We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prinsotel La Dorada
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent in every way”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

had a 7 day break here in june (after a recommendation from a work colleague, and it didnt dissappoint ), with two children aged 13 & 7, must say upon arrival till the very end this exceeded all expectations , highly recommend , everything pristinely clean and cared for, children enjoyed everything especially the cocktails :) , staff very friendly and will certainly return in future years hopefully for longer , well done to all staff involved in running the la dorada,
also in grat location for local reataurants etc and only short bus ride to alcudia.

Room Tip: ask for pool view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coaten72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´s nice you and your family enjoyed your holidays in Prinsotel La Dorada.
We would like to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    340
    70
    26
    9
See reviews for
776
130
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We've been to similar places in Mallorca, and are aware of the downsides of hotels that mainly cater to families and the limitations of this "mass processsing" of guests. Yet this by far is the worst we've experienced in terms of food and service - at least for half of our stay.

The overall quality of the food often isn't that great already (overcooked, greasy; salads and fruits looking like they've spent two days in the fridge already; on some days very few vegetarian options although the hotel website promises the opposite; coffee not available in restaurant after dinner - which in Spain definitely is considered part of a meal - although beverages were prepaid), but the quality of service often was an annoyance.
Used plates sometimes didn't get cleared for more than twenty minutes, red wine always seems to get served almost as a hot beverage, some of the cloth napkins are so old and frazzled you hardly want to touch them, dirty plates and glasses, and at one point at check-out after dinner soft drinks getting charged although they were prepaid when booking the stay.

Given the size of the rather nice complex, the lack of attention to (or love for) detail probably is a sign of the hotel being understaffed with inexperienced employees.

Some of the employees are trying hard to make up for it and were very friendly, and three days into our stay things started to improve (there was somebody present at breakfast and dinner who seemed to be a supervisor then as well) significantly.

Kids' club & entertainment staff were great, though, and our kids loved that part. Also the beach in Platja de Muro/Alcudia is one of the nicest on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion.
I´m so sorry you didn´t like the food int he restaurant. If you had told us about it we could have prepared somethinh different for you. Our job is helping our guests just to enjoy the holidays.
We would like to see you back in Prinsotel La Dorada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Don´t get me wrong, but hard work is the first thing that comes to mind when I think about the week we spent in La Dorada end of the June 2013. The thing is that the staff of La Dorada really worked hard in every desk or service point for customers well being. And that really made the difference for us - an adult with two children.
Not everything is perfect in this 4-star hotel, but I rather not complain about the minor downsides when I can see that the staff is doing their best all the time, even though they might have worked from early morning until late in the evening. Hopefully the hotel managers appreciates the personals efforts with decent rewards!
All important things worked for us. Lovely swimming pool area, clean and cozy room, lot of activities for the children and a in-house pool for the chillier. We didn´t take part any of the organized activities, but they seemed to be lot of fun during the day and evenings too.
The gym was a lot of fun too, as my 4-and 7-years old did their "serious" weight lifting exercises. The sauna/spa department was quite amusing, but for a Finn 40-50 C degree Sauna doesn´t do the trick, sorry. But Mallorca is not place to have a decent sauna anyway, so it´s not a big deal.
The beach is near and nice too, but whether was quite windy time to time, so we stack around by the pool more often.
Hotel has buffet dinner included, and I must say, that I wouldn´t have thought of that I might eat all week in the hotel. But we did, because of the quality of the buffet. There is a large variety of choices to choose from, and It is not just some basic stuff, but lot of different quality dishes everyday combining the best part of many Mediterranean cuisines. The breakfasts in the same dining area were also very good with lot of different breakfast cultures to choose from.
Wine list was also good, and the recommended local red was really a tasty one, but as I was the only adult on board, I found it little bit uncomfortable to order a whole bottle for me. It is not possible to order just a glass of wine. Even more confusing was the that when you buy a bottle, they will keep it safe for you and you go on with it the next day, or like in my case, two days after too. As known, the quality of wine is not the same anymore two days after opening. This only-a-bottle-order-policy is not a big thing, but it would be nice to have an option to order just one glass at the time.
From the hotel is quite easy to make day trip to the surroundings. We checked out Alcudia by bus and Palma by rent-a-car. Most of the week went by the pool area or just hanging out and relaxing in the hotel area. And it worked out for us just fine.
La Dorada is a good value for the money, and very happy children and one semi-relaxed parent left the hotel after a watersportsfull week. I Would come back, if we decide to travel Mallorca again in the future. Maybe we will. Thank you the staff of La Dorada.

Room Tip: First floor room facing to the quiet swamp area worked for us just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marttma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thanksfor your opinion.
It´s nice to know you spent nice holidays in Prinsotel La Dorada.
We know also all the staff is working hard during the season because we like offering a high service to our guests.
We hope to see you soon in Prinsotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just arrived back from 7 fabulous days at this beautiful hotel. We were a family of 4 (kids aged 12 and 8) and were on a half board basis.
Despite the long bus journey from the airport and detours through Puerto Pollensa and Alcudia to drop off, our first impression was 'WOW'. Reception was refreshingly cool and staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Our room in building 3 was spacious and well furnished. On first lying on bed I thought it hard but it was actually very comfortable and we all slept well. Nice touches were the towel swans and sweets left on the beds! Would recommend a room at back as you get the sun all evening on balcony.
My son loved the Playstation and we were able to borrow games from reception.
Buffet breakfast and dinner were awesome! Plenty to choose from and meat/fish cooked to your preference.
Entertainment team were great. Full of enthusiasm but not at all pushy if, like us, you prefer to just watch. Our kids didn't go to the kids clubs but they looked great fun with lots of activities each day.
The pool area is beautiful with plenty of loungers and choice of pools.
This is the best hotel I've stayed in and already I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Prinsotel to spend your holidays and thanks a lot for this opinion.
It´s nice you say it is the best hotel you have stayed!
We hope to see you soon back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We got home earlier this week from 7 days at this hotel with our two young boys - and I cannot recommend it highly enough for a family holiday. It was spotlessly clean, the apartment was spacious, all staff are friendly and smiley, there is plenty to do there but it is not overly pushed on you, very safe for the kids and just a short walk from a lovely sandy beach with shallow entry into the sea. I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion and to spend your hoildays in Prinsotel La Dorada.
It´s nice you had nice holidays and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We just got back from our 7 day holiday to Majorca on Saturday morning and it was so good! Despite a couple of cloudy mornings the sun eventually came out and made our stay worth it!

The hotel we stayed in; Prinsotel La Dorada is an amazing hotel and we can see why it was awarded the Travellers Choice 2013! After the long taxi ride from the airport we were greeted with a refreshing breeze of air conditioning as we walked into reception to get the passes for our room. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful.

Our room was a nice size for a family of four. With a lovely big bathroom that had both bath and shower. The bedroom that myself and my brother shared was also the dining/lounge area and we were pleased to have this room as it was the only room that had a TV in which we were able to watch BBC One and Two. These were the only channels available in English as well as CBeebies. The kitchen area is small but because we ate out every night we only used it for breakfast and lunch and the use of the fridge.

Food for thought:
During our stay we didn't experience the hotel's restaurant, however we did see the menu and although quite expensive it had a very nice selection of food to choose from. Off course it would only be expensive if you were not all inclusive like us. The hotel bar which sits at the heart of the swimming pool area is a great place to eat for lunch as it supplies hot and cold food.
Eating outside:
For most of our nights we walked down the road outside of the hotel behind the beach where all the shops and restaurants were. Funnily enough the restaurant just around the corner to the hotel which we thought would have been the most expensive was actually the cheapest and the food there was absolutely delicious. If you are looking to eat at Port'D Alcudia do be aware it is a lot more expensive than restaurants nearer to the hotel. We also ate at one of the restaurants in the Old Town, in which we had Tapas which was worth the money and delicious.
A little tip to add! Make sure you know what you're paying for when going to restaurants outside the hotel. Because like us once we started adding on the little bits and pieces the bill soon increased. For example, the restaurant we ate at down at the port charged 5 euros 20 for about 4 slices of bread with a tiny garlic dip. Bearing in mind some restaurants didn't even charge for bread I thought this was very cheeky of them to charge this much.

Going back to the hotel the swimming area includes lots of different pools of different depths. There is a completely separate baby pool that did look a lot of fun if I was a child again. ;-)
The animation team were full of enthusiasm and were really friendly. There are a lot of activities for both adults and children to do such as, ping pong, pool, water polo, tennis, basketball, football etc. (The pool/snooker costs 1 euro)

Finally, just a couple of things to add! Free Wifi is accessible within the hotel and rooms are cleaned everyday, also the spa and gym below the reception was great to use when the sun wasn't out.

If there was one thing I would have complained about it would have been that the walls of the rooms are very thin so the slightest of sounds could be the biggest. We were quite unlucky as we were given a room on the bottom floor, so for a couple of nights we had a few party girls walking up and down above us until the early hours of the morning and screaming children either side of us. So if your not a great sleeper it may be wise to take earplugs.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor or right on the end of the building as not as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thanks to stay with us and to choose Prinsotel.
Its nice you enjoyed your holidays and we hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Prinshotel Playa La Dorada is a well kept and clean hotel it is a short walk to the beach and restraunts of Playa de Muro, there are plenty of sunbeds and you should not find any trouble finding one during the day there are plenty of things to do if you wish such as shootoing and archery also water polo and volley ball there is also zumba class as well if you do not want to take part that is fine as well. The apartments are nice and clean with a basic kitchen area with fridge microwave and sink, there is a TV in the room with BBC 1 & 2 during the day also CBBC becomes BBC4 in the evening. There is also complementary Wi-Fi in the hotel and also a PC in the lobby for use as well. The two down points were the very hard beds and the noise when the occupants above scraped the furniture which seemed to go staight through the floor overall it was a good holiday.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a top floor apartment and one facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,596 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,070 reviews
4.2 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Dorada

Property: Prinsotel La Dorada
Address: Crta. Alcudia - Arta, km 5.5, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinshotel La Dorada is next to Mallorca’s Albufera Nature Reserve, 200 metres from the beaches of Alcudia Bay. Set in lush gardens, it features a large outdoor pool, sauna and gym.All air-conditioned apartments have a private balcony and a lounge with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. There is a private bathroom, and a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The La Dorada complex has a sun terrace with loungers and parasols. There is a games room, and a court for playing tennis, basketball or volleyball. Daily evening entertainment is provided.There are 2 restaurants at the Prinsotel La Dorada, as well as a lounge bar and poolside bar.Prinsotel la Dorada has a 24-hour front desk, and Wi-Fi is offered for an additional charge. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk, and free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Prinsotel La Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Dorada Hotel Playa De Muro
Prinsotel Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing