We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prinsotel La Dorada
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a seven night stay at this hotel. We booked the half board option. I would recommend this. The food was fantastic. As well plenty of choice in the buffet, there are food stations were fresh fish, pastas,and meat are cooked in front of you to order. They change the menu enough to allow plenty of variety.The entertainment staff work hard ans there's plenty to keep all the family entertained day and night.I took part in the aqua aerobics and aqua zumba. Both were good fun. I have 2 ten year old boys who enjoyed the pony rides and pool games. we also enjoyed the large chessboard, table tennis,connect 4 and pool tables next to the pool.At night we really enjoyed the acrobat show and the magician show. The other shows were not our thing.(entertainment staff dancing and /or miming to Peter Pan one night and different musicals the other.To be fair we only watched around 10 mins of them before leaving to play pool) The pool is a great size in beautiful grounds in well maintained gardens. Great place to holiday. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks to choose Prinsotel La Dorada and thanks to recommend this hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    318
    63
    22
    6
See reviews for
722
122
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was because of the previous reviews that I chose this hotel for our family holiday July 2014 and the positive reviews were all true. The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained with fountains, palm trees and the best pool design. It is a big hotel, don't get me wrong, and it wouldn't have been my first choice had it not been for the kids (7 & 5 years old) but it was perfect. It doen't feel over crowded and there is a policy of not allowing sunbed reservation, which is great but we never had a problem finding beds near to the kid's favourite pool. There is all day entertainment for both kids and adults if you want it but it is not forced on you by the animacion team. We enjoyed just watching the Aquazumba class and waterpolo. The Animacion team are BRILLIANT! Their energy is never ending and the smiles continue throughout the whole day and evening. But even without the organised activities we were kept busy in the pool, table tennis, giant connect 4, crazy golf, air hockey, tennis, paddle ball...... The hotel also has a pool towel service so you don't actually need to take your own. You leave a deposit at reception and change towels at the cabin by the pool whenever you need fresh. We didn't try the indoor pool or spa. The food in the hotel is good. We were self catering but ate at the pool bar a few times and once in the restaurant. The restaurant food is excellent and had we been half board or all inclusive I would have been thrilled but the cost to buy a meal there is quite high compared to the various restaurants outside of the hotel. The rooms are modern and feel well looked after and the air conditioning is quiet! The rooms are no bigger than you would expect but perfectly adequate although I found the balcony a little on the small side. Our room was on the top floor of block 3; it was good; we had no scraping chairs above us and we were also on the corner so only one direct neighbour. Our view was of the pool area which was great and a sideways view of the nature reserve (and power station). Because of the nature reserve I assume, there are Mosquitos so take your repellant.
The beach is a short walk away over the main road. The beach is beautiful and the sea is shallow and clean but it is busy. To be honest, outside of the hotel there isn't much to look at. It is a long, straight strip along a main road with the usual souvenir shops and restaurants.
The only thing that vaguely irritated me was that we had no tea towels in the kitchenette, which made drying dishes challenging and the bath towels were a bit thin and hard - great size though!
But overall a brilliant holiday which the kids loved, which meant that we loved it!

Room Tip: The pool view is good and top floor have no noise from upstairs. Blocks 2, 3 & 4 are furthest f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your opinión.
Thanks a lot to choose Prinsotel to spend your holidays.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my husband,daughter (4 years old) & son (1 year old).I can only mirror the previous reviews.This hotel is excellent for young families,so much to keep you entertained,my daughter especially loved the art activities on a morning and the disco in the pool around lunch time.My son loved the shallow top pool& bouncy castle!The fresh crepe stand was used daily by us& also served popcorn,waffles& candy floss!
The staff are great with children& speak a number of languages,they always tried to include everyone without being intrusive.
We opted to stay in an apartment but paid for the breakfast when we booked.
The apartment was lovely and modern,kitchen small but enough to enable me to make lunches& my sons evening meal.
The bathroom was ideal for families as had a separate bath with shower& also a separate walk in shower.We had an apartment overlooking the pool which was great,slight noise at night but soon quietened down once the entertainment finished.Our room was cleaned everyday as long as you left the sign on the door.
Breakfasts were very tasty,of a high standard with a huge variety catering for everyone.Lots of fresh fruit,cheeses,bread& pastries,cooked eggs etc.
The area surrounding the hotel had a number of restaurants& shops.My husband& I love our "nice" restaurants& bars.However we felt Playa de Muro maybe lacked the variety& quality that we are normally used to.Saying that we had lovely meals every night& can recommend the Fusion 19 little strip of 4 bars/cafe/restaurants,La Isla& Topogigio.
We had a great week away& would not hesitate to return to this hotel,however we would not necessarily rush back to the surrounding area until a few more "nice" restaurants/bars were added to the repertoire of Playa de Muro.
I can recommend using http://www.taxicabmallorca.com
for your airport transfer.It cost us 70 euros which seemed a lot in comparison to a bus transfer but later found out that due to the positioning of Playa De Muro a bus transfer could take up to 3.5 hrs as there would be drop offs at Pollensa& Alcudia first.Definitely not ideal when travelling with young children.Our taxi transfer took around 40mins.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Topclif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your opinión.
It´s great you enjoyed your holidays and we hope you come back again to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Come here with friends on a graduation trip
I was not disappointed
Staff was friendly and helpful and able to speak English really well
The room was fantastic with a nice view over the bar and pool it even had a kitchen in it but the downside was small and all of the utensils was provided even through we didn't even used it
Activities were organised around the clock even through not much people go to it
The 4 star hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to the beach which was just brilliant
The pool was beautiful with plenty of deck chairs and sun bed all free to use
large beach towels are provided with a deposit of 20 euros (up to 16 towels)
I highly recommend Prinsotel La Dorada as the hotel to stay in mallorca
its a family hotel get quite after 11o'clock all party animals please go to magaluf

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your nice opinión.
We hope you decide to come back again.
See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from an 11 night stay with our 2 daughters. Playa de muro itself isn't anything special, the beach is nice but basically a row of tourist shops and average restaurants. The hotel, however, was lovely. Room wasn't ready when we arrived, but didn't take long, and was very nice. We were on the ground floor in the 2nd block facing the pool, which was fine, slightly noisy when there was stuff on in the evening, but nothing too bad. Only downside was the kitchen was very small, we thought there wasn't one at first! The kettle wasn't electric, and the toaster probably should have been condemned; it tripped the electric when we tried to use it. No oven or grill, just a microwave and 2 electric rings. I suppose most people don't actually cook, but worth bearing in mind if you do intend to. There was only 3 chairs, so we couldn't have sat for a meal anyway. The rooms were very clean, and maids came every day. A few days before we left we were offered a free upgrade to move rooms; we had a plunge pool and deck, which was good, but there was less storage as we lost a wardrobe.
The pools were lovely, and no scramble for sun beds, there were plenty available all day. Animation staff were great, and the gilts liked the mini club, although bear in mind that there is no secure sign in or out system, the kids are free to come and go as they please. The usual mini disco every evening we had to get back for. Afterwards there was entertainment of some sort, of varying standard!
Reception staff very helpful when we asked about getting to the cuevas del drach, arranged car hire for us.
All in all, a great holiday. I would go back if it was in a better location, but wouldn't rush back to playa de muro.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your opinión.
We hope you enjoyed your holidays and you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Second time at the Dorada and once again didnt disappoint, This time i booked direct with hotel and booked the private taxi transfer which was good value in comparison to some internet transfer companies, met at the airport on time and had a pleasant drive to the hotel approx 40mins,and was given a time and card for my return pick up time, checked in with great efficiency, had a half hour wait which was fine as we arrived early and just left our cases in the holding room and went for a cool drink at the poolside bar, At time of booking id stated was a returning customer and requested a pool view which i was kindly upgraded to. Apartment as last year was spacious and kept spotlessly clean this hotel takes some beating. Pool and grounds are constantly kept immaculate and i really think all the staff here pride themselves in what they do, everyone is so polite and friendly. Big thanks again and special mention to Thierry the waiter who looked after myself and my 8yr old boy during our stay and with a little football banter ;)
Dont have any hesitation in booking this hotel, it is in a great location, well run, and surpasses all expectations, you will not be dissappointed !!!!

Room Tip: Think all rooms are lovely, blocks 1 to 3 pool view rooms face East so early morning sun, so if want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coaten72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your opinión.
It´s nice you spent nice holidays and we hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from a week here (17-24th June) and can only say it was a fantastic hotel, clean & spacious with brilliant facilities which catered for my every need including indoor pool/Jacuzzi which was so relaxing after a hard day at the beach! :-) I am already looking to book again as the location was excellent being a short stroll to the beach with many shops & restaurants in the area that catered for every taste and were good value. Pool area is amazing & plenty of sunbeds readily available. Staff seemed very friendly and helpful. I just can't wait to come back here!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of block 4 and it was quiet and peaceful, you can request different pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mcgillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful opinión.
It´s nice to know you enjoyed your holidays.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Dorada

Property: Prinsotel La Dorada
Address: Crta. Alcudia - Arta, km 5.5, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinshotel La Dorada is next to Mallorca’s Albufera Nature Reserve, 200 metres from the beaches of Alcudia Bay. Set in lush gardens, it features a large outdoor pool, sauna and gym.All air-conditioned apartments have a private balcony and a lounge with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. There is a private bathroom, and a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The La Dorada complex has a sun terrace with loungers and parasols. There is a games room, and a court for playing tennis, basketball or volleyball. Daily evening entertainment is provided.There are 2 restaurants at the Prinsotel La Dorada, as well as a lounge bar and poolside bar.Prinsotel la Dorada has a 24-hour front desk, and Wi-Fi is offered for an additional charge. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk, and free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prinsotel La Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Dorada Hotel Playa De Muro
Prinsotel Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing