We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Paisley, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Holiday!”
Reviewed 5 November 2006

My husband I booked last minute at these apartments and got a great deal. The facilities at this complex were great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The apartment itself was very clean and spacious and was only a stones throw away to the lovely beach, we were really pleased. We are just back therefore travelled out on the 24th of October and the only down side was that it was closing for the season, therefore a couple of the restaurants had closed prior to us leaving. We did eat at the hotel a few mornings for breakfast and one evening meal, the standard was high with a great choice really something for everyone. I would imagin during the peak time it would be very vibrant and busy even although Muro itself is fairly small.

  • Liked — Clean, good food and very close to the beach
  • Disliked — The pool area could have been more spread out
  • Tips/Secrets — Travel a couple of weeks before we did.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ailie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    207
    83
    25
    16
See reviews for
396
95
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2006

Accommodation very good, we were a party of three adults and the apartment was ideal for us. The location close to the beach was excellent. The resident entertainment team was very good. The only criticism was that we felt the pool bar was a little uninviting, hence we did not use it that often. The resorts of Alcudia and Ca'n Picafort were only a short texi or bus ride away. Apart from that we had an very enjoyable holiday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pool Bar
  • Tips/Secrets — Not in the centre of a resort
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

There were 2 kids 8 &11and four adults and we all had a brilliant time what a lovely place, Beach lovely ,pool lovely apartments great a bit far down from Muro but only 10mins walk. We had a lovely holiday its was the first time abroad for the childrens grandparents and they want to come next year so that tells you something Thank you Playa Garden for a fantastic holiday.

  • Liked — quietness and setting
  • Disliked — it was a bit too far away from main resort
  • Tips/Secrets — always check hotel or apartment out on website if possible
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michelle971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2006

An excellent resort for families, especially those with small children (lots of safe pool areas). The First-Choice staff and Xperience entertainment group are extremely hard working, talented and very friendly. Whether it's great team management or the ability to recruit excellent people it's hard to say but the fact remains that they had a really excellent mix of people in August 2006. Other people we met there agreed. One quote I heard was, "I'm usually ready to go home after 2 weeks but I'd like to stay another week!". We agreed too. The resort is a little outside the main centers which makes it an oasis of sorts and a safe environment (not much passing traffic - just lots of families). The hotel had entertainment every night: kids disco @ 8pm. Mini-show at 9 and main show at 9:30. Ideal for sitting down and having a couple of drinks while the kids and you are entertained (people discuss the shows during the day and we hurried meals to get back in time!). You don't come here for the food but you shouldn't be disappointed either. There's a strip of restaurants opposite the hotels (run by the hotels) - we found the Trattoria at the end to be the best. Lastly, if you're reading this and thinking this is the place for us I have to warn you that we heard the hotel will be a German-run hotel next year (not First Choice) and the entertainment will be different so if you are Irish / English I'd strongly urge you checking this out before you book!

  • Liked — Clean, near beach & pool, a/c.
  • Disliked — No english channels on TV but then again didn't watch any!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check to make sure it's a First Choice hotel (if Irish / English) before you book!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tadhgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2006

My wife and I, and our children aged 22 and 15 have been to Alcudia before, staying in good 3 * accomodation. This 4* apart/hotel was a disappointment. Unless you had booked a sunbed by 9.00 a,m with a towel or belongings you had no access to the swimming pools. The annoying thing being that on our enforced march to the beach each day at around 10.30 am it was clear that only 20% of the beds were actually in use at that time.We therefore were excluded from the daily activities around the pool and may as well have stayed in a private apartment . We didn't enter the pool during our 2 weeks!
The area is good for families with very young children who are happy not to leave the complex but otherwise it is quite isolated with a mediocre choiceof restaurants outside.
The entertainment by the 'in-house' people seems to be good at the beginning but becomes boring and repetitive after 2or 3 days. The outside entertainment is good and a little tip is to 'sneak' into the adjoining 'Alcudia Pins' complex when they have professional nights on. We won't return to Playa Garden!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank McCluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2006

This year we booked our holiday slightly differently, by going through a High Street Agency (First Choice), taking into account my daughter's requirments for a holiday more suitable for her age group (12 years).

I guess the holiday met my expectations :- First Choice's brochure oversold itself, the Reps main concern was to sell you excursions and as tourists you were always being ripped off.

However the rooms were very good, the beach excellent, the hotel staff very good and the hotel entertainment staff excellent.

It looks like First Choice will be operating a very limited number of rooms in 2007 and the Kids Club will not exist. I don't blame the hotel for not renewing the contract. Whilst the youngest clubs Bugs and Taz were fine, Wavelenghth was virtually non-existant. For my 12 year old, the hotel's entertainment saved the day.

Its also worth noting that had we taken up Breakfast via First Choice that would have cost us an extra £500. for 2 weeks. We ended up paying £12 a day for us by buying breafast each morning directlky from the hotel, so FC would have picked up at least £350 profit on that little deal !

Loungers and beach towels are an issue. I so wish on my last day, as we had to be up at 6am, I had gone round and collected up the towels on the sun loungers as a final two fingers to all the saddos who had "booked" their sun bed.

Overall verdict - A great place for families with children aged 10 and under. For anyone looking for anything more sophisticated this is unlikley to appeal.

  • Liked — Hotel entertainment
  • Disliked — Facilities for teenagers
  • Tips/Secrets — Book directly
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lifeandsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

Have Just returned from the Playa Gardens Having spent the most relaxing 2 week holiday. My wife and I and our 5 year old little Girl had a great time. Especially the little one. It is a kids paradise. The Garden Experience Team work very hard to insure that everyone has a good time especially the kids. But they are laid back and not in your face about it and you can chill out just as easily. The main guy snoopy is a legend that man has incredible energy levels. I found the Buffet food quite good and reasonably priced. The entertainment at night was of a very good standard with the kids disco at 8 a mini show after that and then the main show. The kids disco at 8 meant that the little ones can have their fun and you still have enough time to head out somewhere else afterward. We mainly stayed for the shows though. Staff were pleasant. rooms were spacious and cool. One drawback is that they are noisy can clearly hear the people in the neighboring appartment. Pools were excellent Three pools one for the small kids which was mayhem but a lot of fun. A deeper pool where they played water polo etc and the third pool the deepest which was very quite and great to swim in. Beach access was direct and it is a fantastic beach, loved strolling on it. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful with extensive planting and very well mantained the whole place was very clean. Nice touches were the coffe and waffle trolley at 5pm by the pool. You could have a massage on certain days. All at a price but added to the atmosphere. My wife had her Birthday whilst we were there and without any promting reception sent a bottle of champagne to the room. The area is quite. There are a few shops and restraunts in the area a german beer garden and Irish bar an amusement arcade the Underground was good. But las Gaviotas and Alcudia are only a short cab ride away and we had no problems in getting cabs. The choo choo train that goes through the area also goes as far as las Gaviotas where you there is more shops and restraunts etc. So it isn't isolated. My only gripe would be with first choice who I found very poor and unprofessional. We had hassle with excursions we booked through them and spoke to others who had similiar issues. Also the first choice kids club did not get great ratings from my little one who found it a bit boring and pre schoolish. Again had heard this from some of the pals she made on the holiday. The Hotel more than makes up for that. Bar service is poor and very slow.
We had planned to book again for next year but also have heard that first choice don't have the hotel on their books next year as their arrangement is not being renewed. Hopefully this isn't true but i asked a first choice rep and they advised it was 99% certain they would not be there next year. If I can i will be there again next year. If you want a relaxed family holiday where chilling out and taling it easy whilst the kids are safe and well looked after this is the place for you. Oh yeah near the end of the Holiday Mosquito situation was very bad and am still itching from them

  • Liked — The Grounds And the Pool and the Entertainment Staff
  • Disliked — Noisy rooms.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DeckyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
1.2 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,011 reviews
1.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa

Property: Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia Km 25.9, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#24 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playa Garden Hotel & Spa stands out for being one of the most complete and welcoming hotels in Playa de Muro: an authentic spa hotel in Majorca ideal for combining rest, quietness and good gastronomy with sports, parties and activities for children. It is the most exclusive proposal of Garden Hotels for your holidays in Majorca: a hotel with 4-star services, personalised attention and the best quality price ratio. Our spa hotel in Playa de Muro is located at the seafront, in a privileged setting near S'Albufera Natural Park. It has incredible views to the Mediterranean, well-cared gardens and equipped terraces with design furniture. It is the ideal place for resting and getting away from it all admiring the natural beauty of the north of Majorca. It features the most varied accommodations: from double standard rooms to exclusive suites, including modern apartments with views to the sea or to the garden. All of them are perfectly equipped with services specially designed for your comfort and rest at the shores of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel And Spa Playa Garden
Aparthotel & Spa Playa Garden Hotel Playa De Muro
Aparthotel Hotel Playa Garden
Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Muro
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing