We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prinsotel La Dorada
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a wonderful resort and our family really enjoyed our stay there.

We had the Select Deluxe Terrace and loved having our own huge backyard with a jacuzzi tub (which they call a pool), outdoor bed, outdoor seating area with table, and outdoor lounge chairs. The only problem is that the backyard area was not private. Guests staying in the adjacent building in higher rooms could look out of their window directly down on us. This was not an issue for us, but just be warned, it is a private backyard, with no real privacy.

The space inside the room was great. Nice layout, lots of room. And a fantastic shower!

The food in the "chow hall" was surprisingly good. But we did the self-cater option and ate out on the town a couple nights. Not a ton of options, but we were only there a few nights, so it wasn't a problem for us.

The beach was a quick 3 minute walk down and across the street, which was a real treat!

Wifi in the room worked just fine for us.

No problems with mosquitoes.

I will note that this is definitely a family resort. I would probably not recommend it for honeymooning couples, but a family with young kids would enjoy it here, as we were. The "chow hall" at dinner time was loud, and chaotic, and children running around, and babies crying. But when our kid had a little temper tantrum and started crying, no one even batted an eye. There were no "get your kid under control" judgement glances, which helped us relax and not panic in the midst of the breakdown. :)

It is a bit out there in relation to the airport and some other attractions (such as the Zoo), but all in all a great resort that we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank NikiFrankfurter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your positive assessment, took it as an incentive to keep improving.
It will be a pleasure if you decide to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited for 11 nights in July 2014 and have to say myself, wife, 11 and 14 year old had a fantastic time! Rooms spacious and very clean, grounds and pool area immaculate, buffet in restaurant was of a very high standard, entertainment very good and staff very polite and courteous. The biggest bonus for me this year was the ' not having to get up early to get a sunbed' as has been the case with previous holidays - even having lie in and going down at 10.30am, there were still plenty of beds available ( really helped when looking to unwind )

The resort was clean and tidy albeit the shops all seem to sell the same normal holiday stuff and restaurants a bit much for muchness within walking distance ( better restaurants are found at Alcudia port - about 10 euros in cab ). beach also very clean and plenty to occupy all ages.

We used both the spa and A la carte restaurant at hotel and both were really good ( believe hotel should market these better as both seemed very underused when we were there )

Final comment and certainly not a criticism but feedback for hotel, was when we arrived after really early start from Gatwick our room was not ready for a couple of hours and were left in limbo a bit - so a complimentary drink while we waited would have been a nice touch - otherwise all was really good and would certainly look at coming back

Room Tip: Superia option gives free pool towels, complimentary spa session and 1 free A la carte meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlycharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your positive assessment, took it as an incentive to keep improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a great time at Prinsotel with our family of four (2 kids 6 & 10 year old). We had a excecutive room with a large "backyard" that included a small pool, outdoor shower, sunbed, furniture and sunbeds. The room was very spacious with a large bedroom and a living room with two extra beds for the kids. There was two telies and a PS3. We also had a small kitchenette. We rented the "apartment" without breakfast which we recommend. It was come and nice to have you're own breakfast in the backyard in our opinion. The lunch and food that we had at the hotel was expensive and very bad. We where happy to arrange with the food our self and put the money on the room (which was kind of expensive) we hade the most lunches in our yard from takeaway restaurants in the area. We can recommend the factory around the corner. The pasta was great.
The hotel area is good and clean whit a lots of activities. The minus for this hotel is the poor quality of the food, expensive ice cream and food. Nothing such as paddle tennis court is included. The room cleaning is poor. I think that dishing should be included for a 3K € 8 days.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bajenforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for your opinión.
The food in the hotel is no bad maybe it didn´t like you. If you had told us something about it the chef would have cooked some special meal for you. For us the main importsnt point in the hotel are our guests.
We hope you have had nice holidays and you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for 10 nights at the start of July and were not disappointed. The complex is very large, well maintained and has plenty of activities for children and adults. Rooms were large and clean and we found the beds very comfy and slept well the whole stay.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful whenever we had a query for them. The pool area is amazing and the best part is that you never had to worry about a sun lounger ! Anytime you could head down and get something next to the pool, such an improvement from staying in a complex where you have to set your alarm to get a bed !

If I had a criticism it would be the kids club, the staff are very nice and seem to have a good way with the children but unlike other clubs we have used it doesn't have a secure check in and check out, they could leave as they wished.

Apart from that we enjoyed our stay and would return again ( bring your mossie spray though we were all bitten and that's with repellent )

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JJam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for your positive assessment, took it as an incentive to keep improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Returned from a weeks self catering holiday at end of June, 2 work wearied parents travelling with 2 teenagers 14&16. From the minute we arrived we loved it. ALL staff helpful and friendly. Always sun loungers free by pool. Beach less than a 5 minute pleasant stroll. Beach amazing gently slopes & safe for wee ones or non swimmers . Plenty going on in the hotel. Ideal location. Lovely wee bars, cafes and restaurants close by. By far our favourite was the Bike Cafe and if you walk up to the roundabout with the deck chair and turn left walk over the bridge there is a lovely place eat Las Palmeras.Room lovely, cleaned daily, fresh towels daily. We stayed in a clean 1 bedroom apartment, which was spacious enough for the week or even 2. Air Con worked brilliantly ( even needed an extra blanket at night) A couple of English speaking channels ont TV but you need to go right through channels to find them. Persevere they are there!. WiFi available everywhere just a little slower depending on where you were. Pool towels daily with a deposit returned at end of stay. Safe in room for just a little fee. Cannot recommend this place enough and cannot wait to return. The resort itself had everything you need. Had we stayed another week we would probably have done a bit of exploring outwith Playa de Muro. Would say perfect for little ones as most bars restaurants etc have bouncy castles and something for them to do. Everyone is different but for us we found the location perfect, hotel perfect and Holiday perfect. If you are thinking of coming here just do it. We travelled with Jet2 and on the transfer bus we passed many other hotels and thought o crumbs glad i am not staying there. When the bus pulled up to La Dorada we were not disappointed. If you pack nothing else remember jungle strength mosquito repellent. Mozzies out at night where ever you are!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 2 top floor overlooking the nature reserve, which was great. Thinks all rooms wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OscarelloScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks to choose Prinsotel La Dorada.
We would like to see you again in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having returned last Sunday from Prinsotel La Dorada, by Monday morning my parents and I were desperate to return, due to the fact we had such a lovely, relaxing holiday here! The rooms are of the size you would expect for a 4 bed apartment, there is plenty of room to move around and they are cleaned daily, the cleaning service could be better in my opinion, as the floors were not spotlessly clean each day and the bedding was only changed once during our stay. The apartment has a small kitchen, suitable for making light meals, the kettle is a hob one, which took around 15 minutes to boil, so if you're likely to be desperate for a cuppa after a 'hard day' at the beach, take a travel kettle! Take a tea towel and dish cloth also, as otherwise you will struggle to wash and dry up. The room also has a large Samsung television, however it only had 2 English channels BBC's 1 and 4. The beds are fairly comfy, and can't have been as hard as I first thought when I sat on mine, as I never had a bad nights sleep during my stay! The rooms also have a small balcony, with only two chairs on, when the room caters for four people, so don't expect to sit on there as a family.

The grounds are exceptionally clean, and look fantastic! The hotel staff are very pleasant and polite, they always said good morning/good night or hello to us. The reception staff are always happy to help, two of the lights in our room had stopped working, and within 10 minutes of my step dad reporting this to them, they had sent a maintenance worker to change the bulbs, brilliant service!

The pool is by far the best one I have come across in Majorca and having stayed at several resorts on the island I've seen many pools, the size of it meant it was never over crowded! There are depths to suit all ages and abilities and a separate children's pool. Around the pool there are plenty of sunbeds, so there is no need to reserve them, however there are not many with parasols over them, so if you don't like to be constantly in full sun, don't get up late!! Our apartment view was of the pool, which looked lovely at night when the pool lights were on, the other view option is of the nature reserve, which we were put off after reading on here about mosquitoes, however even with a pool view, a member of my family was bitten several times, so take repellent and after bite cream, as the repellent doesn't deter them!

As guests on half board, we had our breakfast and dinner in the Algar restaurant, where there was plenty of choice to suit all. I personally found some of the food options to be quite repetitive with some foods being served each night, however there was always a different meat and vegetable option. Show cooking was also displayed each night, the cooked to order pasta dishes proved very popular, as there was constantly a short queue. There is a children's 'mini train' buffet area, however many children seemed to use the 'adult' buffet area, so I presume there maybe wasn't as much choice on that, but I didn't actually see what was available. For late arrivals, the time of the buffet is extended by an hour, so they are able to get some dinner if they are hungry.

As far as entertainment is concerned, there are plenty of activities scheduled each day, not just for children, for adults too, including aqua zumba each morning, which adults seemed to enjoy and water polo. Night time entertainment was geared up for children mainly, with a mini disco starting at 8:45, supposed adult entertainment began at 9:30, however we only watched one enjoyable show which was a lord of the dance tribute, other shows included a peter pan show, which was performed by children staying at the hotel and a parrot show. Other entertainment included a chill out and a Caribbean night, both seemed very familiar, offering guests the option to purchase a drink and lie on the same sunbeds used during the day whilst listening to music, hardly entertainment!

The hotel has it's own supermarket, which is handy, however beware many items cost more than in local Spar shops, which are only a 200m walk from the hotel (one in each direction of the roundabout on the main road). Free Wi-Fi is also available in the hotel, however the signal is very poor, it seemed to work best for me in the reception area!

Playa de Muro itself is a peaceful place, mainly consisting of the usual souvenir shops, bars and restaurants, handy if you’re staying on self catering. It does have a fantastic beach, with crystal clear water, sunbeds and parasols are available, with a cost of 10 euros 95 for 2 beds and a parasol per day, worth it for comfort! Only downside to the beach is beach peddlers walking up and down constantly selling fake brand sunglasses and also people offering massages at a cost, this does get irritating, but they go away if you ignore them.

Consider the time you fly home, as hotel operates a check out by 12 policy! With a coach pick up time of 17:20, we were told by management we may be able to check out a 14:00, we were later told this wasn’t possible. However we were provided with free hotel towels for the day and were able to place our luggage in a luggage room, which beware is unlocked! We were informed that we could shower in the showers downstairs near the indoor pool, which we accepted. Having checked out at 12, we spent the rest of our final day by the pool, and enjoyed a nice lunch at the pool snack bar, we then decided it was probably best to go and get showered. When we arrived, me and my mum were hugely disappointed to find there was only one shower in a cubicle situated next to a toilet, the whole floor outside of the cubicle was like a swimming pool itself covered in water, there was very limited space to put travelling home clothes and toiletries, one hook in the shower area, and then the outer edge of the sink area. I think the purpose of the shower is mainly for after indoor pool use, so more showers need to be provided in my opinion, as this shower experience has put us off from getting late flights home again!

Overall this has been one of the best holidays me and my family have had in Majorca, and we wouldn't hesitate about returning to the Dorada again, as long as we had an earlier flight home! The pool area really is exceptional, and I can't remember ever seeing all of the sunbeds taken, so there really are plenty for everyone! The hotel staff are definitely the friendliest I have come across, and always made you feel welcome! I would say the hotel is most suitable for families with children up to the age of 10, however there were quite a few couples and families with young adults like myself there, and with a wide range of adult activities available it really does cater for everyone! Finally I would like to wish any future guests a happy and relaxing holiday at the Dorada, I'm positive you will have a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, as that way you have plenty to look at! Nature reserve rooms will enable you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks a lot for your kind opinión.
It is great you had nice holidays in Prinsotel and thanks a lot to choose Prinsotel to spend your holidays.
We hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Returned today and wanted to write my review straight away to say what a fabulous holiday we have just had at the Prinsotel La Dorada. The Hotel is spotless, the staff are friendly and welcoming and everything was carried out with attention to detail. We booked a select room and half board with drinks option , what an absolute pleasure our room was! The terrace with our own mini pool overlooked the main pool area, and after a relaxing day spent round the pool or beach , we could relax even further in our own little paradise escape! The room was cleaned every day and turn down service with chocolates on the pillows was a lovely touch to which we giggled away with our teenage boys at who would get to them first!! The restaurant offered a great variety of food, with themed evenings and fab breakfast which we always looked forward to. There was plenty of activities during the day and evening that you could join in with if you wanted to. With teenagers it can be difficult as sometimes holidays only revolve around smaller children, This said there were pool tables, table tennis and giant chess and water polo amongst other things for older children too! My two were just happy chilling, swimming and playing ball in the swimming pool. They both commented on what a wonderful holiday they had, it was wonderful, priceless family time! The pool area again is immaculate, with people jet washing the sunbeds every morning when I went out early to use the hotels gym , we didn't use the indoor pool though although it looked lovely. We would definitely choose to visit again. Thank you Prinsotel La Dorada !!

Room Tip: select rooms, well worth every penny !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks to you to visit us.
We hope to see you again in Prinsotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Alcudia Park
Iberostar Alcudia Park
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,684 reviews
4.2 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Dorada

Address: Crta. Alcudia - Arta, km 5.5, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: £68 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinshotel La Dorada is next to Mallorca’s Albufera Nature Reserve, 200 metres from the beaches of Alcudia Bay. Set in lush gardens, it features a large outdoor pool, sauna and gym.All air-conditioned apartments have a private balcony and a lounge with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. There is a private bathroom, and a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The La Dorada complex has a sun terrace with loungers and parasols. There is a games room, and a court for playing tennis, basketball or volleyball. Daily evening entertainment is provided.There are 2 restaurants at the Prinsotel La Dorada, as well as a lounge bar and poolside bar.Prinsotel la Dorada has a 24-hour front desk, and Wi-Fi is offered for an additional charge. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk, and free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prinsotel La Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Dorada Hotel Playa De Muro
Prinsotel Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing