We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prinsotel La Dorada
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A really great family hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for a week in early May - selecting it on the basis of the 4.5 average Trip Advisor review and we weren't disappointed. It felt like a 4* star hotel with a good standard of hotel/ apartment rooms (only issue was loose leg on one of the beds) and very good standard of outdoor facilities - beautiful pool areas and gardens.

It was our first experience of a kids club which was available 10.30-1.00 and 3.00-5.00 every day, usually offering an arts activity as well as games etc. There was also mini discos every evening, though we were put off from going back to the evening entertainment because of a not so pleasant experience with the 'snake show' after being an unwilling volunteer and ending up with a 6 ft boa constricter around my neck with 2 terrifed kids watching from the dance floor! (bingo not much better - annoying voice screeching out numbers in 3 different languages).

The hotel is located near a really great beach a few minutes walk away (across road). About 20 minutes walk along the sand you can pick up a boat trip from a lovely wooden pier. The 'strip' or main road near the hotel is uninspiring - lots of bit-tacky tourist shops and steak house-style restaurants. Once we discovered the nearby bus stop into the old walled town of Alcudia we enjoyed several trips to potter around the cobbled streets, lovely shops and authentic Spanish restaurants - highly recommended.

We stayed on self-catering basis at the hotel and ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times - not cheap at 18 per adult but great choice and reasonable quality. We enjoyed all the different nationalities staying at the hotel - it was great for the kids to play with children from Germany, France, Norway, Netherlands etc and picking up bits of other languages as well as Spanish instead of feeling like you've never left home! (don't get me started on people complaining about not enough British channels on TV - for real?). If react to mosquitos definitely bring good repellent as nearby nature reserve may make them more prevalent here.

The reception staff were great - Toni was particularly helpful, spending time with maps and suggesting trips and places to visit. And phoning transfer company when return journey not emailed through. Would highly recommend hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion.
It will be nice to see you again here in Prinsotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    340
    70
    26
    9
See reviews for
776
130
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herning
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The in-door swimmingpool was horrible and the showers dirty... don't use it. The waiters didn't know how to smile. Our room were fine and the cleaning staff did a great job. The receptionist "Peter" did a great job...cool and service minded.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phatagorva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thanks for your opinion.
I´m sorry about the dirty showers you explain. It could be nice if you had informed to the reception. Anyway we know there are many children and of course we try to keep them always cleaned for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed in the hotel last week as a first holiday away with our son aged two. The hotel proved to be fantastic for families and we were really impressed with the standard of rooms and service and facilities. The apartments were of a really nice standard and plainly but tastefully decorated with a large corner sofa for lounging on and a large shower as well as a bath in the bathroom (great when trying to get kids and adults ready at the same time). The acommodation is situated in a number of blocks all centred around big pools and palm trees. The pools were fantastic - lots of smaller pools with some deeper ones for adult swimming and shallow ones for kids to splash in. The facilities were excellent with a free kids club and bouncy castle available to guests everyday as well as a playground and seperate toddler pool. There were all sorts of activities run every day by the very cheerful Animacion staff as well as giant chess + Connect 4 plus minin golf and air hockey... and so on. The staff were really helpful whenever we needed anything. I emailed a week before I stayed to ask if they could help us get goat's milk for our son who has a cow's milk intolerance and there was a week's supply at Reception on our arrival free of charge. The staff also sent a bottle of complimentary fizz to our room on my husband's birthday (they must have guessed by looking at his passport). Nothing was too too much trouble at this hotel and it was of a really good 4* standard. There is a gorgeous national park just behind the hotel too. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and is absolutely beautiful- sandy with soft dunes and plenty of space to play in May. Playa De Muro itself has some lovely restaurants but is fairly quiet and is made up of restaurants and a lot of small supermarkets and gift shops. It suited us okay for a week but I think we'd have been a bit bored after more than that although it was great to just chill out. It's easy enough to catch the bus to Alcudia or C'an Picafort which also have great beaches and more of the same restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for blocks 1-3 if you have small children and want things to be as quiet as possible in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsALeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion. We hope to see you soon in Prinsotel La Dorada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in may and really enjoyed our break we stayed self catering and found the rooms excellent large shower and also bath tub small kitchenette and balcony we had asked for a pool view as the other side is the nature reserve where we didn't want the Mosquitos at night.
Hotel staff really polite and seemed to be plenty of them on hand, didn't eat in the main restaurant but did use the pool bar at lunch times really good prices around 5 euros for most things burgers, pasta Spanish omelette, checkout was at 12 noon but we stayed at the hotel all afternoon and used the spa area downstairs for a shower before we left all in all an excellent stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurab8684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I and our two children stayed at La Dorada in early May owing to the fact that it was my big "50" birthday celebration.
Thankfully we chose the right hotel for this happy occasion. The food was varied and of excellent quality. We stayed half board and we were glad we did. Superb value for money and having children, cost of meals are an important consideration when eating out abroad.
The apartment was spacious and my wife and I had our own bedroom. The lounge come bedroom for the children provided two single bed settee's which were just perfect. Although the balcony was fairly small it still provided some outside space in which to enjoy the sun.
The hotel and grounds were immaculately kept and therefore so clean and presentable. The indoor pool area however is looking a little tired with cracked tiles below the sitting areas. The pool side in the indoor does become extremely slippery so beware.
The use of the private sauna/steamer area was lovely and at 10 euros for our family of four for half hour was well worth while. Outdoor pools were fantastic although extremely cold and not deep.
Food hall was impressive and clean although one gripe would be that on one particular evening the plates were somewhat dirty and you had to pick and choose the best available. A bit off-putting when having a meal. On the other days they seemed okay although my family and I were extremely vigorous when choosing out eating utensils and plates.
To be honest we would have preferred a quieter location in the hotel complex with a view of the nature reserve, however where we were - above the children's pool and play areas - it was extremely quiet in the evenings.
All in all the whole experience of staying at La Dorada was a special one. Certainly not a noisy resort in fact they have a good balance in what they provide for all walks of life. Would certainly return again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Try and get the nature reserve apartments which enjoys the evening sun and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our stay was very fun and enjoyable..thanks to the team of active animation group! A very Nice place to stay for the whole family. The crew was all smile and energetic! Our children were taken care of and having their own fun in the children's club while we grownups were enjoying the activities of the day! Good job you guys! The room was clean and big. The service was totally good!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johansenfamilien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at La Dorada in spring, before the real season had started. because of this it was relaxed and never felt over crowded. There were many other families there, so it was the perfect environment for us. The location was fine- a short walk to the beach, but we rented a car so we drove every day to other parts of the island.
The entertainment team were nice and we joined in a couple of activities- had our daughter been a little older (she was 1 1/2) I think the kids club looked like a lot of fun.
The only weak point for us was the food- uninspiring and boring. There was really nothing much representative of the wonderful food Mallorca has to offer, and there were lines for eggs at breakfast/ the grill at dinner even though the hotel wasn't busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,596 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,070 reviews
4.2 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Dorada

Property: Prinsotel La Dorada
Address: Crta. Alcudia - Arta, km 5.5, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinshotel La Dorada is next to Mallorca’s Albufera Nature Reserve, 200 metres from the beaches of Alcudia Bay. Set in lush gardens, it features a large outdoor pool, sauna and gym.All air-conditioned apartments have a private balcony and a lounge with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. There is a private bathroom, and a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The La Dorada complex has a sun terrace with loungers and parasols. There is a games room, and a court for playing tennis, basketball or volleyball. Daily evening entertainment is provided.There are 2 restaurants at the Prinsotel La Dorada, as well as a lounge bar and poolside bar.Prinsotel la Dorada has a 24-hour front desk, and Wi-Fi is offered for an additional charge. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk, and free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Prinsotel La Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Dorada Hotel Playa De Muro
Prinsotel Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing