night. The specially arranged children's food looked disgusting at times. The cooked food was often not really cooked, so after 2 days we stopped eating anything that we thought could cause stomach problems. Still, one of us got food poisoning after 3 days, and could not really enjoy the second half of the holiday. The major unpleasant things were the SMELL and the mosquitos! Yes, smell, in a 4* hotel. No review mentions this, so maybe it is not all year round. However, during our stay it was horrible. We suspect it came from the nearby natural park and reached the room via the air conditioning, but the hotel did nothing to reduce it. We understand that not much can be done about it outside, but inside? We ended up buying an air freshener in a nearby shop and using it all the time, when we were in the room. Well, and the mosquitos would bite even if we used generous amounts of Autan. Another problem was the fact that the level of English of the waiting staff was so poor, they could not even understand when we asked for a mint tea.

Just to finish off with something good (and the only reason for giving two stars and not one): the kids entertainment, the aqua zumba and the staff leading these were great, they did speak English (and tried basics in all languages of the kids attending the club) and were really very good with the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prinsotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Alex,
we are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations and would like to apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. Of course we will take your comments internally for further discussion and make sure we put corrective measure into place, in order to prevent this incidences from happennig again.
If there is anything we can do for you please do not hesitate to contact us.
We wish you all the best.
Kind regards,
Marga Serra
Prinsotel Guest Services Manager
mserra@prinsotel.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Alcudia Park
Iberostar Alcudia Park
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,678 reviews
4.2 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Dorada

Address: Crta. Alcudia - Arta, km 5.5, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: £54 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinshotel La Dorada is next to Mallorca’s Albufera Nature Reserve, 200 metres from the beaches of Alcudia Bay. Set in lush gardens, it features a large outdoor pool, sauna and gym.All air-conditioned apartments have a private balcony and a lounge with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. There is a private bathroom, and a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The La Dorada complex has a sun terrace with loungers and parasols. There is a games room, and a court for playing tennis, basketball or volleyball. Daily evening entertainment is provided.There are 2 restaurants at the Prinsotel La Dorada, as well as a lounge bar and poolside bar.Prinsotel la Dorada has a 24-hour front desk, and Wi-Fi is offered for an additional charge. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk, and free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prinsotel La Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Dorada Hotel Playa De Muro
Prinsotel Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing